We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 3 nights but stayed 5”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La-ngu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pansand Resort Ko Bulon Lae
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La-ngu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Helpful staff, excellent location, great breakfast, private, spacious and clean bungalows, well maintained gardens, reasonable price. We would have stayed longer but we had to see other places. We'd heard other bungalows on the island had rodent problems so it was nice that we didn't need to worry about this at Pansand. They keep the property very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a beach front bungalow in January. Beautiful views and lovely beach. It was a clean and well kept resort and the lack of power during the day was not an issue. This is not a resort for those seeking nightlife more for those of us looking to chill and unwind. Staff were attentive and polite. We ate at the resort every night , as you would expect there were limited options elsewhere but the food was excellent and reasonably priced. This is somewhere we would like to revisit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokestone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Pansand Resort is the oldest, most established, ‘upmarket’ and expensive resort on Koh Bulone. It consists of several neat rows of bungalows of various sizes and styles, some of which have sea views whilst others are set back from the sea somewhat. It has well-kept gardens and a spacious, thatch-roofed restaurant.

The four of us stayed here for five nights in the only ‘family’ bungalow, which cost nearly double the price of the next most expensive option (3500 baht) but gave us a second bed. We requested an extra fold-away single bed so the kids each had their own – this was provided but at an additional cost of 500 baht per night, a charge which we felt was not fair or necessary. I emailled the management on the mainland about this issue but they never bothered to reply.

The bungalow was well appointed with mini fridge, safe, two wall-mounted fans, and plenty of towels. It had a little veranda with views of the sea through a grassy area and tall, shady trees. Unfortunately, the bathroom was in need of an update and the toilet had dark, streaky stains, which were quite unsightly (see attached photo). Additionally, it often had a foul smell, a bit like rotten fish, which my wife found unbearable. The tariff included a very nice breakfast buffet.

Pansand Resort is professionally run. Service employees are generally attentive, but not warm or engaging, as is the case with the smaller, more family-run resorts around the island. The male staff seem friendlier whilst the females were often uninterested, aloof and, in the case of the site manager, rather unhelpful. The restaurant often looks deserted for lunch and dinner. Main courses were dependable and moderately priced but appetisers and drinks were particularly expensive.

I have a number of critical comments to make:

1. There is a lack of ‘generosity of spirit’ at Pansand Resort. For example, was it really necessary to charge for the extra bed when it took two minutes to set up and we were already paying a significantly higher tariff? A more giving approach would be welcome.

2. Power only runs from 6:00pm to 6:00am, making the bungalow virtually uninhabitable during the day – it was stuffy and stiflingly hot, and the sea breezes did not flow through. Given that Pansand is the most expensive and upmarket resort, and given that its nearest competitor (Bulone Resort) now offers 21 hours of power (and AC in some rooms!), I can see no reason why the power supply cannot be on during the day so the fans could be run.

3. Wifi is very weak and only available for a few hours in the evening. The sight of twenty people with laptops, phones and tablets huddled around the Reception building was both funny and sad. Additionally, even though the power ran through the night, the wifi was turned off – this seemed particularly cheap, as it was an ideal time for many guests to make contact with home.

We had stayed at Pansand Resort twice before – fifteen years ago and twenty-three years ago when it was in its infancy. Our general impression is that not much has changed. This is both good and bad. It is still professionally run, but it also needs to move with the times, particularly in terms of power supply and ICT.

A couple of other things to note: Koh Bulone is developing slowly but remains very laid back, relaxing and hassle-free. There are quite a number of new bungalows, cafes, little shops, etc springing up in Panka Bay, a 10-minute walk over the hill. Most of these offer similar food and drink options, snorkeling equipment, laundry, boat trips and other services at considerably cheaper prices than those at Pansand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I would agree with other reviewers, Koh Bulon is a paradise island and the Pansand Resort was quite special. The service was great, the bungalow we had looked onto the beach, it was clean, quiet and it felt like we were part of a really friendly resort. We spoke to alot of the other residents and it was such a friendly place, we stayed another night longer than we were meant to. I would totally recommend this resort, breakfast was good too. We at at the restaurant with friends we met that were also staying at the Pansand Resort, we had chicken and cashew nuts and a masaman curry, we also tried the seafood salad and papaya salad, amazing. We also ate at a restaurant close by called Ban Sulaida, it's a 15 minute walk, it's not been reviewed yet on Trip Advisor, but was really nice if you fancy good fish. I would totally recommend the Pansand resort, one of the nicest islands I've ever stayed on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FionaC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It was just the kind to paradise I was in search of for many years. It brings a smile on my face every time I think of this getaway and the fiery romance that this place invites ... hahaha. Away from the hustle bustle of life but still living in civilization and luxury. You hardly miss the electricity, the television the nightlife and the noise it brings to ur life. You are so full of the inner voices that you can clearly hear in the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. There is peace and calmness in your mind ... you hardly miss the world you left behind. The property is clean, beautiful and child friendly. The beaches are safe to swim. Staff is friendly and eager to help. Breakfast is good. The food in restaurant is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PayalDewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Came from Koh Lipe which we found way to busy and noisy. We stayed here in a beachfront hut, where you can sit on your balcony (or in your room) and hear the waves gently rolling in. Behind the hut is beautiful rainforest and it front is a wide lawn with palm, and other trees. Simply a perfect setting. These huts are a little tired but perfectly comfortable (but the bathrooms need a little renovation). The power in only on from 6pm-6am, so you can sleep with the fan on at night (no air con but it is not needed with the lovely sea breezes you get). Also there is only cold water in the shower, which is fine actually. Just like camping but better! It would be good to have a mosquito net over the bed though. There are insect screens on windows but they get in through gaps under the doors. There are pretty little white colonial-style huts in the jungle behind also, these are newer than the beachfront ones and I guess they are gradually restoring them all.

When the tide is out there is a lovely sandy beach (avoid sitting on the sand as there are sand flies, as per most islands in Thailand) just to the side of the resort and in front there are rockpools (as well as sand) which are interesting to explore. There is also excellent snorkelling and beautiful coral gardens just off the beach here with an amazing array of tropical fish. At dusk there is a pretty sunset and the wildlife becomes active. I saw hornbills in the trees just behind my bungalow and a big monitor lizard climbing a tree.

The restaurant is not bad I had some good and some not so good meals but overall ok (note that it closes between 4-6pm so you're out of luck if you want a later afternoonn drink). Breakfast is a set served to you with the usualy choices and is included in the tariff.
The lady at reception was extremely helpful with booking our onward travel arrangements and advised that we could use credit card if we didn't have enough cash (no ATMs here). The restaurant manager was also very pleasant and helpful.
The small island is very interesting to explore with a local sea-gypsy village, local school (watch to local lads playing socccer near there each night) a rubber plantation, lovely rainforest to walk through and a couple of bays to explore. This island is paradise to me with no cars, no karaoke bars, no tacky souvenir shops, no packs of roaming wild dogs, no constant stream of noisy boats on the beach (only the odd fishing boat), no jet skis (and associated scams) etc: All things which are found on most other Thai islands. Just let yourself settle in to the rhythm of island life and enjoy totally winding down and you'll love it here. For those who need non-stop artificial stimulation or all mod cons this will not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Decide if you would like to stay on the beachfront or in amongst the beautiful rainforest, both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Location is very peaceful and the beach is nice. You can snorkeling there. Bungalows were nice and they keep them in good condition. We were in Laolieng-bungalow, it was close to the beach. It was clean and there were fan which was enough. Breakfast was good (also other food in restaurant) and staff were helpful and friendly. The whole area was nice and it was easy to walk another places by path. I think this is the best place to stay in the island. There are little shop near, Marine Resort (5 min by walk) where you can also rent snorkeling-things for good price (from the Pansand it was overpriced!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La-ngu
0.0 mi away
Panka Bay Resort
Panka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Ko Bulon Le
4 reviews
19.6 mi away
Yataa Island Resort
Yataa Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Palian
90 reviews
4.3 mi away
Farmsuk residence and resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suanson Boutique Hotel
Suanson Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in La-ngu
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Resort and Restaurant
27.2 mi away
Laoliang Island Resort
Laoliang Island Resort
#15 of 76 in Trang Province
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pansand Resort Ko Bulon Lae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pansand Resort Ko Bulon Lae

Address: 82-84 Visetkul Road, Muang district, La-ngu, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > La-ngu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La-ngu
Price Range: £16 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pansand Resort Ko Bulon Lae 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Pansand Resort Ko Bulon Lae Hotel Satun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing