We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our family's third trip.
We love the location right on the river, so when our little one gets boarded we can pop out for a walk.
The service is always good and the food is always of a very high standard, with some of the best homemade chips.
There Sunday roast is also very good indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear David F,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so glad that you enjoyed yet another stay with us and keep coming back! We love to see our Guests return.

We are proud of our seasonal, fresh menu and feel that we cater for everyone.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    146
    58
    29
    23
See reviews for
79
184
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights starting 25th May 14, lovely quiet location and was pleased with the service and the hotel in general, ate there twice for dinner and the food was very good, my only gripes were the bed, never slept on a more uncomfortable bed in my life, woke up every morning with a really bad back and severe lack of sleep, the other gripe was breakfast being served from 7.00 till 9.15, we was on a mini break and didn't appreciate getting up early, I do that at home!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 nice room but bed awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Rich L,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and service and that we are in a good location.

I am sorry that you found the mattress uncomfortable. All of our mattresses are of AA standard and regulations, however, we understand that everyone guest likes different styles, some harder, some softer. We wish that you had let us know during your stay so that we could have rectified the situation for you by finding an alternative mattress or bedroom for you with a mattress that suited your taste.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend. I had booked an executive room which turned out to be room 20. A nice room with dual aspect - one window looking out to the cricket green and brook and the other the gardens/car park. Bathroom was clean but because it needs updating it looked grubby in places especially the floor. We had a very uncomfortable night's sleep though as the bed was the hardest and firmest we have ever slept in. It felt like there was a plank of wood across the middle of it and it wasn't at all comfy. Reception was very friendly how the service in the bar wasn't quite what we expected. A gentleman barman was a little rude and sarcastic at times when we ordered food and drink and service was very slow. Food wasn't wow and just average. Breakfast was pretty much the same. Staff looked miserable and the food was very mediocre - I enjoy bacon but couldn't eat the fat filled slice that was on my plate. It is a shame as they have a wonderful and peaceful spot and the room was ok. I have stayed here previously back in 2013 and had no issues. My recent visit has certainly put me off booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Leeca69,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not feel you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

With regards to the bedroom, it is very hard to be able to suit everyone's tastes of mattress as some people prefer a harder mattress whilst others prefer soft, our mattresses are all of AA standard. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all of the bathrooms.

I am pleased that you do like our location and hope you will come back and visit us again, however, I am sorry that you did not bring up any of these issues during your stay or when asked on departure if everything had been ok with your stay.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We are currently enjoying a two night stay at the Crown, staff are so friendly especially the two girls in reception also staff manning the bar. Room is fine, lower floor overlooking the water and bridge, pity the weather wasn't good until this evening. Dined in the restaurant tonight and food was delicious, tried Le Beaujolais in Cirencester last night which wasn't as good. The menu at the Crown is quite extensive so you could easily spend two consecutive nights here with amazing choice.
Would stay again if in the area.
Elizabeth Notts

Room Tip: Overlooking the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear elizabethnotts,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We like to offer our fresh, but extensive menu as we know that all guests like different things and may be staying for a number of nights.

We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and have passed your kind comments to everyone.

We hope to see you again

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Last weekend as a very proud Aunt I attended the wedding of my niece. The wedding ceremony was at the church in Siddington and the reception was at The Crown.

We arrived at 12.30 and our room was ready - we were on the ground floor and had a lovely view across the stream and cricket pitch. The room had everything we needed and when my son arrived and needed an iron and board reception provided one within minutes.

My husband and I had lunch prior to the do - good food and excellent value! We had sharing platters!

The reception was well organised and afternoon teas was served and later a hog roast.

This hotel is in a beautiful location and I would recommend it highly.
The only thing that we struggled with was in a very hot day the bathroom radiator was on - lovely warm towels but very hot bathroom!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time here with us, especially on such a happy occasion and a pleased that it was a lovely day for all involved.

We hope you will be able to come and see us again.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My review is mainly in my room. We booked a double room which was really a twin with the beds pushed together. We paid an extra £5 for a 'double', we could have pushed the beds together ourselves. There were marks on the walls and the cups and spoons were dusty and unclean. Overall we slept great. The service we received was spot on. The staff were very friendly and professional. I would defiantly stay again in an updated room. It's set in a beautiful place and the food was great. Great hotel but the rooms need a little updating

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrskelly1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Hannah C,

Thank you for your review.

With regards to the beds, by putting beds together, we offer flexibility to guests who require a double when we have only twins left and it also gives them a larger than standard double bed.

We are pleased that you felt our service and food was up to a high standard as we do pride ourselves on this here.

If you should stay again in the future, which we hope you will, perhaps one of our Executive Bedrooms would suit your taste.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as our first baby free night away. We were slightly concerned when we arrived as there was a rather large wedding party there but this did not impact on our stay at all. We booked an executive double which overlooked the lovely little stream and cricket ground and was so quiet and peaceful. Our evening meal, which we had in the bar was absolutely gorgeous, couldn't fault the food or service one bit and it was very reasonably priced too. We will certainly be visiting again and can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: Definitely book one of the executive doubles if you want a peaceful night's sleep, the view is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Emmacath,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had a relaxing evening.

We really do hope that you will come and visit us again.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing