We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far away from anything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Talay - Thungwualaen
Ranked #3 of 5 Pathio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Close enough to the beach, although there was one road an another row of houses inbetween the hotel and the beach. Therefore, a sea-view room wasn't even available, although that's how they call their rooms facing the road. Otherwise, the room was clean and staff as helpful as they could. There was a computer and internet in the room, very useful if you want to catch up with friends while on the road, since Chumpon is a pitstop on the way to Bangkok when coming from the islands or the other way around.

There's a very limited option of places to eat at, one place for windsurfing and that's about it. The beach is large with pleasent gold sand, but didn't look well maintained, as in there was some trash around, although very few tourists. Actually, in november, the entire place looked deserted, and 10 km away from anything else (airport or Chumpon town). The bathroom was flooded from above...for some reason. The room tiny whitout any view whatsoever.

Room Tip: My room had a flooded bathroom. However, it was the only room in about 6-7 hotels in Thailand that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciiacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed only one night on the way to Krabi. This place was a great find. The staff member in the office ( Noo ) was a great credit to the business very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were very well apointed with a computer avaliable in each room with wifi, great for an international traveller. Clean tidy and well maintained with a good breakfast in the morning. The beach was accross the road and to get to it you need to pass beach restaurants so easy to find a place for dinner.
I hope to return in the future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Had a room upstairs facing the street it was quiet and gave the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Before booking, we considered the place from the pictures on google search and tripadvisor but felt a bit reluctant as there were some bad comments about service. After we got there, the building is not as mint as we thought but we felt more comfortable after talking to the front desk staff ( or resident manager). Her name is Noo, she was very naturally friendly and perfectly service- minded. The rooms are nice ( except my mum's room as I requested them for a disability room downstairs next to their kitchen, it wasn't too bad but not as good as the ones we had, just acceptable)
The rooms provide such incredible facilities as other high standard hotels such as flat screen TV, Desktop computer..etc. Nice and quiet beach is just cross the road, very good location. They provided plenty of rice soup and all day coffee. So sad we stayed there only a night because we had planned for Krabi the next day, but we are sure, we'll be back. Comparing with the prices we paid, it's incredibly worthwhile. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We arrived at Baan Talay after a long journey and a tiring couple of days. Upon arriving at Baan Talay we were greeted by a lovely, smiley Thai women who helped us check in.

Unfortunately when she went to look for our booking, it wasn't there. We'd booked through the Sawadee accommodation reservation website and had paid in advance - but obviously our booking hadn't been passed on to staff at Baan Talay. For a moment there I was filled with dread - as there aren't too many places in Thungwualaen and I suspected we'd have to bus back to Chumphon to find accommodation. Plus we'd already paid for Baan Talay for the night.
BUT the lovely lady said not to worry, she had room for us anyway, and promptly took us upstairs to a BEAUTIFUL room overlooking the beach. The room was cool, modern and super clean - an added bonus was a big screen computer on which we Skyped our family - all of this was free of charge [use of the internet, etc].

When we realised that one of our padlocks was stuck on my backpack, the lady running the hotel promptly fetched some pliers for us to get the lock off. Everything she did was done with a smile, and nothing was a problem.

Had we known Baan Talay, and Thungwualaen itself, were going to be such lovely places we would have booked in for a few more nights and really got to know the area. Definitely wouldn't hesitate to recommend Baan Talay or stay there again - it was a more-than-perfect stopover for us before catching the boat to Ko Tao the following morning.

I just hope the lovely, smiley lady at Baan Talay received payment from sawadee.com for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side were big, spacious, light and overlooked the beautiful beach and palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have book ed a family room in advance and 50% deposit was paid. The pick_up service was not as promised,as we had to call many time to make sure. The reception and others speak to the m pselves with offensive language in front of guests. We had to look for the mate for daily room clean up. She expressed her unhappy mood on her face when we stopped her to ask for help. The front office lady shouted at her kids with low class language and that irritating us so much. We came for a peaceful moment but this is really unacceptable. She often disappeared from the front so we heard complaints from other people too. Before we stayed we imagined that it was going to be like B&B or boutique hotel. Since the owner has left his bizz completely run by a local girl and her family, this is really unpleasant. Quality of the service was poor, while the room rate was as expensive as the big hotel. This is really far from professional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We just spent an idyllic week at Baan Talay, a charming boutique hotel right on the beach at Thunghualan near Chumphon. We had a family room which was huge - huge double bed that is the most comfortable I have ever slept in that was queen size - great bedding. The room facilities included another single bed, a corner sofa, large flatscreen tv and dvd (with loads of films available) fridge, shower and separate toilet. Tastefully decorated with interesting original paintings decorating the room and throughout the hotel. The room had a private terrace with access across a sleepy quiet road to the beach and the sea. The hotel provides an open air shower so you can wash after swimming in the sea. There is no restaurant to speak of but there are a number of choices within a few minutes of the hotel. I highly recommend Mali Blues which features laid back live blues music every night and does good food. All in all a great place to unwind for a few days!

Room Tip: They have different rates for sea view, doubles and familiy rooms - I think the proce range is 1200...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BluerskiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Baan Talay is a good boutique hotel with nice rooms just opposite the beach. The hotel is quite new and as such well maintained. Not so good for breakfast though, but Apple just up the road makes the best breakfast between Samui and Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cambodia-crossings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pathio
0.5 mi away
Chumphon Cabana Resort & Diving Center/Hotel
7 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#2 of 21 in Chumphon
96 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sara Boutique Resort
Sara Boutique Resort
#1 of 3 in Pathio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Southgate Residence Hotel
Southgate Residence Hotel
#9 of 21 in Chumphon
6 reviews
0 mi away
Talay Sai Hotel
Talay Sai Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pathio
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clean Wave Resort
Clean Wave Resort
#1 of 5 in Pathio
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay - Thungwualaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay - Thungwualaen

Address: 54/13 Moo 8 | Saphli, Pathio 86230, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Pathio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pathio
Price Range: £21 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay - Thungwualaen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Baan Talay - Thungwualaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing