We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch”

Bird's Paradise Skydiving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first and best skydiving centre in SE Asia, and the only one that jumps from 12,000 feet every time! Set in a beautiful and peaceful location in North-East Thailand, we are a world-class skydiving school, dedicated to creating safe and skilled skydivers. All our instructors have USA ratings and our equipment is all modern, top quality gear from the USA or Europe. We have a perfect safety record so come and make that first leap of faith with us - it's the safest thing you can do in Thailand! We are a fully USPA-accredited school and can help you get a USPA license, recognised all over the world. Or if you just want to do a tandem jump, with no experience necessary, then contact us today!
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just passed my AFF licence and it was a great time and great instructor. Very good accommodation, excellent cooking different every day, great team, will definitely return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank denissimonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“life time memories...”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

definitely a place I will never forget. Undertook AFF course which was delivered by highly professional and cool people: Graeme, Corey and all team. Hotel, food, place, atmosphere, landscapes: all great. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GM_Laos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A honest review of bird of paradise resort”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed there with my Thai girlfriend in October.Sad resort now,in its day,it would of been great.Everthing is broken and or worn out in hotel.No staff on site,the grounds are dirty and over grown.Swimming pool not cleaned for months,other activites broken or not to be seen.There web page about prices is always under construction,they wont tell you the price of thing by emails.We wanted to do Tandem parachute jumps,so i checked the prices in England.I couldnt believe the prices they try to charge us when we got there,17,000baht each,double the price of England.Now i know why nobody goes there,hotel prices crazy to.We stayed one night and left,i have read the other reviews and cannot believe them.I have been visiting Thailand for 10 years and can honestly say the worse value for money ever.Before they suggest i heard the wrong price,my girlfriend asked and got same price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stefan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueskies_bird, Manager at Bird's Paradise Skydiving, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Stefan,

We are sorry that you had a bad experience here. The resort truly is in bad shape as you described and the owners have now passed it on to a third party as they focus on making the skydiving world-class. For this reason, the website is indeed under construction as the owners are still figuring out who does what and where the resort fits in with the rest of the plan!

But we are surprised that you did not get an answer to your queries about pricing via email – we aim to answer all emails the same day. It seems your girlfriend had no problem getting a response?!

As for the pricing, yes we are more expensive than Europe but these higher prices reflect our costs of operating in this difficult part of the world as well as the superior skydiving experience that we offer. We invite you to compare prices with the other two dropzones in Asia (Pattaya and Tokyo) and you will see we are very much in line with them. (By the way a tandem jump here retails at 12,000 THB, not 17,000 as you claim.)

We are also rather shocked by the title of your review “A honest review”, which suggests that the other reviews on here are dishonest. The reviews here are all genuine and come from very satisfied skydiving customers.

Again, we are sorry that you had a bad experience and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big blue skies + safe people, gear & planes + adrenalin + relaxed 100% professionals = super FUN in the sun / SEA skies”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Recently (late 2013) enjoyed an excellent time when undertaking the full / proper USPA accredited AFF course @ BPER. The trng crse theory & skills delivery, student equipment for solo jumps & gear used for tandems, packers, reliable - powerful & speedy aircraft, pilot & meal room catering were second to none - 1st class. Safety & professionalism complimented with 'life is good' vibes & positive friendships were the priorities ... and delivered each day. BPER is located 'out of the way', in a quite rural area of nrth east Thailand & takes a lil' effort to get to, but this translates to always achieving 12,000 ft > 14,000 ft jump heights frm the Airvan; in my experience BPER ensured maximum learning time every time for beginners & intermediate levels .. with huge smiles & guaranteed fun for the experienced!

DZ - Ops Manager/Rigger Graeme is a talented & energetic AFF Trainer 'Guru', who somehow easily juggles many responsibilities & calmly delivers on them all - his safety awareness, thoughtfulness, prompt comms & info., interpersonal & organisational skills are world class. Assisting in the AFF crse delivery was a skydiving veteran with the heart/attitude of a young lion, Mr Corey Parker (a thorough gentleman, a natural & intuitive 'coach', whose infinite patience & well crafted calm words instilled confidence, ensured learning & set him apart as a high quality 'mentor'). Add to this BPER team the experienced irrepressible always smiling & joking Jose; he is all common sense, simple useable tips & no bull excrement advice i.e. 'accelerated learning' re skydiving (& life!). Jose is equally & also a thorough gentleman - with skydiving knowledge & skills gained frm jumping over recent years in dozens of countries all around the globe. He took great care & time (and video) to record & debrief not only the free falls > but importantly the entire canopy ride > landing phase/s. It was impossible to not be impressed with Jose - his communication style promoted quick meaningful understanding, he illustrated specific learning points with video examples of 'the good the bad & the ugly' {+ used opened canopies for hands on teaching}; he reinforced the importance of the need to focus on 'situation / traffic awareness' > once under canopy - in the pattern & all the way to the target. Jose helped to build strong foundations of knowledge with skills - not only in me but also the other students - & he was & is a genuine positive role model to have about the DZ.

Bird herself - a veteran of many 1000's of jumps - Owner/Manager of BPER was a pleasure to speak with & happy to answer questions / help out. She mostly remained discretely in the background of day to day ops - but exudes confidence, Thai smiles & friendship along with 'safety as a must' in all things BPER. As a manager she 'let her team' get on with their work - with little or no distractions/interruptions from her or anyone else on staff.

The nearby accommodation hotel style rooms (main block - 8 to 10 mins easy walk frm the DZ) is to be honest basic - it's ok for a bed & quick shower ... plus close to the DZ each day {& perhaps is just a lil' over priced even by local standards for what is provided}. The limited number of (English language - western style) TV channels for late evening viewing for me was a minus (so ok ok - if @ BPER for air sports fun or other outdoor activities u r not there for TV).

Be psyched / prepared for the jumps, gear hire & trng crse $ prices @ BPER - they're @ the higher end of the scale - but you are compensated with everything frm the AAD's to rigs, alti's, helmets, jump suits, wing suits, etc being state of the art, new or near new - best possible condition, clean & maintained. The training team / coaching staff along with all safety standards & manifesting are 'best practice' = as good as the industry leaders / best DZ's in the USA, UK, Europe or Australia provide.

I will be returning to BPER asap ... to dive thru more big blue skies - frm full & proper jump heights - using quality gear & excellent trainers ... and, when on the ground, enjoying tasty just cooked Thai food, fresh made good coffee & relaxed smiling fun people / company!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BallisticDynamics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

For a chilled out skydiving experience in Thailand, this is the place to be. Bird and Graeme are pulling out everything to keep the vibe going. Away from it all, Bird's Paradise Extreme Resort is really a chilled out place for those wanting to put their knees in the breeze. Great airplane (Airvan), always to altitude (12000 ft - think the only place that can guarantee this in Thailand) and the fact that it is no skydiving factory. Although located away from all the hustle and bustle of bigger cities, it is truly within reach of whatever a skydiver needs when looking for personalized skydiving needs. I'll be back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NielsSteeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bird's Paradise Skydiving also viewed

Sakon Nakhon, Sakon Nakhon Province
 
Sakon Nakhon, Sakon Nakhon Province
Sakon Nakhon, Sakon Nakhon Province
 

Been to Bird's Paradise Skydiving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing