We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hard work but worth the effort

Fortunately it was a cool day and we bought water at the bottom before the climb. The climb is very... read more

Reviewed 13 July 2017
Vmunday
,
Udon Thani, Thailand
via mobile
It's huge and amazing

i went to this place 2 times, the cave is very large but you have to walk through long and high... read more

Reviewed 18 March 2017
prem726
,
Loei, Thailand
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave steps entrance climb inside morning grounds pity buddha
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Nice place to visit. Takes some effort to get up, but resting areas are provided if needed on your way up the 600 steps. Do carry proper footwear, as the steps are dodgy in some areas, and inside the cave it can get slippery. Marvelous view as you get to the top, as well as at the other side of the cave. Pity that the grounds (& the inside of the cave) are not kept clean - plastic bags, bottles, etc around. So far no admission fee !! Probably best to visit in the morning. We had a good lunch at the street restaurant just left out of the main entrance

Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Fortunately it was a cool day and we bought water at the bottom before the climb. The climb is very difficult, 611 steps but fortunately the climb is broken by places with seats to rest. After making the climb, you are greeted by the Buddha who sits at the entrance to the cave and you then walk in. Decent shoes help here, the floor is very slippery in places and the ground is quite uneven. Once you're in the main cave you are struck by the enormity of the place, its huge! These caves are beautiful, worth the climb but be warned, getting up there isn't easy.

Thank Vmunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

i went to this place 2 times, the cave is very large but you have to walk through long and high stair.
Not much tourist, feel good.

Thank prem726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Located in Loei off Hwy 210 lies this sacred cave with a large sitting Buddha overlooking the limestone karsts in the district.. A small market at the base to stock up with fluids is required before you start to climb the hundreds of steps to get to the cave enterence. There are several stopping points where you can catch your breath while taking in the great views.

Thank RoryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The scenery from the top is stunning.

600 steps..???..felt like a thousand!!

We didn't go down the cave but really enjoyed experience..

Thank algdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015

I visited this attraction with local friends who advised to go there early as to avoid the crowds. Had breakfast at restaurant but terrible dried out chicken not good. Less than hygienic toilets, could do with a clean About 600 hundred steps up to the entrance of the cave and the golden Buddha statue and temple. Awesome sight to behold with the great view of the surrounding countryside. Walked through the cave to the entrance on the other side with another great view there. No info in English in regards history and or meaning of the site. If in the area then a must see attraction!

1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We drove from Loei. Once again on this trip, google maps let us down. It directed us down route 2138. Not once was there a sign for this famous temple on that road so we knew we were in trouble. It then told us we'd reached our destination, in the middle of nowhere!! Luckily we were able to ask and follow the correct directions the rest of the way.

The CORRECT way is south out of Loei on route 201, turn east on route 210 and signs will get you there. Just before the turnoff for the temple, on the right, there is a very nice large coffee shop / restaurant called 'Green' something...lovely iced latte.

The cave itself is excellent. Up 615 steps to the cave mouth. Take it easy, it's not too steep or difficult and many salas to rest in on the way up.

Bring a torch. The cave is reasonably well lit and with good paths but a torch helps.

Walk through the cave as far as possible and it goes through to another smaller cave and some steps up to an exit for a lovely view. Above that exit there's a big bees nest with the honeycomb easy to see under the bees.

Make your way back the way you came to the wat carpark.

Well worth a visit and exceeded our expectations.

2  Thank BredburyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This buddha monument is placed to the entrance of a cave which is perched on top of a hill. There is in excess of 600 steps to negotiate before you get there so do not attempt this unless you are of reasonable fitness. On the way there is good views of the beautiful surrounding countryside. I wouldn't like to attempt this in the middle of the day during the hot season.

1  Thank plugger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014

The Erawan Cave is around 55kms from Loei - an easy drive of just under an hour. Take the main road south out of Loei and then at Wang Sapung turn left towards Nong Bua Lamphu. After around 30 kms keep an eye out for signposts to the cave. Turn left and in 2 kms park at the large temple at the foot of the limestone outcrop. There is no entrance fee, and in the grounds of the temple are stalls with refreshments and local food and fruits for sale, as well as basic toilet facilities.

To get to the entrance of the cave, there is a steep climb up around 600 steps. There is a large Buddha image in the mouth of the cave, from which there are great views of the surrounding countryside. The opening of the cave is large - probably 20 meters high at least. From there, the entranceway extends downwards for around 100 meters, past a Buddhist shrine, before opening into a very large cavern. There are a couple of openings in the roof of the cavern, which I estimate to be 100 meters long and 40 meters wide. The air inside is cool and fresh, and the pathway is adequately lit. Taking a good flashlight along would be good - the stalactites and stalagmites and other structures in the cave are beautiful. Walk to the end of the cavern and there is a small opening which leads to a connected cave in which there is a very steep set of steps up to another large opening high up in the side of the mountain from which one has views to the north.

We managed to cover everything in about 75 minutes. The main thing is that plenty of physical exertion is required - climbing up to the entrance is just the start.

1  Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It's a hike up to the Buddha statue at the entrance to the cave, especially when it's hot, but to me it was worth it. The air inside is cool, the trail is walkable and well lit, and the light coming through from the hole in the roof of the cathedral-size cavern is pretty.

This cave is not comparable to great or popular caves elsewhere, but it's worth a morning if you're in Isaan with time to spare, and it's free - although a small donation is suggested at the bottom of the stairs.

There is a national park in Thailand called Erawan, where there also are some caves; I believe none of them is called Erawan Cave. The cave this review refers to is in Nong Bua Lam Phu province, near the Loei line. The stairs are easily accessible on a paved road from the highway, and there are signs pointing toward the cave all over the region.

1  Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews