We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute find and well worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Last minute find and well worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

What a welcome lovely receptionist, very welcoming and very helpful, this continued to the staff in the restaurant, could not be more of assistance, only one gripe more than one person takes our order, which led to us being charged for extra bottle of wine, but our fault for not checking before signing off bill at that time, it is prompt service but 3 people all coming up and asking our room number and asking if we were ready to order, when we already had done so, became a bit overwhelming but obviously caused confusion on who was doing what. The food is excellent such a varied menu and the breakfast next day was lovely. Our room overlooked the Car Park, but it did not disturb us the gardens were a delight to sit in and enjoy the night air.

Room Tip: Nothing disturbed us being on the ground floor opposite the Car Park, it is not like a pub where eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryR547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear MaryR547

Thank you for your lovely review, we are currently looking into the Wine situation and will contact shortly with regards to this. I have passed on your lovely comments to all staff and I am glad you found us helpful and friendly throughout.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    146
    56
    27
    22
See reviews for
77
178
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

nice hotel, highly recommended, rooms over look lovely trout stream and cricket pitch, good food, had evening meal outside next to stream,, and good breakfast next morning,clean and friendly. a good base for travelling the cotwolds

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear kkle

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Crown of Crucis.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Crown of Crucis. This was a real find. The hotel is well located for exploring the Cotswolds and is only a 5 minute drive from Cirencester. The hotel is located next to the Ampney Brook. The rooms are well equipped quiet and excellent value for money. The food is well prepared and well priced and the service is first class - all staff give the impression that they are really happy to be there and that each guest is special to them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face Ampney Brook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Keith M

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your lovely comments on to the team.

We look forward to your returning in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a visit to the Cotswolds and really are glad we did. Our stay was very pleasant all made possible by very helpful and good natured staff, reasonable price, great restaurant and for us well situated. The grounds are relaxing and away from the buzz of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear TOD00,

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us!
We do pride ourselves on our friendly, efficient staff and extensive, seasonal menu and feel very lucky to be situated alongside the tranquil Ampney Brook.
We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Dear staff at the Crown of Crucis

I am writing to thank you very much for the hospitality and excellent service over our two day stay in Rooms 11 and 18. Everything was perfect – the setting, the rooms, the service, the food and the price.

I’d be very grateful also if you could convey my personal thanks to your Rumanian waitress – we didn’t get her name – she was friendly and welcoming, efficient and helpful and her smiling service made our dinner with you on the Friday might a really lovely experience.

All the very best and I’m sure I will stay with you again

Room Tip: Rooms facing the little river and the cricket field have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIgel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Nigel B

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your thanks to Andreea the waitress.

We do hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

An Inn/Hotel of deception!! A relatively remote location, however, on a main road, with fast traffic rushing past. The rooms are at the back so relatively quiet. Another deceptive Cotswold Inn, from the outside you would expect the rooms inside to be old and traditional. On the contrary they are more like that of a motel. Don't expect much from a room. However, the food and service makes up for it. Excellent food and service. Good wine. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear BettyB

Thank you for your review, with regards to the comment we advertise on all websites that all our rooms are in a Courtyard and would not class our bedrooms or hotel as a Motel, we have a lovely mixture of Standard and Deluxe Rooms offering a Cotswold feel and a more modern touch.

We are glad you enjoyed the service and the dishes in our Bar/ Restaurant and I have passed your comments on to the team.

We do hope you will return.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Thirteen of us went to Crown of Crucis on 31st May. We had a beautiful day and evening there. The meal was.excellent and the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful . It is a lovely building with lots of character .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear CorkJessica

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your get together and found the food excellent and the staff polite and helpful.

I have passed your lovely comments on to all the staff, who appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing