We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for family”
Review of Summer House Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer House Park
Certificate of Excellence
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place for family”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My family and I headed here last summer in a trailer. The place can get very busy on the weekend but is not very loud or feel to crowded. There is lots to do for everyone, even my mom who is in her 60's enjoyed swimming in Miller lake. Clean, with a relax, quiet environment. Nice grounds for walking and staff was very friendly. Close to Tobermory and lots of beaches. If you don't like feeling like you are in the middle of no where don't go here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electricrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
60
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just returned from a three day weekend stay in a cottage at Summer House Park. We are a family of four with two young children, and went with two other families who stayed in the cottages adjacent to ours, Cottage 9, the Osprey's Nest. The cottages were authentically rustic, simply but attractively furnished, well equipped and perfectly clean. The view from Cottage 9 is spectacular, looking out over the lake from the edge of a sheer rock cliff. The cliff was of concern with the kids and we were obliged to improvise a string barrier. We easily prepared meals three families in the basic but functional cottage kitchen. Remember to bring sugar, salt and pepper along with the more obvious milk, bread, etc.! If you forget anything, the camp shop was remarkably well stocked and a wonder of organization given the tiny space. The sand beach is weed-free, though otherwise typical for cottage country. A nice, modern kid's playground and an ice cream stand that were popular with our four and six year olds. Overall a very enjoyable stay - we will go back.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in Cottages 7 and 8, we stayed in 9. All have bathrooms, and, though Cottage 7 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DadMomandTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have just arrived home after a four day stay at Summer House. I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly ALL the satff were that we encountered. From the initail welcome greeting at the front gate, to asking for directions, to an assist with our hitch, (we were in a fifth wheel), to the happy staff in the store...all was cheerful. The ammenities were clean, modern and in great shape. The lake was clear, and they have all manner of watercraft to rent and enjoy at the camp. Large sites with a mixed hardwood canopy provide lots of shade on a warm day, and having 30-50 amp service made it great for all the facilities in our big rig. The pull through was a breeze and I would highly recommend trying this camp on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHP_host, Owner at Summer House Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I'm very pleased that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Owners are very rude. No people skills what so ever. We camped and family members stayed in the lodge, where bed sheets didn't fit the bed and dirty items were found in the mattress.

Room Tip: don't stay in the lodge or cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank srogers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHP_host, Owner at Summer House Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay at our resort. We pride ourselves in providing a clean and welcoming environment here at our park so I apologize if you did not find our facility meet those standards. Please be assured that if you visit us in the future we would do our best to fix any issues and address your concerns, as we strive to do with all our guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This place has lots of entertainment for the kids. They had someone who had activities planned around a theme week for the kids at no extra charge. My kids loved kids bingo and family bingo night. The waterfront is gorgeous with several docks and an inflatable rock climbing style slide. Many different types of watercraft were available for rent. Fishing was popular off the docks or from a boat. There is a staffed boathouse where fishing supplies, fishing advice, fish cleaning centre and boat rentals are to be had.
If you have a family dog -- there is a pebbled dog beach here and lots of four-legged friends for company. The staff were great and it is very family friendly. Fire wood is about 8.00 per bag. The washrooms backed up where we were from heavy use but, it was always resolved fairly quickly. Nice washrooms and showers. Could use more of them though. This campground has alot of parked summer trailers as well as some tent sites and overnighter sites. There are four rentable cabins ranging from 1000-1800 per week depending whether you want to have 2, 3 or four bedrooms. These cabins all overlook the water and two have fire and picnic tables right on the waters edge. There are lots of activities like an outdoor shuffle board, horse shoes, tennis courts, and outdoor covered ping pong tables. We enjoyed every minute at this campground. Boys would show up on their bikes every morning to play with my son and would be collected later by their parents. Very relaxed family style feeling here. Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bizzym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford,Ontario,Canada,
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hubby & I have just returned from a 10 day camping trip and we loved it. Our first time at SHP and hopefully won't be our last. The campsites are quite spacious and ours faced the water which was beautiful. We were in C1 which is a serviced site but if your tenting, there is a site that is waterfront and gorgeous. They also have 3 camping cabins that are very cute. You really are in a forest type setting. We also noted the lack of bugs, which was great, no pesty mosquitos. I brought my hummingbird feeder and enjoyed watching the hummers everyday along with our friendly chipmunk who should be well stocked for the winter. We wish some dog owners would be more responsible and clean up after their dogs, no fault of the park. We must say that the staff are exceptional and friendly. We fished off the dock and I caught a nice small mouth bass, hubby just got some nibbles.It is only a short drive into Tobermory and make sure you stop at DNA fish and chips, the best ever! It is on the way to Tobermory.This is the nicest park we have stayed in. Thankyou SHP!
Beth & Al

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank theavonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place has it all great for kids, parents, couples. Relaxing environment with a few bonus items. For a few extra dollars a day you can get internet access which I used for planning out the next days events to Cyprus Lake and surrounding areas of the Bruce. Location is close proximity to many adventures. There is a shop where you can purchase forgotten camping items, marshmallows for your fire, coffee and yes chai lattes! In the same building there is a restaurant where you can get breakfast and lunch, in case you need a break from cooking yourself. Delicious.. Yvonne and Monica are the best! Hot showers are available which were cleaner than any camping site I have been to. The washrooms could have been cleaned a bit more frequently but no outhouse here! :) Activities are planned by site staff to keep the kids busy but many were on bikes, at the beach, boating with family or playing with new found friends. My only regret was not booking this early enough in the season to get more than two nights at this great location. Firewood here was a bit expensive so if you can, bring it in from local shops instead.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time to get a prime location in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miller Lake
17.3 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miller's Family Camp
Miller's Family Camp
#3 of 3 in Miller Lake
15 reviews
16.7 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
101 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dreamland II Bed and Breakfast
16.8 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#3 of 12 in Tobermory
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer House Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer House Park

Property: Summer House Park
Address: 197 Miller Lake Shore Rd, Miller Lake, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Miller Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Miller Lake
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer House Park is a family oriented camping, cottage and guest house resort on the shores of Miller Lake, Bruce Peninsula. Close to the Bruce Peninsula National Park, the Bruce Trail, Tobermory and many natural attractions on the Bruce Peninsula. Daily children's activities and fun family events all summer long. Enjoy a relaxing stay in a wilderness setting with fabulous amenities to make your camping or cottage experience a fun and relaxing one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Summer House Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Park Ontario/Miller Lake, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing