We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cigarette smoke, difficult sleep and far from town,”
Review of Dreamcatchers B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreamcatchers B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Saraphi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I'm a light sleeper and the floor boards creeking were annoying. The cigarette smoke from the owner was rather off-putting. The owner, through conversation, seemed sympathetic to hard-line, anti-democratic movements in the world and, I suppose, her indifference to her guests distaste for her cigarette smoke went along with that. If you want a good nights sleep and an environment free of clouds of smoke, look elsewhere, but if you can deal with those two things, then you might like this place, though it is far removed from town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

The poster is writing this review 1 year later? Says they stayed in July 2011 ? Why did it take 1 year to voice their concerns.? There are no clouds of smoke as the main area is totally open to the outside so nor the other guests smoking or mine would create such referred to clouds of smoke. If someone does not want to hear someone elses opinion on various issues then one shouldn't engage such conversations. We have wood floors so of course they creak a little. We are 20 minutes from the city center and that is very clearly indicated on my web site as well as in 90% of the Trip Advisor reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Dreamcatchers B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Take a break from the noise and excitement of the city and slip into an oasis of tranquility, just 15 minutes from downtown Chiang Mai. Dreamcatchers offers exquisite comfort and charming, personalized service. I visited for four nights with my mother, and we both felt right at home the whole time. My only regret was that we did not allow a full day to spend just enjoying our room and its peaceful surroundings.

The B&B is in a secure and well-off neighborhood a short drive from downtown. This is really more of a plus than a minus, unless you need to be in the thick of the action 24/7. The owner, Ms. Annabel, has negotiated fixed-rate fares with about a dozen taxi services to provide transport into and out of town for 250 baht each way (about $8). Even with this added expense, the B&B still represents a great value-added proposition over a downtown hotel in a similar (moderate) price range.

At Dreamcatchers, the guest rooms are spacious, pretty, and well-appointed, arranged into two-story Thai-inspired cottages set in a tropical garden. Hardwood floors and wooden furniture and architectural accents give the place an authentic and homey feel. Beds are comfortable, and the air con is adjustable by remote control. You won't miss television a bit, but there is a reliable, open WiFi hotspot available. At night, the gentle sounds of nature will soothe you into a relaxing slumber. We awoke on time each morning, without an alarm, fully rested and ready to start a new day.

When you get up, a fortifying breakfast awaits to gird you for your adventures in and around Thailand's northern hub. There is always fresh fruit and homemade muesli, coffee and tea, juice, cereal and toast. Homemade yoghurt with maple syrup is available by request (and you should). But please do save room for an omelet or some crepes. Ms. Annabel will be gravely concerned if you don't have a full breakfast before departing for the day. ("Breakfast is very important when you are traveling," she intoned repeatedly. And you know? She's right.) Plus, if you eat before 11 a.m., the full breakfast is included in the room rate.

Lunch and dinner are also available, for about what you might spend at a decent restaurant in town, which is about what you might spend on a fast-food meal back in the United States. Different selections are offered each day of the week, with both Thai and Continental options. We had lunch one day and dinner on two nights, and every meal was delicious and expertly prepared. We stuck to the Thai menu, but we heard from another couple that the Continental offerings were just as good. Large serving dishes were brought to our table, and we ate until we were sated. I can recommend the chocolate fudge cake for dessert. (The other options were tempting, but we didn't get past the chocolate once we tried it.)

Beer and wine and soft drinks are available, and Annabel also stocks a modest bar with reputable brands. As with everything here, prices are exceedingly reasonable. You won't go broke taking advantage of the minibar in your room either. So have another Singha, why don't you?

As a hostess, Annabel does a great job of making you feel like an old friend who has come to visit. She will make recommendations for whatever activities you'd like to arrange while you are in Chiang Mai, and she'll even book and confirm your reservations for you if you would like. We relied heavily on her expertise (zip line, elephant park, cooking class, etc.), and she did not steer us wrong once. When she was not occupied with managing the affairs of the inn, Annabel was very generous with her time. We enjoyed her conversation and found her more than willing to answer any questions we had.

The small staff does an excellent job of taking care of the details, from meal service to housekeeping to laundry service. Khun Ting was especially diligent in making sure that we lacked nothing during our stay. A 5 percent service charge is added to the bill, but we set aside about 100 baht per day for additional tips, which we divided among the three workers. This was greatly appreciated, and it's really not a bad thing to reward good service.

As a final note, I would be remiss if I did not mention the swimming pool area. The pool itself is a delightful comfort on a hot day, and it is salt-treated, not chlorinated. Overlooking the pool is a gorgeous sculptural mural featuring an elephant design. When it's lit up with the waterfall fountain running over it, it really adds to the sense that you are in a unique and magical place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khautala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed in the junior suite at Dreamcatchers, and used the double bed and a pullout sofa for the third person. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, food was great (both Thai and Continental food available) and the homemade yoghurt is to die for. The place is quite, relaxing and surrounded by nature.
Annabel was happy to assist us from the moment we made the booking, and I highly recommend doing the bicycle tour and the cooking class... it was a great way to get to know the local people and culture.
Be aware that this place is about a 20 min drive (250 baht) from the city centre, but we were quite happy with our choice. It simply means that you will have a different kind of stay than if you were to stay in the city centre (less people, less noise and hustle, more relaxing).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eskimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

20 minutes out of Chiang Mai city, this wooden lodging is located amidst refreshing natural surroundings conducive to rest and recovery.

Annabel (and occasionally daughter) with her staff, three dogs and itinerant cats put on a warm welcome to this lovely abode - after a day of activities (Elephants, Mountaintop Temples, Sunday Walking Markets, Assorted Outdoor Adventures...) upon return you will feel like you are coming home...kick off your shoes, take a dip in the infinity pool next to the river, have a smoothie or put the coffee drip on and while away the day with a book in the hammock or have Annabel/Ting book a masseuse for you. Or hang out in the lounge with the dogs, library, television, and what appears to be a decent liquor shelf.

The junior suite I stayed in was generously spacious, well equipped, (sofa with 2 more chairs, huge writing desk with big leather chair, king sized bed, sitting area out back to put on your shoes/sort out your gear), the sheets were crisp, clean, and lacked a strong detergent fragrance. The room was all dark and warm wood (teak I guess), the decor and paintings matched in taste.

What left a very strong impression on me was waking up each morning to soft rain on the shutters (in May), wind blowing through trees, and many small birds...and continuing to sleep in to that. I hope you will enjoy waking up like that too - and if they have it go on and have some chocolate with your banana crepes.

If you are done with the noise of the town and don't absolutely need to be in walking distance to everything, treat yourself(ves) and give this place a try.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lluagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

One of the highlights of our visit to Thailand; on the lead up to our stay, Annabel was extremely helpful and thoughtful towards our needs. Although we only saw her the once as she was going on a well deserved holiday, the rest of the staff at Dreamcatchers were extremely attentive.

The room we stayed in was lovely, spacious and unique - I only wish we had stayed longer!

Although a little out of the main city, Annabel / the staff will arrange taxis for you at minimum cost, 250thb each way, so please do not let the location put you off. The tranquil surroundings and gorgeous infinity pool are well worth it!

If I'm lucky enough to return to Thailand in the future we'd stay here again without hesitation - it was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkineal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Annabel runs an amazing hotel. 20 minutes outside of town- will cost you 250 THB, but honestly, the quiet and tranquility of the area is worth it. The actual site is immaculate and beautifully designed and there is a feeling of calm throughout the hotel. The king is perfect. We stayed when Annabel was on vacation, but we were taken care of very well by Ting, who cooked us breakfasts and dinners daily. The homemade yogurt every morning was enough to make me swoon! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had great time in Dreamcatcher, and the following is what we can forget after we get back home...
1. Annabel She was still awake to give us warm welcome when we arrived real late at night the first morning. She gave us lots of ideas about where to go, what to play and how long to get there in the morning during the breakfast, and got taxi settled down for us. There will be million things to do in Chiang Mai with Annabel’s advices, and she will suggest specifically. With our 3-year-old girl, it’s real helpful that someone can give us advice like that.
2. Room Knowing we were coming with our girl, Annabel changed the furnishing in the room and set a separate bed for her. The room we lived in was on the first floor, just next to the poor and a river nearby. Very convenient for my girl to ‘jump’ into the water. All things you need is provided in the room, even a little lantern.
3. Location Outside the Chiang Mai city, Dream catcher provided quiet and relaxing air. Suitable for people like us, don’t feel like going around, just stay inside, swim and enjoy tropical sunshine.
4. Meals Among various choice of breakfast, my little girl enjoyed the homemade yogurt most. And we loved the tasty genuine Thai food the Thai staff cooked. And the western deserts are also very great.
Staying here is a nightmare-free relaxing experiment. Only if we can have more time…

Room Tip: Every room has its own 'flavor'. Email Annable and she will give you the best advice.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saraphi
2.2 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
6.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
7.7 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Mai Siam Resort
Mai Siam Resort
#1 of 4 in Mae On
256 reviews
5.5 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 775 in Chiang Mai
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nok Resort & Hotel
Nok Resort & Hotel
#6 of 19 in San Sai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamcatchers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatchers B&B

Address: 52 / 18 Ban Buak Khrok Thai | Tawangtan subdistrict, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saraphi
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dreamcatchers B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the place to be if you want to have a total tranquil and peaceful interaction with nature but with easy access to the busy city center which is a mere 15 - 20 minute drive. Dreamcatchers B&B was developed and is owned by a French Canadian lady and is under Thai management. The friendly staff will make you want to stay forever. This exquisite B&B has a salt treated swimming pool plus all amenities that you would find in a luxury 5 star hotel. Guests feel secure in our warm family friendly environment. We have 5 separate individual air conditioned bedrooms, each in their own private unit with en-suite bathrooms, mini bar, coffee machine and free wireless internet. :3 Queen Deluxe, 1 Twin / King Deluxe and 1 Junior King Suite with private outside shower & Jacuzzi as well as a full en-suite bathroom. All set in a rustic Lanna style decor, surrounded by trees and tropical flowers with a view of Doi Suthep Mountain and a lovely infinity swimming pool to wake you up or to simply ease away the fatigue from a day of trekking and the heat. The property is surrounded by a lovely canal enhancing the peacefulness and the calming serene sounds of nature. Breakfast is included in the price. In house Massages are available as well as dinner at an extra cost. Rent all rooms and have your own private villa or if you are a solo traveller / couple / couple with children rent an individual appropriate room. If you want to rent the entire villa Please see our listing on Trip Advisor "Vacation Rentals" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreamcatchers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamcatchers Hotel Chiang Mai
Dreamcatchers Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing