We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Crown is absolutely lovely, as are all the staff. Colleagues and I stay here regularly and often for 2 nights in a row. I have stayed in 4 or 5 different rooms, all of which are clean and comfortable. Some bathrooms have been modernised lately and i imagine this is working progress and ongoing improvement. All of the staff i have found to be very pleasant, friendly, warm and welcoming. The food is excellent and the range of beer and wine is also good. In the winter, the log burner make a comforting welcome from the cold rainy days. If you're fortunate to get a room behind the building, there is a nice view of the stream and cricket green. It really is a nice place to be when away from home. Its actually starting to feel like my second home which i guess can only be a good thing.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortadela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear mortadela

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoy all aspects of your stay. I have passed on your lovely comments and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Kind Regards

Jon
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked for 2 nights in late May and in the booking form I requested for a nice view, uper floor room. When we arrived the staff gave us a corner room - number 27. We saw a big tall old eletric pole over the window rather than the river and park. Asked the staff to change to another room, the staff said all rooms fully booked!!!
The next day, urgent thing came up unexpectedly and we needed to leave the hotel earlier. Gently asked the staff if we could pay half of the 2nd night or would have the refund for breakfast charge. She said the hotel policy requires customer has to notice the cancellation up to 48 hours.
Because of unforseen circumstance, how can we cancel the 2nd night before arriving 48 hours. We were so disapointed and felt no help from the staff even though I tried to pursuade her to talk to her manager. Then we had to pay full tariff for 2nd night and left hotel straight away.

Would not come back to the hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrBA1219 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear MrBA1219

Thank you for your review, I feel the title poor service is not correct and that we did everything we could here at The Crown of Crucis to make sure stay pleasurable. I would also like to note that all other rooms had checked in so can I ask how you expected me to move you to a different room? Room 27 has always had excellent comments and has lovely views, also with regards to your cancellation the next morning as you had booked through a third party website we could not do anything.

I am sorry you feel you have been unfairly treated in this matter.

Kind Regards

Jon Calvert
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yet another overnight stop, which in this case was well above expectations. Modern building plenty of parking places. Helpful staff, comfotrtable room and all facilities in place and working . Good food and service and watching the trout in the adjacent river on an early sunny morning leisurely swimming around set things off well before travelling home. No need to say more!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear PKDan

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team. We feel the setting of the bedrooms and the ducks on the river are an added bonus when staying.

We do hope you will return in the future when you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Jon Calvert
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed one very busy Saturday night (there was a wedding party present) and was given a very comfortable room on the ground floor overlooking a stream and across to the fields with sheep grazing. It had a huge, cosy bed and the only downside was the slightly tired bathroom which needed a bit of tlc. The restaurant was overflowing but the service was excellent and the food very good, order taken by a very efficient (head?) waiter with a great sense of humour. Poor chap was there again in the morning (still joking) and the breakfast was excellent and the service again very quick and efficient. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with a view of the fields (we had 11).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thingandthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Thingandthing

Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed on your lovely comments to my team and we are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We do hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked 5 bedrooms and a meal for 18 to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday having spent the day at the nearby Cotswold Water Park. The staff had laid tables for us in the rear of the downstairs restaurant area which was ideal as if felt semi-private but we also benefited from the atmosphere of the rest of the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service excellent. A very nice bonus was that the manager allowed us to use the completely private 'snug' room upstairs after our meal at no charge which enabled us to give my daughter her birthday presents and sing Happy Birthday. The 'snug' room is actually quite big and very comfortably and tastefully furnished - highly recommended.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and mine overlooked the river running to the rear of the hotel - a lovely view. I was dragged into Cirencester by the younger element of our group for the late evening jollities whilst half of our group remained at the hotel comfortably sipping and chatting in the snug. One thing to note: if you require a 6-seater taxi it is well worth booking in advance. We had no problem going into Cirencester but had over an hour's wait on our return. Fortunately the fabulous staff at Somewhere Else (yes, it really is called that) allowed us to wait on their premises well after closing time.

Having had a spectacularly good night's sleep I have to say that the Full English Breakfast on Sunday morning was superb. Especially the locally-sourced Gloucester Old Spot sausage - delish!

The staff and management were very friendly and helpful - I really can't fault this hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone wanting traditional, tasteful and welcoming accommodation in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooeSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear LooeSyd

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Daughter 18th Birthday was a success and you liked our Snug Room. I passed on your lovely comments to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We hosted our event (workshop format) at The Crown of Crucis. From the initial quote stage right through to paying the bill at the end of the event, everything was done in a professional and friendly manner. The team went out of their way to ensure that everything was perfect and made my job as event planner a breeze. The room was extremely spacious and it was a bonus to have natural light coming in through the large glass doors. The food served at lunch was tasty and the fresh tea & coffee on tap throughout the day was a nice touch.
We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant the night before the event, good food and once again fabulous staff (the chips were amazing!)
The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Great value for money.
We will most definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tesna_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tesna_2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you decided you have your business function with us. I have passed on all your comments to all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just spent one night here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although by a road the clever design around an internal courtyard with the bedrooms at the back makes it very quiet. The decor is contemporary 'chic cotsworlds' very fresh and smart. Rooms clean, omfortable and mine had a classic view of sheep grazing beyond a cricket pitch and a little stream with ducks. I just had a pasta dish for supper - but again executed with flair and care. Staff had nice personalities and were genuinely helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lora20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Lora20

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects from the decor of the bedrooms to you evening meal.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hugh Calvert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,740 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
340 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing