We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Management needed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of At Home Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phanom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Home Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Phanom B&B and Inns
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Proper Management needed”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We booked direct with the resort and arranged a transfer from Surat Thani airport, paid 50% of room price plus 2000THB for the transfer via Paypal. No pick up arrived at the airport, we made expensive cellphone calls to the number emailed to us, these were answered by children, airport staff & taxi drivers could get no response either, eventually we engaged a taxi driver and drove to At Home Resort. Nobody knew of our boking and no one could speak enough english to sort it out, cheekily they asked us if we wanted to buy breakfast, book tours etc. (yes we were given the menu book of tours as well) Eventually a lady arrived who spoke a little english and sat at a computer for a long time before agreeing that they had my money and everything was OK, however when I asked for the 2000THB transfer money to be taken off the price of 3 days stay she said she would have to ask someone else. Finally at dinner that evening the matter was resolved. If I had not paid them in advance I would have left, I wish I had. The rooms were OK and the view is good but the restaurant area is depressing and the food is apalling, our first night we ate whilst waiting for our money to be sorted and it was OK except that they will not supply the large beer which is on the menu at 80THB, "so sorry only have small beers at 60THB" - every other place in town have large beers, stop ripping off your customers. Against our better judgement we ordered dinner the next evening as we had a night safari arranged with them, the yellow curry was curdled rubbish we ate nothing but the rice. First day breakfast was OK, second day the eggs were not cooked and all was cold, third day we waited one hour for an omelete without tomato only to get one with tomato, when complaining again no one understood us.One cheerful staff member tried hard, the others need to be dismissed or managed properly. We had 2 jungle tours, we have nothing to judge them against but the guide was good fun, second day we walked the jungle alone and saw more animals, but that is the luck of the draw. Our advice is not to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Chris-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in november, wanted to stay 3 but left after 2.
Positive: the room was clean, surroundings nice

Negative: During arrival, first thing one of the young, bad English speaking boys said that we had to pay and a map with the available tours were handed. Not a good start.
Reception and 'restaurant' area very dark, not inviting at all, nobody ever ate here, only the staff walked/sleeped there. Early in the morning and late in the evening everything was closed, nobody there.
After the first night our room was not cleaned, and no new towels were supplied. Again very uninterested staff, some didn't say anything and looked at you as they were thinking 'what do you want?'. At the bar more not that friendly Thai people just looking at us.

Of the many places we have stayed in Asia, this was the one with the most incapable, unfriendly, unwilling staff. If you want a friendly place with normal service to stay, don't stay here. Options enough in Khao Sok.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpongeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We selected this resort after some research on the internet. Just two came up, morning mist and this one. Although at home has no swimmingpool it is still good value. Upon arival with our 1yr old Son the staff welcomed us and took our bags to the room. They even carried the baby stroller up the stairs to the room. A babybed was readily available and room was already airconned and very clean so we could put our Son to sleep easily. Breakfast is nothing special but does the trick, although you can order from the menu banana pancakes, our sons favorite... Lunch and dinner are good, we didnt feel like going to annother place for food. THe staff is very friendly and helpful. Their English is somewhat lacking which has caused some confusion, but nothing serious occured. They try very hard and go to lengths to help you. They were quickly to make friends with our son so felt at home. The tours They offer are the same as anywhere but quite good. Exception was the jungle trek. We had à Guide who was more interested in taking pictures from spiders them properly guiding us. We could have done The track alone.

Room Tip: The concrete bungalows are clean and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLongstrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
852 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The last vew days of my vacation in Thailand without planning it, we came to Khao Sok National Park. After searching for a hotel in this Area, finnaly we found At Home Resort. I choosed this hotel because of picture on the website. I need some quiet days before going back home. When I entered this hotel that has a wonderful view, I did really feel that I'm in a resort, no swimming pool or spa but it is a resort. Kindly and helpfull staff. Great food and reasonable price. The room is clean with AC and TV. In the evening you only hear the music of the jungle. It was raining 3 days long during my stay but It was very nice to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
689 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have booked At home resort using agoda, and it is located near Khao Sok national park. We stayed 3 nights in a wooden chalet. These are very cosy, air comditioned and tv equiped. For wifi you need to go to the restaurant. Bathroom has good shower. We stayed during the start of the rainy season, which in this case means 90% rain during day and night. Though we did not spend much time outside in the surroundings. Just enjoyed on the front porch, the natural scenery of sounds and birds, meditate, watched tv and had a delicious meal in the restaurant where a friendly staff welcomed us all the time. We really feld at home in "At Home Resort".

Room Tip: You an choose for a standard (concrete) room, but a wooden chalet was a welcome change for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Didn't want to leave.

Very hospitable staff- took our bags straight to our room after we arrived from a long journey.

We did the night safari tour which was fun. We also did the lake tour, long day but enjoyable travelling across the lake and discovering creatures on the jungle walk- your shoes will get wet for sure.

Try the pineapple smoothie and thai pork basil stir fry. Lovely sitting on the deck looking at the view and enjoying the peace and quiet.

The air con in the rooms works a treat which can be rare in thailand.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at "at home resort" for one night last night (9th July) with my boyfriend after a few mix ups at khao sok paradise resort meaning the room we had booked wasn't available. We will be staying there tonight and so review to follow!

The staff are amazing, couldn't be more helpful if they tried. We were greeted by two men who took our bags and carried them straight to our delux cottage. We didn't even need to go through a check in procedure, they were already expecting us.

The rooms are small wooden cottages placed along a decked platform. The view is breathtaking. We had AC, hot water, a TV (that played English films on one channel every now and again) and a comfortable bed. I would say this place would be great for those who like the idea of being close to nature but aren't too keen on being without their comforts. The sounds around the cottage could have been playing from a relaxation CD. I haven't felt as peaceful as i did there during my 6 weeks in Thailand.

The food is great and reasonably priced. I had chicken and cashew nuts for lunch which cost 120 baht. The pineapple smoothie is a must try to anyone visiting here. The portion sizes aren't tiny either which was very appreciated after a few weeks of never really feeling full up.

There is one staff member in particular who I'd like to mention as being an asset to the resort. I'm not sure of his name however he has tattoos and was always there with a smile. His English wasn't great but I got the impression he was the only person there that day who could speak even a bit. He was happy to help us with anything and he made our stay even more pleasant.

In terms of location it is about 1km to the park entrance. My bf and I walked it in about ten minutes and it's all flat road. There isn't much around, but I guess that's all part of the relaxing experience. After a few weeks in places such as Phuket and Phi Phi, it was nice to walk down the road and not be hassled for a massage!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phanom
0.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Resort

Property: At Home Resort
Address: 68 Moo 6 | Klong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Phanom
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our natural surroundings Thai contemporary design vacation home provides you with all comforts of home and hospitality service. The resort is quietly nestled in the breathtaking region of an untouched evergreen Thailand rain forest with a spectacular view of limestone mountains and wide range of local attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home Resort Thailand/Surat Thani Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing