We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Crown of Crusis during July for 3 nights. The room could not be faulted, though we did have an unresolved issue with the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, slept really well, which is unusual for me in a hotel. I feel I must congratulate the staff, who could not have been friendlier or more willing to please. As we were travelling round and helping at the GRC centenary show, we ate in the hotel every night, too exhausted to try to find anywhere else, but need not have worried, the food was excellent, even the vegetarian enjoyed them!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear goldog

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the Golden Retriever Weekend, we really enjoyed having you all here. We do apologies with regards to the Bathroom situation as stated at the time we did all we could due to the issue and not being able to get a maintenance man to the site.

I have passed on your lovely comments to the all departments and we hope you will return in the future and discover more of the Cotswolds.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    150
    65
    31
    24
See reviews for
85
192
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked three rooms, we were part of a Wedding Party, and due to timing were unable to check in at the normal time. I rang through to advise and the keys were left out for us to collect. Nice rooms and a good breakfast, served my a lovely waitress, who was welcoming and took an interest. The hotel is situated in a lovely village, and it was a pleasure to take a walk after breakast to have a look around. I thorough recommend it and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Sharon W

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found all staff friendly and approachable. We agree we ideally situated and the village is a typical Cotswold Village.

We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while visiting the Cotswolds. The accommodation and the meals were first class. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we return to the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Mike1508

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and if you were ever back this way you would return. I have passed your lovely comments on to my team.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for one night at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and a hotel last night and really enjoyed the peacefulness and comfort of the beds! It might seem a strange comment to make but it's very rare that I sleep so well any first night in a hotel bed so congratulations! My grandson even wanted to stay another night after seeing the ducklings outside the bedroom window this morning. It's a place I will stay again. Many thanks Christine Redfern

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor overlooking the stream at the back of the hotel - very scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Christine R

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you had a very comfortable nights stay. I agree seeing the ducks in the morning is lovely especially when they are so friendly.

We hope you do return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a rural area but near the town of Cirencester. The area around the hotel and the little village are just so charming. Definitely a highlight for us on our journey to Stow-on-the -Wold.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking out to the small stream below
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear butterfly9393

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found as a good base to explorer the Cotswold's.

We do hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A group of us stayed at The Crown of Crucis Inn in mid-July while in Cirencester attending a dog show. It was the most wonderful place to return to at the end of a hot day. The rooms were charming with a pastoral scene out the window. Breakfast was great and we ate almost every evening meal under the umbrellas next to the stream. We enjoyed the food and the staff was accommodating and helpful. What a wonderful find this was! Quiet and convenient. Great place and people made our stay first-rate!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear exqueen

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, it was lovely to welcome you all to our hotel throughout the Dog Show weekend.

I have passed all your lovely comments on to our staff.

We do hope if you are ever back in the UK you will pop in for a visit.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed and ate at The Crown of Crucis last Friday evening. We were visiting the area with my Canadian relatives and we all thought our rooms were lovely, view of the stream and cricket pavilion was gorgeous, quintessentially English. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Food excellent at dinner and breakfast. I agree with a previous reviewer who called it 'a little gem'.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerstwo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear travellerstwo4

Thank you for your lovely review, I have made sure all staff are aware of your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay we pride ourselves on the service we give to our guests and our chef is passionate about each dish he sends out.

We are glad you found us a perfect English hotel and we do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
753 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
913 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing