We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage on the lake”
Review of Summer House Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer House Park
Certificate of Excellence
karachi
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Cottage on the lake”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Cousins, nephews and nieces, all landed at the summer house by booking a cottage n the lake, It was absolutely heavenly. it was a large cottage, sleeping 8 people. Location was on top of lake Miller. It was fun. We took our own beddings, towels, food stuff, drinks etc. So it was like a reglar camping trip. There was a Bar BQ grill at the back of the cottage facing the lake. We also made a bonfire in the evening. Kayaks, canoes, pedal boats, pedal cycles, motor boats were all available on rent at reasonable prices. Location was also excellent and there were lot of attractions within close driving distance. A good pace to visit in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sainbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
60
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I went up to Summer house park for a weekend with some friends and we brought our dog along for the trip. The location is set back a little from the main road but there is ample sineage leading you right to the main office.

Check in is simple and easy, staff is very friendly and professional. When you check in they give you a gate key to get in through the main gate after hours ($deposit required). They give you a map of the property and explain where everything is. All of the roads within the camp ground are named and there are facilities located around the location so you're never too far away from a shower or bathroom.

There is even a small general store (with a cafe) where you can pick up any odds and ends you may have forgotten to pack, you can also get firewood and charcoal for the fire pits and grills there. We didn't try the cafe but it seemed nice enough that if we had known about it earlier we would have gone for a proper breakfast. I believe it was only opened for breakfast & lunch (until 3pm).

The camping cabins are small, we stayed in #1 which is the only one (I was told) without a ceiling fan. That was the only complaint, the windows didn't open and with no fan the cabin was unbearable at night, so if you do book cabin #1 I would strongly recommend bringing a fan or something to cool you down. There are power sockets in the cabin as well as a kitchenette with sink, running water, full size fridge, and microwave. Note each cabin's facilities are different. The cabins are all close together so if staying with friends who also rent cabins you will be close together.

If going with a group I would highly recommend a cottage. Our friends rented one and it had 2 bedrooms, a lounge area with a couch and a TV (with cable), located right by the beach, and had an inhouse toilet. All windows opened as well giving lots of ventilation in the cabin.

The dog beach is located at the far end of the beach which is perfect. it is far enough way that dogs can be left off leash to play in the water without worry of them getting in the way of others swimming, canoing, or fishing around the main beach. The dog beach even has a couple of docks for the dogs to jump off and have a good time.

Didn't visit the main beach but it looked like a blast. Lots of room to swim, docks to jump off of, and an inflatable toy in the lake for the kids to play on. There is also fishing in the same area as well so no shortage of activities, while my wife and I didn't partake our friends did and said it was awesome. I can say that the water at Miller Lake is excellent, went swimming with the dog at the dog beach and it was very pleasent.

Most surprising aspect of the campground were the showers. They were kept in immaculate condition. At a camp ground you're always going to get bugs in the shower facilities but there weren't that many and everything looked clean and well maintained. Compared to the last campground we went to the difference was night and day.

My wife and I are not regular outdoors people so speaking as someone who was just looking for a nice weekend out of the city I would rank Summer House park as excellent and definately plan to repeat visit in the future. Thanks to the property management and staff for making the location so pleasent.

Room Tip: If you book camping cabin #1 bring a fan for the summer If going with a group I would recommend boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOChris89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We camped at Summer House Park in Aug 2012. We have a fifth wheel and our site at first seemed small, but once we were parked it was great. The park is clean, staff were friendly, and there was always something to do.... even in the rain.
The kids loved the inflatable ice burg in the lake. The beach area is clean and lots of space.
The campground was in a great location to hike the Bruce Trail.
I would have liked to have outdoor music, but they are a radio free park. On the plus side to that, you don't get overlapping music, of blaring noise.
There are many seasonal sites, and the park always seems full, however we found mid week a lot of the seasonal campers were not there.
I have been recommending this campground to everyone who camps with family since staying here. I will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We took a vacation to Summer House Park for a week in September of 2012. This is a great time to go to relax and enjoy the many scenic oppotunities of the Bruce Peninsula. We had an absolutely fabulous time. The staff was very helpful with our every need. The lake is beautiful. Didn't catch any fish, but wasn't really trying that hard either. The campsites are average size. We were lucky and able to secure one of the bigger more secluded sites for the whole week. This place is busy during the summer months, so they were winding down for the season. Not too many people camping. The only negative comment is regarding some rude seasonal campers who were up partying well past the quiet hours of 10 p.m. I think they finally settled in sometime around 3 or 4 a.m. I complained to the owners the next morning and they immediately went to the party goers site and had a talk with them. No issues the rest of the time we were there. There is a lot to do in the area, so plan accordingly. We are definitely returning next year. Full hook ups is nice as well!

Room Tip: We were in site K17. Very secluded and off the beaten path. The only sites I would recommend again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandRHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Summerhouse park was kind enough to let us have our wedding at their camp/cottage park. We had an AMAZING time. The location was beautiful and the staff is so friendly and helpful. They completely went out of their way to make it such a wonderful and memorable weekend for us and our friends and family. They set up extra flowers outside of the hall, did a wonderful buffet, had a beautiful gift waiting for us in our cabin and even built a wheel chair ramp on one of the cabins for our Aunt because the wheelchair accessible cabin was taken. I couldn't imagine a better place for an event, work function, family get together or wedding. They are so organized, patient and all around wonderful people. I highly recommend this location.

Thank you again Summer House Park!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeintema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have been going to this park for four years and have always camped. We kept going back since we love the park and found the facilities to be clean and very convenient. As campers, we never had much interaction with the staff and everything was always amenable. Innevitably, when we planned a trip to the Bruce Peninsula with our school, the first place that came to mind was Summer House Park. Since we were a large group, we stayed in all four camping cabins and took a room at the B&B. The person in charge of coordinating everything had been wonderful. We had breakfast served at the B&B both mornings and prepared lunch and dinner ourselves. We had arranged for a late checkout on the Sunday and no one advised us that we had to be out at a certain time. Therefore, we headed out to some activities on the last day and were planning to get back, pack up, serve a meal and leave. You can imagine our surprise when we returned on the last day and found all our stuff had been moved from three of the four cabins and dumped inside one! No one even attempted to call us to let us know they were dong this! Had we been warned, we would have returned immediately or arranged to pay for an extra day. Their excuse was that checkout was at 10 (which as far as we knew did not apply to our group, since we had made different arrangements) and the three cabins we had been kicked out of were already rented out. I must note that by night time, when we finally got out of there, no one had showed up to claim these so called "rented cabins". They could not explain why they didn't try to contact us, although they had our cell numbers on file. Instead of being even remotely apologetic for the trouble they had caused us, they proceeded to be EXTREMELY rude. The staff at the front desk would not even let us go into the cabins to make sure all our belongings were out without being "escorted" in!!! The owners came out and insisted on defending their staff's actions. We would have gladly paid for an extra day, but never expected to have all our stuff thrown into a separate cabin. It took us over two hours to sort all our belongings out. We couldn't feed the kids and had to stop somewhere along the way to eat. Needless to say, we arrived at Toronto close to midnight and are still dealing with phone calls from irate parents. It was a horrible dissapointment, and the worst part is no one even took the time to contact us with an apology. Before this all happened, at least three other people in our group were planning to book a trip and stay with their families at this park. We were planning to make at least three similar trips with our school per year. I must add (since no one we speak to seems to be able to find a reasonable explanation to the way we were treated and in order to avoid misundertandings) that our kids had behaved exceptionally and never caused any trouble. Needless to say, no one in our party is ever going back to Summer House Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Aimée N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our second visit to Summer House, but this time, rather than staying in our RV we decided to stay at the B&B.We were welcomed at the front desk, then given the Grand Tour by Libby, who showed us all the facilities, gave us some tips to check out while we were there,and even offered to arrange our internet connections! Our pooch was given little treats,the variety at breakfast was great, and the service was like a five star hotel. Well run establishment, pleasant rooms,spotless, and a very scenic location near the National Park and Grotto.

Room Tip: The Herons Hollow was spacious air conditioned and had lots of storage, access was near the little p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miller Lake
17.3 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miller's Family Camp
Miller's Family Camp
#3 of 3 in Miller Lake
15 reviews
16.2 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
16.7 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer House Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer House Park

Property: Summer House Park
Address: 197 Miller Lake Shore Rd, Miller Lake, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Miller Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Miller Lake
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer House Park is a family oriented camping, cottage and guest house resort on the shores of Miller Lake, Bruce Peninsula. Close to the Bruce Peninsula National Park, the Bruce Trail, Tobermory and many natural attractions on the Bruce Peninsula. Daily children's activities and fun family events all summer long. Enjoy a relaxing stay in a wilderness setting with fabulous amenities to make your camping or cottage experience a fun and relaxing one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Summer House Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Park Ontario/Miller Lake, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing