We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & great service”
Review of River Kwai Resotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Kwai Resotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. The location within the jungle by the river is dramatic, and the continuing developments around the gardens make this a fascinating place to stay. On top of that, the staff are consistently friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms seemed better value than superior river rooms. Note that sound proofing between rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YorkFishFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was fine. Rooms were a bit worn but clean. The shower water was kind of a trickling stream. I actually appreciate the fact that the rooms were located in cottages on the hotel grounds, not on the river, because I felt that was better for the environment (but was it really? I am not sure.) The food was not as bad as some reviewers had stated. Perhaps my expectation was different, knowing that the hotel is located in a rather remote area. I didn't count on fabulous gourmet meals so I was not disappointed. The dinner buffet selection was big enough. There were 2 different kinds of fried rice, Pad Thai, curries, stir fries, white rice, pasta dishes, salads, fresh fruits and a Thai dessert. The soups were not appetizing. You can also order a la carte, which my travel companions did, and the food turned out fine. The breakfast buffet was also not bad. The hotel offered eggs cooked in any way you want, different breads, jams and butter, sausages, hams, muesli and other cereals, coffee, tea and fruit juices.
The hotel's setting was beautiful. The river was clean, cool and clear and the surrounding forest green. The hotel grounds was also very nice to walk around. The children enjoyed seeing cows, flower and fruit trees. My group hired a boat for sightseeing on the river and that was a wonderful experience. I found the hotel staff to be cheerful and helpful. All in all it was a very restful vacation. I will definitely go back again just for the peacefulness of it all. If you plan on going, read different reviews to find out what to realistically expect and you will enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ILoveLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have been here twice. We live in Bangkok but are actually nature lovers. Yes, we have our own vehicle which makes it easy, but for us it's an escape.
Within walking distance is a cave. The stalactites are well lit and the steps up to the cave make it an easy climb, although quite steep. Nearby are elephant rides and waterfalls. One can walk to the source of the waterfall on dirt roads. Tiger temple is along the road between Kanchanaburi and Sai Yok, but it screams CRUELTY to animals. The train ride through the pass is beautiful but about 2 hours. River rafting etc is also available. The better meals at the restaurant are the Chef's recommendations. Tha walk around the gardens is quite lovely with a variety of fruit trees, tropical plants and thai herbs.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The first thing that should be noted is that while this place is set in a beautifully location it is very remote so those traveling without guides and drivers (like we were) may want to consider an alternative. It is a good hour and half taxi journey from Kanchuburi (80km). This journey will set you back around 1000 baht and there is no other way of getting there, so this is an extra expense worth factoring in. The second main point, is this place is not suited for young travellers without guides and cars. Once you have arrived, due to the remote location, you are completely dependent on the hotel and if you are not there as part of a package trip the extras really add up. Food is on the expensive side for Thailand and is very generic (not very tasty) 'Asian' and 'Western' fare. Excursions are expensive and taxis, have to be organised through the hotel and are also expensive. Furthermore many of the attractions which people visiting Kanchuburi wish to enjoy such as the death rail way and major waterfalls are a long way away. We did go to Hell fires pass on an excursion and this was definitely worth doing and not too far, however, this was expensive especially considering the fact that the museum and walk are actually free to the public! Further drawbacks to this place include the fact that service is very poor, very few of the staff speak any english (odd in such a touristy resort). In general this place felt too much like a package holiday resort, but for the wonderful surroundings, I would definitely pass this one by!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JuliaDomna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned from a two day trip at the River Kwai Resote, l While planning our two week trip to Thailand, we found out about this place by accident. We decided to check it out because it looked so beautiful.

The hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in Bangkok. It was about a 3.5 hour drive right into the jungle. The driver takes you to a pier then a longtail boat takes you to the hotel, about ten minutes away. It's quite a trip.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. There isn't a lot to do but this is a great place to spend a couple of days and rest and explore. The rooms basic but clean and comfortable. We stayed in a river view room, but I think we would have preferred one away from the river --the area up the hill is really beautiful.

There is only one option for food. The restaurant is decent -- we've had better but it was fine.

We heard the trip to a waterfall was beautiful but crowded. We hired a driver and went to the Tiger Temple. We really enjoyed the Tiger Temple. It is an animal sanctuary and they have hundreds of tigers (among other animals) living on their vast acreage. We paid extra to "exercise" the tiger cubs. It was a very memorable experience.

To our surprise, the bugs weren't too bad. We sprayed ourselves with Off and didn't have too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river don't really view the river because of small windows. Prefer the area up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The River Kwai Resotel is a very peaceful stay. You take a boat to get to and from the resotel so your options are really limited to what you can do. The excursions through the resotel are of course, very expensive. The Tiger Temple was ~$150/person through the resotel. We got a taxi and went on our own for ~$45/person. Order dinner a la carte because the portions are generous and prices very reasonable compared to the buffet. Float around in the river and enjoy your self!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This was the 3rd leg of our honeymoon and was set in a stunning location. We were treated like royalty with our own private tour Gide who looked after us day and night booboo his name was :-) all meals were included and were delicious and they constantly were checking if we were ok or if we wanted anything else. Everyone was really polite and friendly. Location was amazing on the banks if the river and close to the stunning lava caves. Highly recommend this as part of your stay in Thailand .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sai Yok
8.2 mi away
Pung-Waan Resort
Pung-Waan Resort
#3 of 5 in Sai Yok
128 reviews
18.3 mi away
Banrimkwae Paerimnam Resort
15.4 mi away
Riverkwai Park & Resort
Riverkwai Park & Resort
#26 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
River Kwai Jungle Rafts Resort
20.3 mi away
Mida Resort Kanchanaburi
Mida Resort Kanchanaburi
#12 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
242 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mom Chailai Forest Retreat
Mom Chailai Forest Retreat
#51 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Resotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Resotel

Address: 55 Moo 5 | Wangkrajae Subdistrict, Sai Yok 71150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Sai Yok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sai Yok
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Resotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Kwai Resotel is the unique river jungle resort along the River Kwai. With its jungle setting and lush green garden just beside River Kwai, there are lots of jungle and river activities that guests can enjoy and fulfill the days. The resort is connected to Lawa Cave, one of Thailand national reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your River Kwai Resotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Resotel Kanchanaburi
River Kwai Resotel Sai Yok, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing