We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peaceful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Ai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Home Nature Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Mae Ai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A little bit outside the center (5-10 minutes walk), after the bridge, and after the bus station on the left. Lovely rooms (200-300 bahts for a double) and bungalows between trees along the river. Rooms are spacious and clean, with attached bathroom. A few tables close to the river.. perfect place to relax! Motorbikes on hire, the best way to explore around!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laramartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Best place we have ever stayed. Peaceful and quite place. Staff are really helpful and welcoming. please request room near by restaurant because wifi is available only surounded area of restaurant. Don't forget request extra blanket when is too cold.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HisandHer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We did not book ahead and oriented ourselves on the previous Tripadvisor comments. In deed the staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Bungalow for 500,- THB/night. It was clean and nicely furnitured. The bathroom Thai style. The only downside here was that the temperature for the shower was difficult to regulate. The Bungalow has a nice terrace and is close to the river. All bungalows are situated in a garden like setting (trees, flowers) - very nice. The first row river bungalows are more expensive. The restaurant is nicely located in sight of the river. The menu gives you plenty of choices. All dishes we had were very good. The bus station and the river boat pier to Chiang Rai are both in walking distance (10 min).
Its definitely worth to stay longer because of the beauty of the surroundings.

Room Tip: The bungalows directly at the riverside are a bit overpriced. You have excellent river view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The lovely location is the best part about this place. Its a short walk from the drop off points whether you come by bus from Chiangmai, songthaew from mae Salong(as i did) , or boat from Chiangrai. There are 3 large bungalows just beside the river.... these are the more expensive rooms (I was quoted 1500 baht)... then there are several small bungalows in rows in the 500 Baht range, but they are not right next to the river, and there are 4 rooms at the back, for 300 baht each.... these are tiny and have very small bathrooms, but are adequate if you are travelling solo. Its best to spend most of your time at the restaurant, which is next to the river and is very peaceful and quiet (specially when the television is switched off!) The free wi fi is available at this spot, and not in the rooms. The people who run the place are very helpful .

Room Tip: If you can afford it, its best to be in one of the 3 bungalows next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazygurpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This place was better than we expected. We opted for 500 baht bungalow with AC. Clean and comfortable it is very near the river and just outside of town. Restaurant on premises is good and reasonably priced. Thai coconut soup and curries were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We drove to Thaton and stayed 3 nights here in one of the 3 river-side cabins, with a balcony overlooking the Mae Kok river. We spent many happy hours relaxing on this balcony, enjoying the bird-life, scenery, and river life. The staff were very friendly, although speaking little English, and helped us arrange a wonderful 6-hour private round-trip boat outing down the river to a Karen village. Also the breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were exceptional, with many delicious and authentic Thai dishes served. The red and panang curries were especially good, and were washed down with plenty of Singha beers. There was good free WiFi in the restaurant area, which did just reach our cabin (# A03). The only downside was the 6am Sunday morning loudspeaker from the temple across the river, but that was not the fault of the resort. Also I would recommend buying some mosquito coils and a lighter from the 7/11 in town for use in the evening; these made our evenings on the balcony much more pleasant!

Room Tip: The river-side cabins are well worth the extra price. Number A03 is furthest from the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Get a unit by the river as they are beautifully located only a couple of metres from the swift flowing water. The sounds at of the birds and insects at night need to be heard to be believed. the units are basic but comfortable with air con, TV, and good bathrooms. Restaurant has a good selection of cheap meals and breakfast was a good start to the day spent speeding down the river in a long tail boat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Ai
0.0 mi away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
0.0 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 3 in Mae Ai
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Areeya Phuree Resort
Areeya Phuree Resort
#4 of 5 in Mae Ai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Phusangtawan Resort
#3 of 5 in Mae Ai
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Tree's House
Old Tree's House
#1 of 5 in Mae Ai
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Home Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Home Nature Resort

Address: Mae Ai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Ai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Ai
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Garden Home Nature Resort Thailand/Chiang Mai Province - Mae Ai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing