We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, hidden property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marndadee Heritage River Village
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here in late May for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Set on the Ping River, the property is beautiful! The decoration is stunning as well. We stayed in a Colonial Room, and it was fine. The place reminded me of a mini-Dhara Dhevi resort, and much more than half the price of the Dhara Dhevi! The staff was excellent and helpful. We took most of our means at the resort and the food was excellent! I enjoyed the small mg swimming pool as well. The WiFi worked perfectly well for me in the room. The resort is a bit isolated, and can be difficult to find. We had a car so things were easy. If you are comping from Europe or the U.S. and looking to stay at a place where you can walk to nearby attractions -- you should stay in the city. I understand the hotel staff is good at arranging trips and drivers to restaurants and sights in/around Chiang Mai. I think this place is a hidden treasure, and highly recommend a get-away stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Marndadee Heritage River Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed in one of the rice barn villas for 3 nights in May.

Nicely decorated clean rooms in the rice barn setting next to Ping river. The villa itself had also outside space with hammock, and seating area. Very lush green setting.

The location of the Hotel is about 30mins from the Chiang Mai old town.


Few minus points to note -

- Entrance door to the villa is tiny and ceiling is fairly low, you have to pay attention when entering to your villa. Once inside the ceiling is high upside V shape.

- Very poor interior lightning arrangements in the villa, especially in the entrance and bathroom areas.

- There are loudspeakers (yes, loudspeakers) situated in several locations in the rice barn area, and they play music every night until around 8pm.. This is supposed to be sort of soothing music but it may not be for everyones taste. We were informed by reception that this noise will only stop at 8pm. So prepare to listen "relaxing music" from about noon to 8pm, whether you like it or not. It can easily sort of ruin your stay. Not everybody necessarily need music to relax, especially on a "rice barn villa" setting where you may want to just enjoy the sounds of nature..or no? At the very least they should be able to switch off the speakers separately if requested by the very people who stay in the villa - phrase "Customer is King" ..anyone ?

- Wi-fi was non-existent in our villa. But worked ok in the hotel lobby & breakfast table.

- There were several mistakes in our check-out bill. Make sure you double check this. The staff, whereas very friendly, unfortunately did not seem very professional in paperwork.


Other things to note -

- Breakfast was good but very limited - either Thai or Western style breakfast plate but this was expected considering the overall value of the room. Do not expect a buffet breakfast. Coffee especially was very good.

- It appeared many of the taxi / tuk-tuk drivers in the city were not aware how to find this place. Expect about 300-500BHT for a ride to/from Hotel.

- Free shuttle bus to pick you from/to airport, this worked very well.

- There is one restaurant in the hotel, very nicely done thai curries, tom yum soup and variety of thai salads. Nice place to enjoy lunch or dinner, worthwhile to get there even if you are not staying in the hotel.

- Hotel also had a small swimming pool and Spa areas which did not try.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HANVEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stay at this hotel from May 15 through 17th. It was a pleasant get away especially for antique/art lovers like myself. Each room of the hotel was carefully designed to allow the owners' personal collections to deliver the ambiance of Thai/Neo-colonial. There was no square meter that doesn't have details with their on stories to tell. Not your typical luxury spa resort, but a place for a slow stay. I would definitely go back with some watercolor and canvas to sit on the wooden deck by the river. Rooms and services are excellent, with shuttle to downtown. Excellent internet connections!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOW1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 6 days in end of Mar 2014 till early Apr 2014. It is very hard for me to describe how good this hotel is in just words. This place makes you feel very relax with a beautiful rice field, special designs and attention in details throughout the hotel. This is the perfect place for a getaway from the city.

The staff for this hotel were all very helpful and friendly. The resort manager Ms.Tatsanee is very nice and we had a warm welcome. We really enjoy our stay.

Marndadee is about 30 mins drive from Chiang Mai airport, and it's not far from the old city area as well. I rent a car and have a self-drive trip in Chiang Mai, if you also planned to do so, please note that the rental car's GPS might not be able to find this hotel, please prepare a Google Map with you.

If I will come back to Chiang Mai in the future, Marndadee is my definite choice of staying, nothing else!

Room Tip: Go for the rice barn villa, you will not regret!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanMok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It's not clear exactly how or why this place exists but I'm glad that it does. Seemingly a showcase for the owner's collection of art and antiques, this is not your typical B&B. The place is simply stunning. Mind you, if your goal is to hit the Night Market or the temples, this may not be the place for you. It's a hike from central Chiang Mai. But if you're ready to calm down for a while and watch the river flow by (more interesting than it might seem) then it's hard to beat this place. Excellent rooms, perfect service, good food in the restaurant, wildlife in abundance...I could have stayed here a long time, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheepprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed in this hotel as part of our honeymoon in February 2014 and we really loved our stay here! We booked one of the rice barns and it is amazing how much eye for detail this hotel has. From the bathroom products, the bathtub, the door key, the teak floors to the organic food in the restaurant - it was beautiful.

Location wise, yes it is a 20 min drive from the city center, but you stay in the middle of the locals, next to the river where you see fishermen passing by and next to rice fields that you can explore by bike. It really is something different.

The service is perfect, very friendly and open to help. We booked a trip to visit Doi Suthep temple with the hotel and that was great and went smoothly. We even used the pool which has a view on the river and is salt water.

This is an amazing experience if you want to get out of Chiang Mai and stay in an authentic, luxurious and beautiful place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

along the river, between the rice fields and only 30min from bustling Chang Mai.
We stayed in the rice barn villa which is beautifully decorated with some antique pieces and with extremely comfortable beds. very peaceful environment to relax completely.
Take the funky hotel bikes to visit the nearby handicraft village.
Staff and management is very friendly and helpful.
For those fed up with big lobby hotels with huge breakfast buffets, electronic keys, being a room number... Here they know you!
Mardadee is not just a hotel, it's an experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoCa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saraphi
8.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
7.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,092 reviews
9.9 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
17.6 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
7.6 mi away
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marndadee Heritage River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marndadee Heritage River Village

Address: 9 Moo 1, Kuamung | Kua Mung Subdistrict, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
Price Range: £38 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marndadee Heritage River Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marndadee Heritage River Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing