We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We booked to stay at The Crown on our journey to the West Country and were not disappointed with the Hotel. We got a very good rate on Booking.com and this included breakfast. We stayed in the annex with rooms around a lovely courtyard and views over the stream at the rear. The decor in the Hotel was very tasteful and rooms were a good size, ours with a full bathroom. We ate in the bar, which was a cosy room with log fire. The food was of excellent quality and the staff were efficient without being obtrusive. Breakfast was served in the bar and this again, was very good, not too enormous, but with good sausages and bacon. All in all, a very pleasant stay, with very good check-in and waiting staff, and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear SheffieldPip

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the log fire is lovely in the winter. We are so glad you liked the bedrooms and thought they were a good size.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed for one cold January night and wish we'd been able to stay for two, as there seemed to be plenty to do in the area. We had one of the 'executive' rooms as it was only £5 more expensive. The rooms were in a sort of motel-style building across a courtyard from the older hotel - that probably sounds less nice than it actually was! I'm not quite sure what the difference in room types was, but we had a nice, warm, spacious room with a comfortable bed and a view over the babbling brook, so no complaints there. The shower, however, was not as warm as we'd have liked.

Dinner was OK - certainly good value for what we paid; breakfast was very good with both kippers and smoked salmon options available as well as the usual full English.

There was a very welcoming and helpful young man on reception - he seemed to be there all hours of the day and night! Dining room staff were friendly too, but bar staff rather less so.

Our wintry stay was fine - I'm sure in summer when you can enjoy the outside areas too this is a really lovely spot, but probably twice the price! Ah well.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SeafoodQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear SeafoodQueen

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we try and make every guests stay special. Thank you about your nice comments about the food and our staff these have been passed on and much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the summer.

Kind Regards

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Really late booking at a good rate of £60, not worth £145 . We had an exec room overlooking the brook.The bed was HUGE, bathroom could have been a little bigger. Ate in the restaurant, I had monkfish and veg-really good. Hubby had the venison steak- a little over cooked for him. Staff were v good and friendly. Breakfast was ok but have had better. Sausages didn't seem like the Old Spot I have had in other hotels, scrambled egg not good, too many microwave pings!,.Great location, a little concerned that reception was closed after 9.30 although stated it was manned until 10.45, maybe need to remember that we are the customers. Charge of £2 for extra tea/coffee.seems a little steep. Overall a good stay but woul not rush back

Room Tip: Exec rooms overlook the brook and the ducks come quacking for their breakfast
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfgarnettsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear alfgarnettsmissus,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you liked the huge beds in our new exectuive rooms. We are sorry that you felt the bathroom was not big enough; we feel that it is a lovely size and overall the room is worth its full rate.
I am pleased you enjoyed enjoyed the monkfish, however, i am sorry that you feel the venison was overcooked; if you had spoken to someone we would have been able to sort this out for you as we want every guest to be 100% satisfied in every meal they have with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff.
With regards to Reception being closed, we are manned until 10.45pm, but due to unforseen circumstances sometimes reception has to close earlier; but our all our Bar staff are fully trained in dealing with any guest requests.
If these points had been mentioned to us during your stay or on check-out, we could have dealt with the situation and listened to your comments.
We hope that you understand where we are coming from and will return to us in the future.
Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Enjoyed the experience from booking in at the reception to the evening meal

the Monk fish in bacon with all the trimmings was excellent in fact all the food was cooked too a high standard

The room was clean and tidy and the heating worked well and the bath filled with steaming hot water

The staff have been trained to a high standard and they seem too enjoy interacting with the guests

Well done and thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooreroom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear Mooreroom25,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at the Crown for two nights with 6 other friends in October at the start of a long held ambition to walk the Thames path. The Crown is pretty well placed between the source and Lechlade, which was our final destination after two days of walking. The Crown was a warm and welcoming base, which was near prefect for our needs. A varied menu of well cooked, gastro pub style food was enough to ensure that we were more than happy to stay put for dinner on both evenings. Couple this with good, friendly service, very good beer and clean comfortable rooms and we could not really have asked for more. A hearty breakfast cooked to order and very reasonable prices topped off a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sijack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Sijack14

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit in October and hope you enjoyed your Thames Expedition.

We are so you glad your visit with us and we hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We decided to stay in the area an extra night after a trip away and found this hotel on booking.com. We arrived and were quickly checked in. We booked a table for our evening meal and went to our room. I'm sure we were put in the bridal suite by the looks of the pictures on the website!!!! Beautifully decorated, clean and the bed was amazing..........so amazing our afternoon out turned into an unexpected afternoon snooze!! Woke up in time for a shower and just made it down to dinner. The lady behind the bar was really lovely. She was chatty and informative about the menu. Plenty of meaty and vegetarian dishes and i was delighted when i saw Doombar on tap!! One Homemade Lasagne with Garlic Bread & Salad and one Aubergine Parmegiana with Salad and Chips both excellent. The best nights sleep in a long while followed by a brilliant breakfast the following morning..... (although breakfast did take a while to arrive and the staff member on duty struggled to understand us and seemed flustered dealing with our table of 2 and just one other table of 2) Food, service, drinks and the room were all very good. Sorry it has taken so long to write a review. We definitely plan to come back and visit again, but maybe with good weather to take advantage of the walks and wildlife!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nothingwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Nothingwithus

Thank you for the review and please don't worry it has taken a while we are so glad you have now written one.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back this year, we have since refurbished more Bedrooms, got selected Sky Channels in the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely Sat & Sunday night break. The hotel is ideally situated about 2 miles (5 min drive) from Cirencester in the village of Ampney Crucis. The river flowing behind and the view across the fields we lovely to wke up to especially on Sunday morning with the over night frost still on the grass. This was our first stay in the Cotswolds and we enjoyed visiting Cirencester and Stow in the Wold.
The Hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very good with a decent choice The rooms are very clean, although if you don't like a firm/hard mattress you might struggle.Plenty of room to park the car and a great base from which to explore this part of the Cotswolds. However I have two minor gripes.

The first was a lack of a price tariff in the bar so ordering drinks etc to be put on the bill could be a little bit of a lottery without knowing the cost first. The second minor complaint was the presentation of the evening meal. My wife and I decided to dine in on the Saturday night so went downstairs to the restaurant where we ordered the homemade baconburger and the venison. The burger although homemade and tasted lovely was just plonked on top of a bowl(deep plate ?) of unfortunatly the now ubiquitous frozen/oven ready chips,no garnish,side salad or coleslaw. This cheapened the meal IMO and at almost £12 could and should've been presented better. The venision was very good although we were offered no vegetables with it (though to be fair the menu offered veg as a side order-which we didn't notice at the time).

These small complaints aside,we would recommend the Crown of Crucis and would definitley stay again if in the area. It also looked a lovely venue for weddings etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a river view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Glenn D

We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend and thank you for uploading that lovely photo of Ampney Brook.

With regards to your small concerns, I have made a note of these and will look into this for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
574 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,583 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
314 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing