We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
18
20
27
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
20
27
7
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In-line with other reviews, this hotel was about what I expected. The place is dated, and in serious need of renovation. However, keeping in mind the price paid, this was a very acceptable stay. Stayed 3 nights in early May 2014. Not within walking distance to town, but easily navigated by many available Tuk Tuk taxis. As reported in other reviews, a brand new Tesco Lotus, and a 7-11 are across the main street, and easy to walk to. Pool was very nice, and the workout room near the pool was very good. Surprised that the included breakfast was better than expected, and better than reported in other reviews. Yes, they did run out of some things, and yes, some items were carried over from the prior day, but the selection was more than adequate, and anything needing replacement was handled right away. The staff were all very friendly--going out of their way to say hello each day. I believe they must have gotten the message basis prior negative reviews. English was spoken well by front desk staff. Again, the place is dated---the furniture in the rooms is really old, and the bed is indeed hard as a rock. The bathroom is really small, but was functional. Walls are cracking everywhere, and some of the dirt is way beyond cleaning although it's apparent the cleaning staff do as much as possible. Remember what you're paying here. I went in thinking it can't be any worse than camping, and was pleasantly surprised for the most part. If you're expecting more, you'll be disappointed, but what are you going to do---the other choices in Chum Phae are very limited.

Room tip: Get a double bed room if traveling as a couple.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 981StuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

As a member of the fitness center of this property from its opening day, 3-4 years ago. It's my observation this trip that they are much improved, they maintain the pool every morning to insure its clean and at the correct temperature. The maintenance staff repairs broken equipment in the fitness center on the same day or the next day. They have one of the nicest pool attendants/ waitress her name is Jidapa, she is fluent in English and is a great asset and Ambassador, to bad she is underemployed.

This property continues to strives to be the hub of the city, as they have social events monthly, they also have a large size convention center. There wi-fi works great through out the entire property,a plus for me.

Lastly, they continue to upgrade and have improved in many areas. This being Thailand it takes time... It's my second home as I choose to go there most every morning to get my workout in.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dannywla51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed in chum phae many times but have never tried the Major Grand and having slept there one night never will again. The room was okay, very small shower room and VERY hard bed. The best feature was the breakfast, a Thai and semi- European buffet. Thai food good but European average. Frankfurters and ham in warm water instead of bacon and sausage but nice coffee if you need some waking up after the endurance of trying to sleep on the brick they use for a mattress. There are much better hotels for a similar price ( the Tarakool on the Kohn Kaen road by the Esso garage, for example)

Room tip: Don't choose one here.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The big attraction is the pool. The service is friendly but not really professional.
The menu at the pool is the same as at the restaurant, but they did not want to serve the same wine for the same price.
We got not the room promised by booking, no good sight at all. But we did not complain because we were too tired from the trip.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel speak little English . All they care is how much a farang can give . The manager is false . He cares only money . Dirty rooms. Hard beds. Like a rock . I been here many times. Ask a local farang where to stay . Don't stay here

Date of stay: August 2013
3  Thank Gaza36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews