We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a wide view of the Pacific and the marine volcano, White Island, from your deck Large grounds with ancient native trees.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
a wide view of the Pacific and the marine volcano, White Island, from your deck
Large grounds with ancient native trees.
A wide deck with furniture to position as you wish
A great kitchen with most modern amenities and a pantry of basic items
A space to use your laptop or eat breakfast indoors
A good climb to the top.  Don't forget to take your camera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Te Kaha, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
634Richar...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Aruhe during a three week trip to NZ, and it was our favourite of all the places we visited. A beautiful, modern, detached apartment, with all facilities, a great view, and just a 10 minute walk to a lovely beach. Kim, the owner, couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming. Everything we needed for breakfast was provided, and very generously. If you stay here, give yourself time to enjoy the place itself; it is peaceful and lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for a terrific review Richard. I also really appreciate your having taken the time to post it. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am privileged to live in a lovely part of the world and am very happy to share it with others. Perhaps you'll return for a longer stay next time?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuncanH75...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is the perfect place to stay in Whanarua Bay. The house is set in beautiful natural bush, the amenities match any 5 star hotel I have stayed in, and Kim's hospitality is second to none. We had a great 3 night stay-the cottage contains a generous supply of food and every appliance needed for home cooking, the bed is extremely comfortable, and the setting means it was ideal for us to go and relax. It's a short walk to the bay, there are a number of other walks Kim recommended, and along with jet boating and some sight seeing meant that aside from relaxing there was plenty to do. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Hi there Duncan. Thank you so much for the excellent review and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aruhe. You were a great guest; friendly, clean and very appreciative. I enjoyed having you stay and you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca24k
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Breathtaking views and top notch comfort”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Absolutely loved staying at Aruhe. It was very clean, had everything we neeeded and the views were breathtaking. Kim was an amazing host. My partner and I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Hi Bianca . I apologise for my delayed response to your post. Thank you for taking the time to write it. I look forward to seeing you back again and I have a great jigsaw ready for you.........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollieandd...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I so loved my visit to Aruhe, it is such a beautiful pad. Loved the NZ artworks and the furnishings are tasteful and comfortable. The location is stunning, relaxing and quiet. Kim is a great host. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to chill out and get away from crowds. My little dog was a welcome visitor too. Thanks Kim, I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
Thank you Debs. I so enjoyed your visit to Aruhe and I look forward to seeing you and Ollie again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M
1 review
“Retreat in Paradise”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved the tranquility of Aruhe, surrounded in bush, bird song and a fantastic view from the balcony. The studio is tastefully decorated, airy, bed is comfortable, well stocked kitchen with plenty of crockery, utensils etc. Big doors open onto the balcony. Fantastic property. Good walk down to the rocky/stoney beach which is one of the most beautiful in the area. Would be good to have a kayak to explore the rock formations. Kim is a gracious host. Coffee at the Macadamia Nut plantation next door is an added treat. A wonderful place to stay and explore the beautiful East Cape of NZ. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the surroundings
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your gracious review Julia and Jeff. I so enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you happy travels in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayDev...
Devonport, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I stayed at this B&B for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed Kim's hospitality. The cottage is comfortable and stylish with everything you need to make yourself at home. Coffee maker (a must for me) Gas Hobbs, Convection microwave, herbs and spices, flour, sugar etc etc, so it was easy to cook a meal or make a salad for dinner. It has been the perfect place for me to rest and rejuvenate. A walk down to the Bay was great exercise. (a slightly challenging walk back up the hill for me.) and a delight to see the lovely holiday homes waiting for their occupants to enjoy the swimming and fishing during the summer months. On my last night Kim cook a very delicious chicken meal for me with a glass of Chardonnay. It capped off the day and my stay beautifully.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you Mrs O'Dea for your generous review of Aruhe. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with me. I enjoyed meeting you and wish you much happy traveling in your future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joerg F
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thanks so much for the review Joerg. I really appreciate your doing this. Reviews are the things that potential guests really take notice of. I hope you arrived home safely and that warmer weather is on the way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing