We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although by a road the clever design around an internal courtyard with the bedrooms at the back makes it very quiet. The decor is contemporary 'chic cotsworlds' very fresh and smart. Rooms clean, omfortable and mine had a classic view of sheep grazing beyond a cricket pitch and a little stream with ducks. I just had a pasta dish for supper - but again executed with flair and care. Staff had nice personalities and were genuinely helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lora20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Lora20

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects from the decor of the bedrooms to you evening meal.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    145
    56
    26
    22
See reviews for
77
176
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my over night here. Staff could not have been more helpful or gracious. Room was more than adequate and I enjoyed the bucolic view over the brook at the rear of the hotel. Evening meal was impressive without being too ambitious and breakfast was filling and tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Huntershipley

Thank you for your lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope when you are back in the area you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having to be in Cirencester (a beautiful town by the way) at short notice I found a late room at The Crown of Crucis. Lovely hotel. Arriving late and being told that there would be no staff on the desk, but a key and instructions, I was surprised to find somebody waiting up for us. Very good service. The room just off the courtyard comfortable, quiet and providing everything one would need (ie; a very comfortable bed) The Cotswolds is a lovely piece of England and it's not often I have to visit there for work (usually staying in Swindon and travelling the next day) but I am now very pleased to have found this place and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Huntershipley

Thank you for your lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return in the future.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our reception team.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Last Friday evening, punctuated only by constant bird song, the occasional gunned motorbike engine and the repeated throb of military transports exercising out of nearby RAF Fairford or Brize Norton, the garden at the Crown of Crucis was a tranquil, shady oasis beside a gently flowing stream in which to down a smooth pint of Bass. Room 12, a ground-floor ensuite twin with its view across the stream to the cricket ground sliced by a wooden utility pole, opened off a small lobby off the paved courtyard with a spherical metallic water feature. Beds were as comfortable as could be expected; toiletries and tea tray provided; strong, hot shower, hot water and HOT towel rail. The lone server battled valiantly over breakfast; cereals in abundance, but a limited choice of non-caffeinated teas; Gloucestershire breakfast cooked to order, but fried or poached eggs best avoided. On departure the receptionist was quickly and generously responsive to our observation that we had shared our room with more than one six-legged crawling friend. Yes, we would return if en route between Bristol and the upper Cotswolds for another furniture-painting workshop.

Room Tip: Room 12, a ground-floor ensuite twin with its view across the stream to the cricket ground sliced by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear BeverleyH

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the location of The Crown of Crucis, being situated by Ampney Brook does give it a calm and tranquil setting. We are glad you found the room to your liking and we do apologise for the towel rail these can be turned down in the room, but also have to be warm to keep the condensation to a minimum. With regards to the creepy crawly I do not feel it fair to mention this in your review as I said on departure we have never had this problem before and it could have been brought in from the outside on clothing etc, we made a reduction on your room as we would like you to come back in the future. With regards to breakfast we do have a large selection of herbal and fruit teas we are sorry these either were not offered or not one you would like. We pride ourselves on our breakfast but I passed your comments on.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon Calvert
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have 2 dogs and we found this was one of the most dog friendliest hotels we have stayed in . We stayed for 2 nights from 30th may . We were in a ground floor room overlooking the stream which was lovely . We dined both nights in the bar and the food and service was brilliant . The staff are so friendly which our dogs loved as they got lots of fuss !!! Thank you for a great weekend away and we cannot wait to come back later in the year

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsbeckiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Mrsbeckiboo

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so glad you found all the staff so friendly and you felt welcome here with your dogs.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The service was excellent, both in the restaurant and in the booking process. We requested a quiet room and got a lovely quiet room by the river. The setting of this hotel is beautiful with the small river running past the hotel and the gardens. We'll definitely go back when the weather allows us to sit outside and have a drink at one of the outdoor tables by the river. Nice for retired couples who want to visit the Cotswolds. There's no lift though so if you can't handle the stairs request a ground floor room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear AMReed

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be wanting to return when the weather (eventually) is better.

I have passed on your lovely comments to the team. We pride ourselves on the service we give to all our customers and we are so glad this was recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please if you have any requests for a specific room we can try our best to accommodate.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation really good and clean. Great location close to lots of great places to visit. Restaurant food and drinks excellent and service really good. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which had a great view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekSusanaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear DerekSusannaSmith,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here with us.

We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful spot alongside the Ampney Brook and are glad that you got to appreciate this view from your bedroom.

Hopefully you can come and visit us again.

Kind regards,
Hugh Calvert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing