We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have been here earlier...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Raftevold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
First Hotel Raftevold
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornindal
Certificate of Excellence
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Should have been here earlier...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

My stay at the Best Western Raftevold Hotel in Hornindal was short but I really was breath taken by the view from my bedroom, watching the sunset on the deepest European lake is amazing. I really enjoyed the buffets both for breakfast and for dinner, the best meals I have had in Scandinavia. A special thank you to the french manager, an important feature of the hotel. I particularly appreciate time he took to explain to me a nice itinerary to the valley of Norangsdal, I wouldn't have found it in any guides.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barchettarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    52
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
54
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chalford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice now, in June 2010 and June 2011, both times on tours around Norway. The buffet dinner is good, as is breakfast, and the rooms are comfortable and clean, but what sets this hotel apart is the location and the service. Conveniently located in the town, across the road from the shops and the petrol station, and with a decent car park on one side - but go to the back of the hotel and you are in a quiet and peaceful garden which looks out on to the deepest lake in Europe, surrounded by mountains. A very pleasant place to while away an evening.
All the rooms on the back of the hotel have balconies which look out over the lake too. Combine this with the friendly and helpful staff and it's the ideal choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - the view's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verysideways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

Just to tell whoever it might concern that the previous review has got nothing to do with this hotel, Raftevolds Hotel is situated in the village of Hornindal on the lakeside of the Hornindal lake, northern Europe's deepest lake. (Sogndal is a couple of hours away). Hornindal is a beutiful place, situated between several valleys and mountains and is an excellent starting point for a lot of excursions to experience the beautiful nature of western Norway, amongst them the Unesco listed Geiranger fjord, Briksdal glacier, Trollstigen, Sognefjord, Selje etc.
Raftevolds Hotel is family owned and offers great service and information on all you need to know about the area. Beautiful gardens and antiques on display. Ask for a room with lake views if available.
Also mark: some of the photos on this site are from the monastery at Selje (the coastal ones).

  • Liked — relaxed
  • Disliked — non norwegian workers
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank starvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornindal
7.7 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
16.7 mi away
Gloppen Hotell
Gloppen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sandane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.7 mi away
Scandic Partner Nordfjord Hotell & Spa
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sagafjord Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Raftevold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Raftevold

Property: First Hotel Raftevold
Address: Hornindal 6763, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Hornindal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornindal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Raftevold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Raftevold has been providing a personalized and friendly service to international guests for more than 145 years. It is situated at the eastern end of the Hornindal Lake, the deepest lake in Europe (514 m) and on the renowned tourist route between the Briksdal glacier and the Geiranger fjord. In 1867 Ola M. Raftevold bought an old boathouse and converted it into a coach inn. First Hotel Raftevold is a modern tourism hotel run according to a long tradition of hospitality and homely atmosphere. 44 well equipped bedrooms, spacious public rooms, a restaurant, a café, a lounge & bar and several meeting rooms. First Hotel Raftevold is also an excellent central point for excursions by car or bus to famous tourist attractions in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Raftevold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing