We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend”
Review of Portavadie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portavadie
Ranked #1 of 1 Portavadie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently spent a weekend here after reading the excellent reviews online. It is split into 2 buildings, one which is the Lodge and has the rooms, studios and Lodge Restaurant, then further round you come to the actual Marina with the Marina Restaurant and the luxury apartments. There is also a nice shop and spa here.

Location:
The location of Portavadie is a bit remote. If driving here there are some single track roads to navigate your way through and once there, you really need to do a bit of driving to get anywhere
unless content to stay at the Marina.

Accommodation:
We stayed in one of the studios and were extremely impressed with our room. It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had everything you could need. The small kitchen area had everything you would need for self catering during your stay. There were patio doors from the sitting area which led out to a small seating area overlooking the water and the ferry port, lovely to sit and watch the sunset. Only thing I would say is the room was VERY hot, we could not get it cooled at all so it was a bit uncomfortable during the night.

Things to do:
The Marina is also the ferry port to Tarbert, these depart once an hour and only take 25 mins so this can be a nice way to spend a day. You can also hire bikes from the Lodge at £10 a day, although we found some of these were not very well maintained.

Food:
Breakfast is served in the lodge and was included in our room price. This is a continental breakfast with cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, breads etc. and was very nice.

As other reviewers mention, the Wi-Fi was terrible which was disappointing as we got very poor mobile reception pretty much everywhere, so working Wi-Fi would have been great.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala_Cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Koala_Cola,

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us in the studio apartments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    129
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
126
293
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Got an Itson deal to stay here for 2 nights with a dinner with B and B for under £100.

Hotel is pristine, we had room 11, end of the block with a great balcony and views over the marina and surrounding countryside. Room was spotless and comfortable.

Food in The Lodge Bar was good, if in my opinion slightly expensive (£8 for a soup and sandwich). Service was great with the staff being friendly and attentive.

Treated my partner to a spa treatment which she reports was excellent, would recommend this.

My only critisism of the stay was that the iron we requested to our room was filthy and damaged 2 tops we tried to iron, a blot on what was otherwise a enjoyable stay (photo attached).

Room Tip: Room 11, great room with full balcony overlooking the marina and views across the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark170974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mark,

Many thanks for your review of your stay here. I am please you enjoyed your stay and thanks for pointing out the issue with the iron which has been changed and apology sent via our guest services team.

We hope to able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A nice place but they seriously need to sort the wifi out. Saying 'there are too many people using it at the moment' just isn't going to cut it with the calibre of people they're presumably trying to attract. Another member of staff told me they were were having problems with it, not that it was overloaded. I couldn't get a phone signal either (which I expected as it's in the middle of nowhere) so was effectively incommunicado the whole weekend. I needed to do some work so it was doubly frustrating.

I was booked into a standard room in the Lodge but asked to be moved because it had effectively been taken over by god knows how many families and their rowdy children, who were still running riot in the corridors at 1.30am. The receptionist said he was aware of the problem but they were still out in force at 9.30pm on the second night so presumably no one had said anything to them.

My standard room in the Lodge was fine, if a bit basic. There was a clump of hair (not mine) on the carpet when I checked in and the fitted sheet on the bed hadn't been fitted properly and was just hanging loose. The cleaner also left dirty glasses on the bedside cabinet.

I'd stay here again - it's in a lovely setting with its own marina and the buildings themselves are clean and modern - but only if they get the wifi up and running properly and ask noisy guests to have a little consideration.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Swissruby,

Thank you for taking the time following your stay with us last weekend. I am truly sorry that you were disturbed by over zealous children during your stay and that despite our requests to parents this would appear not to have made any difference. As you rightly point out our location is indeed an asset in terms of beauty, however infrastructure in terms of broadband speed is limited and bandwidth can easily be used up with the number of connected devises people now carry. We are an active member of community pressure group on local broadband and do pursue improvement to infrastructure wherever possible and your feedback helps us in our mission to provide a better service.

I hope to welcome back to Portavadie again soon.

Kind regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having stayed here a couple of times previously in the lodge and in a studio apartment and really loved it, I persuaded a couple of friends to do our 'Day Skipper' certificates with Fynesail who are based in the marina. What an amazing week we had, the first two nights we stayed in the marina at Portavadie and the facilities for a yacht and crew here are just amazing. Showers, a drying room, a bar, all the facilities are the best we have ever sailed out of!
The instruction we received from Steve at Fynesail was top notch and we managed to pass our Day Skipper course. In fact, we are intending to come back for more sailing with Steve aboard the 'Wild Goose' in the future. I can't recommend him highly enough - even if you are looking for a half day sailing round the bay or over to Tarbert look him up.
Anyway, Portavadie is a lovely happy place for so many reasons, and I can't wait to come back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Flyermonkey,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I was particularly pleased you were able to take advantage of the services of Fynesail based here at Portavadie and I know Steve will be best pleased with such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch and what a surprise. The whole complex was lovely. The staff were amazing, so helpful and pleasant. One server in particular was very informative about the area and could not do enough to assist us . The lunch itself was outstanding, well presented and value for money.
We called into the main office and the staff there were brilliant, as a result we will be staying there for two nights next month.
It is an ideal location with connections to the kintyre peninsula . Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Cab23,

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent lunch with us. I know the team will be thrilled with such positive feedback and of course we look forward to welcoming you back to Portavadie again soon.

Best regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a luxury apartment which was stunning and had its own sauna. The balcony looked over the marina which was busy well maintained.
We had drinks in both the main bar and at The lodge and prices were fair. Food in the marina restaurant was beautiful and reasonably priced for the quality.
All the staff were very nice and helpful but Chris stood out from the rest. He was so helpful when we asked about a couple of issues and advises us on locations to visit etc. Very knowledgable. It's mainly due to him that before we left we have booked to return in August.
It is a complete chill out place .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackall284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jackall284,

My sincere thanks for posting such a great review of your stay here. I know Chris will be best pleased at having being of assistance to ensure your visit was memorable and of course delighted you have chosen to book again even before departing.

We look forward to seeing you again in August.

Best Regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in the Lodge. Fantastic family room with balcony overlooking the hills though others look out to the loch. Biggest double bed every and two comfortable looking bunk beds. Separate wc and bath with shower. Wifi terrible. You can eat in the Lodge kitchen or go down to the marina restaurant a few minutes walk away. Excellent continental breakfast and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have balconies but without beautiful weather, which we had, would you use it? Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainJurgensen, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bob M,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the room and facilities to your liking. The team are always chuffed to receive such high praise and of course this will be passed on.

Hope you may find time to visit us again soon.

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portavadie
4.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
21.4 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portavadie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portavadie

Property: Portavadie
Address: Portavadie Loch Fyne | Argyll, Portavadie PA21 2DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Portavadie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portavadie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Portavadie 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 hour drive from Glasgow, this striking destination with a marina at its heart offers a range of accommodation with one common theme quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portavadie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portavadie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing