We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, stylish, comfortable gite”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Campsegret, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish, comfortable gite”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely and relaxing few days in Ali’s gorgeous gite. It is beautifully decorated, cosy, bright and very comfortable. Everything we could possibly have needed was thoughtfully supplied (along with some very generous extras) - the kitchen was so well-equipped and everything worked perfectly. Ali was a very friendly and discreet host.

The gite is situated in a quiet hamlet surrounded by a few hectares of nature. There are some lovely walks to take around the property. It was only a 15 minute drive to Bergerac, which we spent a day exploring.

We stayed in the dead of winter and had some challenging weather - it poured, it snowed, it was really cold outside - so the gite really came into its own as we spent a bit of time inside just relaxing and unwinding in warmth and comfort. It was so much more than somewhere to simply rest your head for the night.

You could easily spend a month in this gite. We’d love to return some time in the summer to fully appreciate the flowering natural surrounds and the lovely looking swimming pool.

I thoroughly recommended this beautiful gite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it ....”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed in the beautiful gite for three nights. It was winter grey and snowing outside, yet inside was a warm and cosy place we didn’t want to leave. The setting of the house and gite is in a beautiful hamlet where only a few houses exist and it is like somewhere time has stood still, somewhere forgotten.

You are surrounded by woodland and wake to the sound of nothing but bird song, yet you are only 20 mins from Bergerac so you have the best of both worlds. The Gite was spotlessly clean, the bedding and towels were of top end hotel quality, and the bed super comfortable. We even had the luxury of a heated blanket. The gite was tastefully decorated and the layout was very spacious. You have English and French TV so another added extra.

The gite is totally independent from the house and very private. Ali welcomed us with a warm welcome and left us an abundance of lovely foods and wine. It was an absolute pleasure staying here and I highly recommend it. We can honestly say this is the nicest accommodation we have stayed in during our month in France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Dear Andrea, I'm overwhelmed by your kind words, and pleased we are doing something right! Reviews are so important to our business, so that future guests know what to expect, especially as this is our first season hosting. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you back. Best Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed our time in the south of France near Campsegret. We flew into Bergerac and it was a simple 25 minute drive to La Maure. You won't miss Greg and Ali's place, a stunning building overlooking some forest behind. The gite itself is set slightly further back on the property and is far enough away to offer privacy. The inside looks as though it has recently been refurbished and is brilliantly stylish.

There are plenty of local markets all offering different cheese to sink your teeth into and wine some of which is produced locally. We used most of our time to relax and for me to get on with my writing but we hear there was plenty to get on with - kayaking along the Dordogne was unfortunately something we missed out on!

Greg and Ali were fantastic throughout and we could easily have stayed for longer had the gite not already been booked the following week. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahbet...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rain or shine, this is a perfect getaway for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. Ali and Greg are warm and welcoming hosts (and fab cooks!), we instantly felt at home here. There was also plenty of activity going on in the surrounding villages if we wanted to be a little busier. I can't wait to visit again in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
We hope to see you again soon Hannah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

You can't get better than this for somewhere to escape and wind down!
Gorgeous decor, gorgeous property and was so perfect to de-stress in the tranquil scenery. We had all the privacy we wanted and the amazing hosts Ali & Greg were SO welcoming & helpful. Loved exploring the area & feel totally rejuvenated - can't think of a better holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Thank you Georgina. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stunning House and Idyllic Location”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Close to Bergerac airport and set in acres of beautiful countryside, this stay met all our expectations. Comfortable beds, modern conveniences and great breakfast. Ali and Greg were charming and attentive hosts. We'll definitely put this stay on our future short get-away list.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you John . It was a pleasure to welcome you here. So glad you and Moira enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back soon! Best Ali & Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateChi10
Collioure
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, quiet, eclectic in a stunning country setting”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

After a busy few days exploring Bordeaux, La Frêne was the most perfect place for us to slow down. The hamlet setting is amazing and their home is an old farmhouse that feels as if it’s in the middle of nowhere but is actually close to other villages and less than two hours from Bordeaux! We just loved it.

First the practical stuff: excellent wifi, firm comfie beds with huge fluffy duvets and beautiful linen; spacious bathroom with big shower and fantastic water pressure. Our room was in a totally private upstairs “wing” - beautifully decorated and very cosy and quiet; breakfast was copious and my husband’s “medium soft egg, please” was perfect!

All the little extras: really friendly hosts - you’re staying in a home but with all the privacy and comfort of a hotel. We ate with the family in the evenings and were so happy we did - Ali and Greg (and their daughter Alex!) love cooking and it showed. The food was five star - delicious flavours and there’s nothing quite like home grown veggies and morning fresh eggs.

There are lots of room options so you can choose to be private for a romantic getaway à deux, or book out more rooms for a holiday with friends/ big family!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you for such kind words Katjia. It really means a lot to us that people enjoy their stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and Dave and we hope we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;