We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific A " must return place"”

Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Portavadie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning restaurant and bar overlooking the marina, featuring the very best of Argyll`s larder. The Lodge kitchen and bar offers a communal style dining facility, featuring traditional fayre and great value.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific A " must return place"”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Myself & family stayed in one of the cottages ( as I had my dog with me ) Very comfortable and cosy. The view was great. Just a short walk to the restaurant, thought the lighting could be better, it was ok once you reached the main area. The restaurant was lovely , we were very well looked after, and the food was great, reasonably priced we felt. Will return

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ionaharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    160
    69
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking customer service”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We visited the Marina on Sun 13th Feb to finish off a lovely Valentine's weekend organised by my husband. He was keen to head back to the Marina to see how it's developed in recent and to catch up with people he knows who work there. We arrive around 1.35pm, sat in one of the comfy couch areas as we were only in for a light snack and a coffee after a long drive...you don't simply pop into Portavadie if you're passing!!! My husband collected menus and the waitress arrived to tell us about some items no longer on the menu. About 2 mins later, she came back and said her supervisor had told her that because we hadn't booked ahead and they had a function on upstairs, we would not be served until 2.30pm - 45 minutes. Upon questioning this revelation, the waitress simply repeated 'you didn't book'. We travelled a long way to come this place, did not feel the need to book ahead if all you want is a light snack. I'm afraid if the restaurant cannot organise appropriate cover in it's kitchen to accommodate not only organised functions but those of us who simply want soup and a sandwich after a long drive...then that's their problem...turning customers away by telling them they'll have to wait 45 mins before they can even order food is disgraceful. This is not the first time we've had an issue with service in this venue but I assure you it will be the last...we will not return to Portavadie Marina and I will not be recommending it to anyone

  • Visited February 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leebee247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmarina, General Manager at Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear Guest,

May I apologize that your journey was not rewarded following your recent visit. On the day in question we did have a large party and increasingly we are trying to ensure guests who are travelling a distance, which are indeed most of our guests as you rightly point out do book a table in advance to allow us to deliver the service standard to all of our guests. We had identified prior to this day that we would have a service touch point and again as you rightly point out had prepared a soup and sandwich combination. This however does not appear to have been communicated to you at the time by a service team member, which ob reflection clearly demonstrates an internal communication issue which I can assure you we are reviewing.

I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our service delivery which I can assure you continues to be the highest of our priorities. Thank you again for taking the time to feedback your experience.

best regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expected more, but got what we paid for”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

we visited on the back of recommendations. Its Jan, and I am sure it is different during the summer months looking at previous reviews.
We were greeted by a very nice chap - one of 3 on duty to service 10 tables... he seemed to be the only one working! Upstairs was not being used, so we waited on very comfy sofas for a table. One slight thing is i would face the sofas to the marina, not facing the bar so there is a view rather than looking at the bar in such a modern place.
The waiting staff are dressed like michelin restaurant waiters, smart trousers and shoes, crisp white shirts, bespoke aprons, shiny shoes. The Venue is crisp, modern, trying to be hip. The drive to it is scenic until the last few mins when its a little "ex MOD" but its all new, and a great development for the area. The building is lovely.
The menu and atmosphere or lack of, doesn't reflect this. Soup as starter thats the one option, 4 sandwich options, 6 mains, all offered at small or large portions hence can be used as starters. So given a limited main menu, (fish n chips, burger, pie, veg curry, black pudding and scallops or mussels) we were expecting exceptionally prepared food. Prices were cheap - 8.50 for fish and chips - average for the area plus given the drive to get to it and its location.
Our waiter was the one working of the 3, he greeted us, came and got us to seat us, took our order, and drinks - we were not offered one while we waited - the drinks were bought by a waiter who seemed to scared to place the drinks so we took them from his tray - about 20 mins after we ordered them.
When the food came, it was clearly pre prepared frozen food, not fresh, and no care - my husbands fish was broken in half, yet sent out. They don't state anything about fresh at present so no worries, however we would expect it to look that way at a diner, not a harbour destination restaurant. It may only be fish and chips, but with limited menu, you would expect it to be at least whole, even if frozen!
You get what you pay for, the menu choice and price reflect it, so was not a surprise. The portion size was adequate, and the fact the chef - despite being the one cooking not eating the food, decided to salt EVERYTHING, and neither of us eat salt on food, simply accept the seasoning within a dish - perhaps he should let customers decide whether they want salt or not... particularly on chips, fish, burgers etc. as they are the ones eating it.
The menu was limited in our opinion, but this clearly changes in the summer, and as we drove for almost an hour to get there, ( most people would have to, unless you sailed in) it didn't for us live up to expectations. May sound a little harsh, but driving an hour which anyone would have to do to get there, you expect something a little special or unique. As i said, it seems summer is the time to go - however consistency is the key - regulars and winter trade should count as much.
We judge on whether we would return / recommend a place or take friends there. The answer is, at present, no - maybe its different in summer - but if so, then why should i patronise it in winter....
The guy who served us was trying, the location is a little remote, but it is a harbour, however we were slightly disappointed with the food and the service - even though our waiter did try, and they were fairly busy on their 10 tables between 3.
Overall, its a nice building, remote location trying to build, it needs to decide what it is, and serve accordingly. Be it food / service / uniforms whatever.
We went, we saw, we ate - and we won't again, we can get the same level of food from the local diner, and thats 10 mins drive, they just dont have the uniform.
We think it has the potential to be amazing, location, destination food, etc, but needs alot of input and focus in order to do that.
Not bad, but not good - somewhere in the middle, which is how it felt to us, alot of energy but a little disjointed and no direction.
As "locals" we will go back in summer, and let you know!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Florrie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmarina, General Manager at Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Guest,

May I apologise that your hour journey was not rewarded in the way we would wish and thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. I was particularly concerned to read that you thought our food was frozen in light of, as you rightly point out our proximity to fabulous seafood which arrives from Tarbert on the ferry daily. I can only apologise that on this occasion the food quality did not match your expectation. I have passed on your concerns in regard to seasoning to our Head Chef, who will be conducting an investigation into seasoning levels of our dishes.

As you rightly point out we are undergoing a vast amount of development which we are very excited and thrilled to be bringing to Argyll, however this in no way should detract from the guest experience whatever the time of year. In regard to the road leading directly into Portavadie this is owned by a private individual and maintained by Argyll and Bute Council. Following the severe icy conditions prior to Christmas the road condition has been reported and I, like you hope this will be attended to in a speedy fashion.

I was delighted to read you will be returning in the summer months, when the Lodge will be open providing further accommodation and an additional restaurant and bar. I can assure you we are striving to offer a year round service for guests and visitors alike and that your comments and experiences will provide us with an opportunity to analyse our service delivery and reflect in our training and development needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Portavadie Marina in the near future.

best wishes

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tighnabruaich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent..”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

i am a local to this marina so have been many times & never dissapointed lovely staff & service..
worth a visit..

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LornaAmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The drive from St Andrews to Portavadie Marina was highlighted by the stunning views of snow capped mountains and misty lochs, the 3 1/2 hours flew by and we broke it up by stopping for lunch at the famous Loch Fyne Oyster Bar. Finishing the final leg of the journey down the single track to the Marina watch out for the sheep who graze freely along the way.
We stayed in one of the luxurious apartments, which were modern, minimalistic yet comfortable and sparkling clean. The sauna in the bathroom and tv above the tub were added surprises, but my favourite feature was the floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the harbour where we watched the sailboats, yachts and fishing boats as well as beautiful sunrises and sunsets.
The restaurant was a 2 minute stroll along the boardwalk and we chose to have cocktails by the fire each night. If we had stayed more than 2 nights, than we would have taken advantage of the takeaway menu and/or brought in food and cooked in the pristine kitchen in our apartment. The food was of the highest standard with really appealing menu options. We had the Loch Fyne oysters and had to order a second portion they were so good(even better than than the ones we had at the Oyster Bar!). Guillaume made such excellent wine suggestions that we had to note them down and Simona provided such warm and friendly service we felt we had made a new friend!
The ferry to Tarbet is on property, so we took it over for an enjoyable wander one afternoon. We will definitely be back in the spring and look forward to taking advantage of the great hiking in the area as well as an afternoon on one of the fishing boats and of course more relaxation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
Tighnabruaich, Argyll and Bute
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Portavadie Marina Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing