We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Raftevold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Raftevold
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornindal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

clean and beautifully decorated rooms, request for a balcony room which opens to the lake. friendly staff. no tea arrangement in the room but we requested for tea at the reception any they happily arranged it for us free of cost. breakfast was sufficient, a super market is right across the hotel. A lot of parking spaces right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: balcony room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trynwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    52
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
54
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice small hotel with delightful and stylish rooms with overview of the lake Hornindalsvatnet. excellent staff and delicious breakfast.
Sited at Grodås, at the north side of Hornindalsvatnet, this nice hotel is recommendable. Nice prices too!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The surroundings of this hotel are overwhelmingly beautiful, situated as it is on the shore of the deep Hornindal lake. We stopped overnight on our way to the North West coast of Norway, and as a nice surprise, we found that our room had a balcony facing the lake - needless to say we sat there half the night enjoying the summernight. The room itself was clean - minus for a clogged bathroom washbasin! The breakfast was adequate.
All in all, we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CygnusBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived extremely late that evening, but the staff still made us sandwiches and made us feel home and welcome. The rooms were really nice and the view magnificent!
Really for the late review, but better late than never, right?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermineuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I found this hotel by accident, just looking for a place in the region away from the zoo-like atmosphere of Geiranger. What a treasure. My bedroom window literally opened directly out onto the beautiful fjord-like deep water lake of Hornindalsvatn, as beautiful a view to wake up to as there is in the world! It was the off season and the hotel was being used for a poetry reading and accordion playing gathering of local elderly Norwegians - very charming. The hotel restaurant was "closed" but the charming and helpful staff whipped up a dinner for me on a moment's notice. And the price was very low, even by Norwegian standards.

From this charming and well situated hotel, you can explore the entire region, including the amazing Briksdalbreen Glacier, the little known (but extremely worthwhile) Route 655 which will take you to villages right out of the film Local Hero, the unreal section of Route 60 from Stranda, and much more. The perfect base.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dalailamaesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Key points:
Awesome staff. Amazing location. Good quality food for breakfast and plentiful selections. Good buffet dinner. Clean room and hotel. Good Wi-fi. Spacious room, sporting a lovely armchair and footrest, and a balcony. Nice comfortable wide bed.

Initially I was planning to stay at the Best Western Raftevold Hotel for just one night, but after my arrival there, I decided to extend my stay for an additional day. Arriving late in the afternoon, tired after travelling for many hours on my bike, I was greeted by the most breathtaking view of lake Hornindalsvatnet (Europe’s deepest lake, 514 meters deep). The lake’s eastern shore starts right from the patio of the hotel… Sitting just inches from the lake, absorbing the beauty of it along with the surrounding mountains was the most amazing view from any hotel I’ve been!

The second feature that makes this hotel stand out is its staff. Always willing and helpful they made my stay comfortable and relaxed. Special credit goes to the front desk manager, Mr. Stephane Bazin, who guided me to take one beautiful scenic route with my motorcycle, while exploring around the area, which I would never had found by myself!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkMan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

the room was just painted, the odeur horrible, the bathroom and shower very poor' the food wasn;t good at all, the only good thing about this hotel, was on the back one can sit and watch the scenery which was incredible

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otvaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornindal
16.7 mi away
Gloppen Hotell
Gloppen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sandane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sagafjord Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa Visnes
Villa Visnes
#4 of 4 in Stryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Raftevold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Raftevold

Property: First Hotel Raftevold
Address: Hornindal 6763, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Hornindal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hornindal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Raftevold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Raftevold has been providing a personalized and friendly service to international guests for more than 145 years. It is situated at the eastern end of the Hornindal Lake, the deepest lake in Europe (514 m) and on the renowned tourist route between the Briksdal glacier and the Geiranger fjord. In 1867 Ola M. Raftevold bought an old boathouse and converted it into a coach inn. First Hotel Raftevold is a modern tourism hotel run according to a long tradition of hospitality and homely atmosphere. 44 well equipped bedrooms, spacious public rooms, a restaurant, a café, a lounge & bar and several meeting rooms. First Hotel Raftevold is also an excellent central point for excursions by car or bus to famous tourist attractions in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Raftevold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sogn Og Fjordane
Sogn Og Fjordane Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing