We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ontario" yours to discover!”
Review of Summer House Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer House Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It was a first for our family to Summer house park. Upon entry is a great store with just about anything you seem to have forgotten. Also is a great little cafe serving breakfast and specialty coffees only to name a few. There is a nice little sand beach which looks out to the giant inflatables which kids and adults love. There are also all types of rentals boats with motor, paddle boats, water bikes, canoes even pedal go carts at very reasonable prices. They also seemed to have activities throughout our stay to keep the children occupied. The campsites were a bit open but some along the waterfront including the cottages had the best and really some of the nicest views I've seen in a long time. Though they lacked electric and water.... If you can stand it and are lucky enough get one, the sun rises is beautiful. Fishing was slow but heard a few fish were caught. Overall very nice campground, worth the visit and will return for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitehouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the Labour day weekend and we had an absolute blast! Friends of ours rented the new cabin in the camping cabin area and it exceeded our expectations. The cabin was clean, fresh and very relaxing. It was brand new for 2012 so it did smell like fresh cedar which was also a bonus. 6 of us in total stayed in the cabin and we did not feel cramped at all. I slept on the top bunk but it was still fairly comfy overall and able to support my weight with a couple sleeping below me. The cabin was private and very well designed. There was no cooking allowed in the cabin but there was a charcoal grill outside that worked great (we used it to cook chicken, steaks, and potatoes). The campfire spot was also spacious and private with lots of room for all of us to sit around and enjoy. The washrooms were really close by and the showers were about a few minutes walk away. The actual campground was really clean and well maintained. It was also really quiet (perfect for families and couples)! The staff at the campground was very friendly and welcoming. In fact, I highly recommend you eat at the Shoreline Cafe. The food there is amazing! My wife and I had the Reuben sandwich with fries for lunch and I had iced coffee to go with it. Everything I tried there was absolutely delicious. Make sure you stop and grab breakfast or lunch there! The prices are reasonable (8.50 plus tax for the sandwich with fries). The staff in the store/restaurant are very friendly and genuine. They make sure that you will be satisfied and are very prompt in their service.

The beach area of the camground is also very clean and family friendly. I was playing with my friends on the avalanche body launcher in the lake for a long time because it was so much fun. Great workout too!

I would recommend this park/campground to anyone. Its probably the best site I've ever stayed at and I look forward to staying there again next year possibly. It's close to the Bruce National Park and Lions Head areas too (right in between).

Room Tip: Cabins are fun to stay in and are near the back of the site (very quiet and relaxing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

First of all we rented a boat out for a week, Saturday to Saturday, when we got there at 3:00 on Saturday we checked in and went to get our boat, they rented our boat out to someone else while we were standing there after telling is that they didn't have a boat for us , then told us to come back in an hour because that would be the boat we got for A week.
Also some of the ladies in the front office were just plain rude.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank a-overbeeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHP_host, Manager at Summer House Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Hello, I am sorry that you had a negative experience at our park. I am not aware of your specific boat rental situation but I will look into it. I am surprised to hear your comment as we do receive numerous compliments about our team. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We recently stayed at Summer House park for 5 nights. This is our first visit to Summer House Park and we will definitely return. We booked later than others had so stayed in one site for 2 nights, then moved sites for the remainder of our stay. The first spot we stayed in was on Birch, near the entrance/store/water; the second was on Tamarack. Although the second spot was further away from these things, it was a treed lot, larger than the first lot and more private. When we go back, I will definitely request the second site again. The park is spotless and there were constantly people working at maintaining the resort. The beach was nice and there were lots of things to do. We had breakfast at the restaurant one day and had ice cream and coffee at the store a couple of times. It is located close to Tobermory and Lions Head, so we did some outings as well. The people we dealt with while making our reservation (online) and then while we were there were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warytravellerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

While the setting of the park is nice I don't recommend if you are using a tent. Our tentsite was covered in big spiky stones and sleeping was very uncomfortable despite our sleeping mats. Also, there are not enough toilets and showers and the toilets are often blocked and unusable. For the price you pay I expected much better facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EmiliaXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was our families first trip to Summer House and it will definetly will not be the last. This camp ground is very well maintained and there are always grounds people working on the resort.

There are many activities for people of all ages, too many to list. The beach is perfect, not too big and not too small. There are even water activities at the beach to take part in. The water was very clean and a decent temperature.

Our family travelled in a 27ft travel trailer and we had one of the tighter sites. We still did not feel like our site was cramped at all. The site was well maintained and with very nice seasonal camper neighbours. While we were there we booekd again for next year, we were that impressed!

Overall if your thinking of going, GO! You will not be dissapointed.

Happy Camping.

Room Tip: Sites on row D are close to the water and all other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have been camping for 15 years. This is the nicest camp ground we have stayed at. Beautiful beach and lots of things for kids to do. We travelled 7.5 hours to get here and we definately will be coming back. Wish we had found this place 10 years ago. We had a great week!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebWalker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miller Lake
17.3 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
16.2 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miller's Family Camp
Miller's Family Camp
#3 of 3 in Miller Lake
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
113 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer House Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer House Park

Address: 197 Miller Lake Shore Rd, Miller Lake, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Miller Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Miller Lake
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer House Park is a family oriented camping, cottage and guest house resort on the shores of Miller Lake, Bruce Peninsula. Close to the Bruce Peninsula National Park, the Bruce Trail, Tobermory and many natural attractions on the Bruce Peninsula. Daily children's activities and fun family events all summer long. Enjoy a relaxing stay in a wilderness setting with fabulous amenities to make your camping or cottage experience a fun and relaxing one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Summer House Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Park Ontario/Miller Lake, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing