We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tarawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Utirerei Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambo Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Utirerei Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ambo Village B&B and Inns
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Tarawa”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

During my second time in Kiribati, with friends, we stayed in this great hotel.
After a big ham radio expedition to Banaba Island, we returned to Tarawa And this place was amazing!
Thanks all And Jonh And Retaati.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Hi Ricardo

Thank you for your review of Utirerei Motel - this is greatly appreciated as it is helpful for management and future guests. Thank you for choosing to stay at Utirerei and we hope that if you are ever in Kiribati again, please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was my first stay at Kiribati so I did not know what to expect. Landing at the airport and travelling to Utirerei made me a little nervous about staying there for a few days. But I found that given the conditions, staying at the Utirerei Model was excellent.

The rooms are basic, but they were quite comfortable. The room I had, which was overlooking the front car-park, was air-conditioned and consisted of a double bed, a small desk, a bench with a separate sink, and a bathroom with a shower. Everything was clean and serviceable. The bench consisted of an bar-fridge and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The water is not suitable for drinking but bottled water is included in the price of the room, and there is a shop at the front which sells bottled water as well, along with a few basic foodstuff. Internet is available and quite fast given how remote Kiribati is. The one negative I can give about the rooms is that it could get quite noisy during the evenings and early mornings, so maybe pack a pair of earplugs.

The outdoor restaurant was reasonably nice, although there was a mild odour from the lagoon which was a little unpleasant. The menu is quite basic and since they rely on monthly shipments of supplies, you may not always get what is advertised. But what you do get is usually excellent. It was also possible to get a hired car to travel around the island.

All in all, this was a decent place to stay for a first time visitor to Kiribati. You can be sure that staying here you will be safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Dear Imika

Thank you for taking the time to make a contribution about your opinions of Utirerei Motel. We are happy that you are basically satisfied with the service and the facilities provided during the time you stayed here. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip if you are in Tarawa and to see the developments since you last stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most places in Tarawa to stay are below average in general travellers standards and this one stands out as the best of the bunch, the rooms are clean the food is average though. It can get boring at times so bring lots of movies with you on the laptop. Wifi is available and cheap so this is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Dear Sam

We appreciate your feedback regarding Utirerei as this is very helpful for us. We quite agree that bringing lots of movies is useful, but we also have tv in all the rooms and in the restaurant for those who want to watch the news, etc. There are also places here in Betio, Ambo and Bikenibeu that have been set up recently for evening entertainment and our friendly staff can accompany you to these places.

Or if you are interested in snorkelling and swimming or other activities, this can be arranged by the Front Desk staff too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I've been travelling to Kiribati since 2007 and have stayed in a few different place. Utirerei is the best place I have stayed in so far. Each time I go there they have made improvements and continue to seek feedback on how they can continue to raise their standards. The room are clean and good standard and are now cleaned on Sundays. The food has improved with a larger menu and new chef. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The management are fortunate they have a good team that add to the experience. Well done Utirerei.. Warwick.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Dear Warwick

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your opinions of Utirerei and its staff - thank you for your contribution!

We hope that you will continue to stay with Utirerei on future visits to Tarawa and hope that the developments undertaken will continue to raise our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was my second visit to Utirerei this year! There is a marked improvement in the overall look and "vibe" of the place. It seemed cleaner in the grounds than before and the garden has grown up a lot which gives it a more pleasant feel. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and usually attentive.
It is not cheap to stay in most Pacific islands, a night at Utirerei, costs more than a 4 star hotel in Beijing (Or any other large Chinese city) but it is comparable with costs for other Pacific Island accommodation.
The internet is mostly OK, slow though and sometimes can be painfully and frustratingly slow. But it is relatively cheap compared to some and I was always able to get all my work done every day, so that is a bonus.
Restaurant needs more improvement, meals are quite bland and very much the same every day. Most days not all menu items were actually available. Clean table cloths every day would be nice too. Meals are reasonably priced as are drinks and it can be quite a convivial place when friends drop by.
Rooms are acceptable but furnishings etc vary from room to room. My room this trip had a double bed and double bunk, the room next door no double bunk but a nice sink and food area which was absent in my room. (To fill the kettle in my room I had to fill a cup and pour it into the kettle as the bathroom basin is too small to allow the kettle to fit) But these are just minor inconveniences.
They are trying to improve and as there is a big new hotel being built at Bairiki (Wishing Star, Chinese owned) I think this new place may force the locals to lift their game even more.

Room Tip: One of the outside downstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you Mark for your contributions - these are greatly appreciated as they assist management in seeing areas that they need to improve. Since you wrote this review, major changes have been implemented and hopefully you will be able to see these changes the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a gem of a hotel on Kiribati, not really the motel as the name implies. The service, food and rooms are excellent & of good value.

Make sure you explore Northern Tarawa with the excellent guides Meere & Reetati. Their day trip was incredible

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Dear Sethair

Thank you for your review! We appreciate this and hope that other guests will also choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Utirerei is a good choice in Tarawa - so the rating should be taken relative to Tarawa and not relative to Asia, for example.

The rooms are comfortable but ask for a room along the corridor (rooms 9-12 or 17 - 19) as the ones above the guest kitchen overlooking the restaurant can be quite noisy. The rooms along the corridor outside the reception are the worst.

The food was decent and the staff friendly. The internet was quite easy to use and relatively inexpensive. Breakfast options are limited in terms of fruit so bring some dried fruit and/or cereal with you and you can buy some milk at the store.

Given the overall quality, I would say that rooms should be valued at around AUD55-60, rather than at AUD88. You have to note that rooms are not cleaned on Sundays (although full room rate is charged).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinnia B, General Manager at Utirerei Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Dear bluemercury

Thank you for your review. Since your review in 2013, the continental breakfast has included fruit (in season), cereals, porridge, sliced bread, and the usual condiments are provided (milk, juice, coffee and tea, butter, jam, peanut butter, etc).

Rooms are cleaned from Monday to Sunday inclusive. Hopefully on your next visit, you will be satisfied with the services provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambo Village
0.0 mi away
Tarawa Boutique Hotel
Tarawa Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarawa Atoll
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Lodge
Lagoon Breeze Lodge
#4 of 4 in Tarawa Atoll
21 reviews
7.6 mi away
The George Hotel Kiribati
The George Hotel Kiribati
#1 of 7 in Tarawa Atoll
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fema Lodge
Fema Lodge
#7 of 7 in Tarawa Atoll
28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Utirerei Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utirerei Motel

Property: Utirerei Motel
Address: Ambo Village TARAWA, Republic of Kiribati
Region: Republic of Kiribati > Gilbert Islands > Tarawa Atoll > Ambo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ambo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an accommodation provider (motel with 28 rooms) and are located in Ambo Village. We have offer rooms at varying price points as follows: 8 standard rooms 12 de luxe rooms 2 executive suuites 2 self contained apartments (ideal for long stays), and 4 overwater de luxe rooms. We also operate a restaurant and bar, and convenience store, and also offer catering for special functions, banquet and meeting facilities on the premises too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing