We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head
Certificate of Excellence
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were attending a private function at this pub. The choice of both hot and cold food was very good and as soon as a tray was near to empty it was quickly replenished. The sandwiches were all beautifully made and the pork pies were the best I have eaten. There were also tempura prawns which were fresh and delicious. We would certainly make a point to visit again if were we in the area. The pub was very busy but there were also a few quite spots were people were able to have a quiet drink. It seems like the owners are thoughtful and cater for all customers!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    29
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
83
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We found this pub after visiting Holt and decided to give it a try based solely on its attractive look.

I'm glad we did. What a fantastic lunch we had. I had seafood platter to start followed by the special lambs liver, both we're delicious. My wife had terrine to start and then asked for the crab cakes starter as a main. The waiter / chef were more than happy to help and created a larger main course dish with salad for her. A good choice of ales on offer. The staff were excellent and the decor of the pub brilliant. Would recommend this place to many people and will definitely venture back if passing again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benlucas444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed for four days at this lovely place to use as a base for exploring North Norfolk . The food, service and facilities are excellent and I would certainly recommend it as a place to stay. Most of the staff and Danny the manager are very helpful and excellent at the job they do and certainly we couldn't have asked for any better response to the problem we did encounter. I would have given it 5 stars had we not had the unfortunate experience on our third day to return to our room to find it had not been cleaned properly. I want to say that the staff member had just forgotten us but when used wet towels which had been put into the shower bottom to be changed had been folded neatly and put back out on the bed ( as clean ones had been done on previous days) I wonder! Other experiences with the same staff member during our stay left us bemused! When we informed Danny our room was completely redone and we were recompensed for that days stay. So thank you Danny you couldn't have done any more to put it right.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistdhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stay in hotels weekly and it's very rare to find somewhere without fault. This place is without fault.

From the initial welcome, to the room, to the service, to the food, to the decor, to the attention to detail - it's what you'd expect to find in the very finest 5* London hotels.

I could very easily list every aspect of what is good but it'd take too long. Summarily, my wife & I will one day own a pub/restaurant with rooms and I hope it's as good as this place.

A little word of warning - the mobile signals on EE and Vodaphone are very weak due to the rural location. Great though if you want peace & quiet!

Room Tip: There are 4 - any of them will do - just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junctiontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having lived in Norfolk for many years and visiting Holt many times as our son was at school here we always tended to stay at Byfords or one of the Byfords group but frequently ate at The Kings Head. Purely by chance I booked a Sat night here as Byfords have that rule of 2 nights at the weekend which The Kings Head don't and also dogs are allowed which makes it great for us. We stayed here in a small room but it was so lovely we had a lovely greeting the lady could not have been more helpful. We slept extremely well in the lovely bedroom and the bathroom was also lovely and it was nearly half the price! Breakfast was also probably the best we've ever had. Will definitely stay again and now have an excuse just to go back! Would probably have a larger room next time this is not a criticism as for £90 b&B it's very good value but I'd be happy to pay the extra for bit more space. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had a small room with just a shower but booked this as were taking the dog which they allow in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley.gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted as soon as we walked in and made welcome.We had a dog with us and he was greeted with no fuss,even a dog bowl was offered.
The menu was fantastic, with really great specials, which for once were special, I was spoilt for choice of original dishes,but the menu was not overpriced.
Our waitress and all the staff were helpful in the extreme,somebody has real pride in the success of this business.
The food did not disappoint, there were flavours in the Asian salad that accompanied my Tempura prawns I had never experienced before.
The only mar on the evening, was not from the hotel but a customer, who insisted on complaining about everything she was presented with, but surprisingly only after she had eaten it !,
The staff coped admirably with this situation,we as fellow guests all applauded loudly when the lady finally left, having bullied the waitress into giving her a concession on her bill.
Please then ignore the review she might subsequently list, as she was no doubt used to getting what she wanted.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wolfmantrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Would like to thank staff for an enjoyable stay on june 2nd . it was our 25th wedding anniversary and we had a delicious meal and a surprise selection of desserts and a drink from the staff. It made it extra special . We would highly recommond this hotal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letheringsett
3.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
19.0 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.3 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Holt Road, Letheringsett NR25 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Letheringsett
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Letheringsett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following an extensive renovation in 2007, The King's Head near Holt offers a homely mix of original features and modern-day comfort in its bar and restaurant. We pride ourselves on the quality of our ale, which always includes a selection of four Real Ales always on tap; Woodfordes Wherry, Adnams and two guest Ales are always available. The food served at The Kings Head is of the highest quality is prepared to order using only the freshest, natural ingredients all sourced locally from farmers, fishermen and traders. Our enormous garden has its own bar (which is open during the summer holidays) and is the perfect place for children with a wonderful willow maze and climbing tower to keep them entertained for hours. So whether it is a relaxing drink or an early morning coffee, The Kings Head at Letheringsett has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing