We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Kwai Resotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Kwai Resotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Danville, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned from a two day trip at the River Kwai Resote, l While planning our two week trip to Thailand, we found out about this place by accident. We decided to check it out because it looked so beautiful.

The hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in Bangkok. It was about a 3.5 hour drive right into the jungle. The driver takes you to a pier then a longtail boat takes you to the hotel, about ten minutes away. It's quite a trip.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. There isn't a lot to do but this is a great place to spend a couple of days and rest and explore. The rooms basic but clean and comfortable. We stayed in a river view room, but I think we would have preferred one away from the river --the area up the hill is really beautiful.

There is only one option for food. The restaurant is decent -- we've had better but it was fine.

We heard the trip to a waterfall was beautiful but crowded. We hired a driver and went to the Tiger Temple. We really enjoyed the Tiger Temple. It is an animal sanctuary and they have hundreds of tigers (among other animals) living on their vast acreage. We paid extra to "exercise" the tiger cubs. It was a very memorable experience.

To our surprise, the bugs weren't too bad. We sprayed ourselves with Off and didn't have too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river don't really view the river because of small windows. Prefer the area up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    348
    132
    37
    14
See reviews for
164
365
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The River Kwai Resotel is a very peaceful stay. You take a boat to get to and from the resotel so your options are really limited to what you can do. The excursions through the resotel are of course, very expensive. The Tiger Temple was ~$150/person through the resotel. We got a taxi and went on our own for ~$45/person. Order dinner a la carte because the portions are generous and prices very reasonable compared to the buffet. Float around in the river and enjoy your self!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This was the 3rd leg of our honeymoon and was set in a stunning location. We were treated like royalty with our own private tour Gide who looked after us day and night booboo his name was :-) all meals were included and were delicious and they constantly were checking if we were ok or if we wanted anything else. Everyone was really polite and friendly. Location was amazing on the banks if the river and close to the stunning lava caves. Highly recommend this as part of your stay in Thailand .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

1. the only good point of this resort is the location.
2. the room was smelly and extremely public !!!!!!!!!
3. the resort should offer a bamboo rafting for free like the other resort... ( not a value destination resort )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pavaht T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSerene, General Manager at River Kwai Resotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Pavaht T,

Thank you for your recent stay at River Kwai Resotel.

First of all, thank you for your compliment to our resort location.

However, we are quite puzzled about some of your comments like ‘extremely public’.

We understand that you are referring to the location of your room. However, from our investigation, your private chalet was located away from the Clubhouse / Restaurant area. Every guest has their own private bungalow. Our assumption is that you are reviewing a wrong hotel here.

We do offer bamboo rafting but with very reasonable costs. We do not aware of any resort in Thailand exempting such cost as its operational cost is high. If they did not charge you, the only possibility is that it is already included in your room rate. We really hope you understand the situation from the business standpoint.

Thank you once again for your recent stay with us.

Kindest regards,

River Kwai Resotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I had visited this floatel some months back and it was just an unforgettable experience. It is quite far from Kanchanburi but it is all worth finding it. I was taken to the floatel from long tail boat. Upon my arrival they served me welcome drink and showed my room. I had booked room facing the river and picturesque was just mesmerizing. They have best trained professional staff at their spa and it was just real pleasure to get the massage done outdoor with the nature around. The restaurant offers simple food but it is worth enough to fulfill your apatite. Vicky at the reception was exceptional and helped me in many ways and a special appreciation to them. The room was good but be aware of the insects since your room is surrounded by a forest all around. The only problem I faced is that there was no network available and it was very difficult for me to communicate back home. There is no proper internet service as well but who cares when you go there to just loosen up and spend some peaceful moments adieu busy work in Bangkok. Will love to return to this place soon.

Room Tip: Choose river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have never had such a good stay. People were so very nice at the resotel. Unbelievable. We met several so not nice people in Thailand, which is called land of smile? why? dont know. But these people were awesome!! Clean and wonderful.
An adventure!!

Room Tip: Every room just the same!! SUPER!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelusa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a last minute, poorly-researched booking.. but one that I was SO happy to have stumbled upon. The boat ride up to the hotel is a great way to start, very convenient, minimal wait. Super-friendly and helpful staff, great food, clean and nicely decorated, private cabins. Close to a number of interesting venues like the Tiger Temple and Hellfire Pass. Tours/transportation to a number of activities can be arranged there at the hotel. However, there at the hotel itself, there is absolute peace and quiet, little paths winding through the greenery. Very nice. Would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MuchoGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
8.2 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
7.4 mi away
Boutique Raft Resort
Boutique Raft Resort
#5 of 100 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Home Phutoey River Kwai Resort
8.6 mi away
River Kwai Jungle View
River Kwai Jungle View
#8 of 25 in Sai Yok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
The FloatHouse River Kwai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Resotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Resotel

Property: River Kwai Resotel
Address: 55 Moo 5 | Wangkrajae Subdistrict, Sai Yok 71150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Resotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Resotel is the unique river jungle resort along the River Kwai. With its jungle setting and lush green garden just beside River Kwai, there are lots of jungle and river activities that guests can enjoy and fulfill the days. The resort is connected to Lawa Cave, one of Thailand national reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your River Kwai Resotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Resotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Resotel Sai Yok, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing