We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Telstar Motel

Telstar Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kakabeka Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Telstar Motel
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is an older motel, but kept up very well. The owner was very helpful and he allows pets. You can hear a little road noise and when people come in late or leave early, so bring a small fan or noise machine and it will block out most of it. Room was clean and water was hot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Telstar Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just 20 miles out of Thunder Bay. It was an alright hotel, old but clean. The staff was helpful in suggesting places to eat and where the falls were. Our room was not soundproof you could hear when other people arrived late into the night and when they left early. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Telestar for 5 days in August, the previous review was generous at best. Clean?yes but the room was not tended to during our stay, apparently the housekeepers were done for the day at 10am which was earlier than we were ready to be off f. Fresh towels were available, no problem., Decor most like a 1960's rumpus room. You should have a category in ratings to indicate not quite poor but certainly less than average. I do agree this is probably the best Kakabeka Falls has to offer.

Room Tip: room not facing the highway would be optimal.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfk154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you ever happen to be in Kakabeka Falls for some utterly spectacular sightseeing, you'll be happy to know that you can find a nice place to stay. Reception at Telstar Motel was very congenial and helpful; we enjoyed being treated with civility. Our room was clean, comfortable, and yes, there is satellite television too! This location is also just down the road from the falls, so you don't have to worry about a long trek to sightseeing. It is also is fairly close to Thunder Bay so you can enjoy the benefits of visiting the big city while not having to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank caribbeachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakabeka Falls
15.7 mi away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#14 of 33 in Thunder Bay
81 reviews
14.0 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,553 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
880 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
241 reviews
15.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telstar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telstar Motel

Address: 4746 Hwy 11 & 17, Kakabeka Falls, Ontario P0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kakabeka Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kakabeka Falls
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telstar Motel in Kakabeka Falls, ON provides clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. We offer kitchenettes, free wifi, satellite TV, A/C, and fridges in every room. Recently under new ownership, we are in the process of upgrading and appreciate all feedback and suggestions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing