We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great family holiday in a beautiful setting”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Penderff Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penderff Holiday Cottage
The Welcome On Arrival The Kitchen/Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
25 reviews
Penderff Holiday Cottage
The Welcome On Arrival
The Kitchen/Dining
View Through To The Kitchen
The Sitting Room
The Double Room Upstairs
Ensuite Shower Room To Double Room
The Blue Twin Room
The Yellow Twin Room
The Main Shower Room
Alfresco Dining
Private Garden Heated Solar Heated Pool
The Main BBQ Set Within The Old Bread Oven
The Ground Floor Of The Games Room
Guests Having A Fun Evening In The Games Room
Our Beautiful Lake
Have A Picnic By Our Lake And Row The Little Boat, What Fun!
Our Little River
Walk Down Past The Ruined Mill
Over The Footbridge
The Pretty Square In Quimper
The Deserted Beach At Rospico
The Beautiful Beach At Kerham
The Chateau Of Suscinio On The Golfe Du Morbiham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lignol, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Karen H
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family holiday in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is the perfect holiday rental for kids and adults of all ages. Jeremy and Judith are the perfect hosts, there when you need them but not intrusive or overbearing (the cake on arrival is out of this world). The setting is idyllic complete with outdoor pool and tons of land for the kids to run and play. The nearby village has a large supermarket, restaurants and gift shops. The location is ideal with the coast only half an hours drive away and tons of great places to visit nearby, from castles and walled cities to zoos and aquariums all within a two hour drive. The cottage is immaculate with all the amenities you could need for a comfortable stay. We can't recommend this amazing rental enough and hope to return there in the near future.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Wide open spaces, kids could run around safely
Liked least: Weather could have been better during our first week!!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Holiday in years, didnt want to come home.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The best holiday we have had for years. Judith and Jeremy were fantastic and so helpful. The Gite was immaculate, very clean with everything you would need. The upstairs bedroom & bathroom was delightful.
Great weather and we spent lots of time by the pool with great views. Lots of nice places to eat and we had some great days out. A real chance to relax far enough away for it to be very quiet but help if you need it.
The cake was lovely and the welcome pack a real help. I was surprised how clear the night sky was with the brightest stars I have ever seen. Can’t wait to go back
Thanks so much for a great holiday needs more stars to do it justice.
Jill & Geoff

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Chickens and the peace and quite
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Having decided to take my two daughters to France this summer I came across Penderff by accident - what a fantastic accident!

Right from booking the gite through to leaving France Judith and Jeremy have been excellent, with great communication and extremely helpful.

We arrived to find the picturesque gite, totally true to the description. Fantastically equipped with all the comforts of home and a wonderful gift of wine, croissants and a home made cake! The girls were thrilled to find a fantastic games room and superb swimming pool, as well as the chickens and piglets, which entertained them wonderfully! I could not have asked for any better!

Throughout our stay we were lucky enough to have super weather and so we did not venture too far, however Quimper was a lovely day out. Judith and Jeremy were very helpful in explaining the local area and giving advice.

We have booked another two weeks at Penderff and are very excited to return! Thank you for an excellent, and very memorable holiday!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The comfort and homeliness as well as the friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic, reading retreat!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Thank you again Jeremy and Judith for sharing your little French paradise with us. Our first trip to Brittany and so much to do - the children are exhausted!

The gite was the perfect base for our travels and plenty for the children to do, from exploring the nearby coast, towns, horse riding, zoo at Pont Sorff and for the rainy days, Oceanopolis and the fabulous Clay Barn. And to return to such a relaxing environment was the perfect break for us! We even spent a few days just at the gite, with walks, swimming, boating lake and outdoor games keeping everyone happy before firing up the barbeque and opening a good bottle or two.

Jeremy and Judith have been perfect hosts, on hand with great local knowledge and suggestions, and very welcoming. Meg wants another cake and is missing the chickens already!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it means the world to us that you enjoyed yourselves so much. We miss having the children around, especially all Harvey's questions. Jeremy and I both hope that you will remember your time at Penderff for many years and we hope very much to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Gite and surroundings are quiet and peaceful, with chickens running around and beautiful views of the fields from the pool, which is very private. There is plenty for children to do with the activities provided and the extra games room near the pool. We were 5 adults and 1 toddler and found there was plenty of space for us, especially as there were 2 showers and 3 toilets.

Jeremy and Judith were lovely and helpful without being intrusive; they went to lots of effort to help us find a restaurant that served food at our toddlers dinner time and to help us with a broken tyre. There was also a useful welcome pack with a very delicious cake!

The surrounding villages are quaint and friendly with all the shops and restaurants you need. You do need a car to get about but there are lots of places to visit within easy reach. After driving from Calais we would recommend taking a ferry to St Malo as you can miss all the tolls and the queues that always seem to occur. Other people have recommended the 6 hour crossing rather than the shorter one which induces sea sickness!

We had a lovely week at Penderff and would definitely come again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beautiful peaceful surroundings, eating outside and the lovely pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are both very pleased that you all enjoyed the holiday so much,for us it was a pleasure meeting you all. Maybe in the future you can return with added additions!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochevnik...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Total peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

First of all I would like humbly apologize for NOT writing this review earlier.

Dear Judith, PLEASE, forgive me !

Me and my husband Geoff stayed in Penderff cottage for a week in May ( 6-13 May 2013).

"Dear Judith and Jeremy,
We had a super holiday, one of our best I think, and would like to thank you both for your hospitality, eggs and wood.
We visited many places you recommended and had a thoroughly enjoyable time all round. "
This is what my husband Geoff wrote to you after he returned to the "deserted" and a sunny(+45C now) Qatar where he works at the present.

I'm totally, totally agree with him!

Despite of cool and rainy weather during our short stay in Penderff, we had a wonderful time in Brittany.

Tired and hungry after a day of sightseeing we were always looking forward to return to our cosy cottage in Penderff where Geoff would quickly light a fire in a fireplace( he really became excited about doing it) to make us warmer and feel more homey.

To be honest, our cottage was so homey and cosy and comfortable ,providing everything what possibly needed that I would not mind to stay in most of the days.

We never been in Brittany before(usually going to Normandy for a short break).
Therefore , it was so important to find a right location from where we could visit different places of interests within one-two hours driving and make an introduction to the area.

Here is a list of places we managed to visit (we were lazy and relax) during our stay in Penderff.

Day 1. Port-Louis, Musee national de la Marine.

Day 2. Village de Poul-Fetan .

Day 3. La Trinite-sur-Mer and St.Philibert .

Day 4. Chateau Josselin.

Day 5. St.Nicolas des Eaux. Walk along the river Blavet, lunch at Le Chalet Creperie.

Day 6. Village de L'An Mil, Melrand and fishing village Etel (Musee des Thoniers).

We have got only regret staying in Penderff- we couldn't stay for longer.

Special thanks goes to free range chickens for their wonderful organic eggs. Geoff said that his best scramble eggs English breakfast he had on the French soil in Penderff!

A few days ago we received sad news from Judith about her four chickens who became an easy prey for Mr .Fox ( or, perhaps ,Mrs Fox?). Well, "C'est la vie !"as our French friends would say.

Sorry, Judith. I'm not being sarcastic or cruel. It is sad. If it would be mine chickens, I would run around with "Kalashnikov" in my hands( it is a joke, I never had it) shouting all Russian rude words I have ever learnt (not many) ,accusing Mr and Mrs Fox of all possible and impossible crimes(including espionage ) they ever done toward all chickens of the area.

Best regards to all your lovely dogs and to the brave canaries babies who all survived after all troubles. Well done, chicks!

God bless and protect all of you at Penderff! Hope, to visit you soon.

Katia and Geoff Higgens

P.S. WARNING! "Welcome on arrival homemade cake" is SO DELISHIOUS !

It made adjustments to your slimming plans.

We DON'T complain ,we LOVED it! THANK YOU FOR YOUR HOSPITALITY!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2013
Thank you both so much for your wonderful review, we loved meeting you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday. We both hope that you will return to us, we might have some more hens by then! Canary babies are all doing well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistiagon
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just had our second holiday at Penderff. What a lovely place - full of character, peaceful, and in the countryside so very quiet. We had such a lovely warm welcome, we felt at home straight away. We couldn't make use of the pool as it is the wrong time of the month - but I imagine it would be a real bonus for anyone going there in the summer. We had a gorgeous warm wood burner - which Judith offered to keep lit for us through the day while we were out, but we just didn't need that as we could light it as and when we needed it - plenty of wood was available. There are lovely walks around the property, including a lake and river to sit by and watch the bird life. Very restful. Thank you Judith and Jeremy.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the warm welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
Thank you both for such a glowing review, it was a real pleasure having you both to stay again in our gite. I'm really happy that you both enjoyed yourselves and found Penderff to be what you wanted in a holiday. Do return whenever you like, you are very welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$576
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing