We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great place for a good bar meal, garden in the summer is lovely and a nice setting. Food is tasty and we have found the service to be friendly and efficient. When the place is busy you do have to wait a little while but everything is fresh so that's expected and it means you can have a leisurely evening anyway.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoandPeterWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear JoandPeterWiltshire

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

I have passed on your lovely review to my team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    146
    58
    29
    23
See reviews for
79
184
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A one night romantic break, somewhere not too far away with good reviews. Check-in efficient, and room seemed OK, Shower very good but should replace the shower curtain with a glass screen. ( How many other people has that clung to? )

Food efficiently served, and the leek and potato soup was very good. Main courses were mediocre though, I am sure it only takes 10 minutes to cook couscous but this was microwaved. Didn't expect fine dining, but this wasn't even good pub grub.

Slept OK, and was about to sum it up by saying that unfortunately it was nothing special, when I noticed the state of the sheets on the bed. Clean, but covered in mould stains!, picture attached.

Nothing to recommend here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HorizontalMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear HorizontalMode

Thank you for your review, whilst I can only apologise for the bedding situation, I do feel that this is situation could have been rectified earlier as no comment was mentioned throughout your stay or on check out to myself or my reception staff. I have spoken to all departments with regards to this to ensure this never happens again.

I am glad other aspects of your stay were enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Crown for our wedding anniversary for one night .The room was excellent overlooking the brook.However even though we prebooked the table we had to wait over an hour for the food food to arrive and when it did it was none too warm.In fairness to the hotel they did have a big party in.We have eaten in the restaurant at lunchtime many times and only on one other occasion and this was a year or two back did we have to wait for the food and once again there was a large party eating .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Perktrav,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay stay with us and you loved the room you were in overlooking Ampney Brook.

We do apologise if you feel the service was not up to standard, all dishes are cooked fresh and this does mean there sometimes can we a longer wait than normal, I have passed your comments on to our Chefs.

We do hope you will return,

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, really enjoyed our stay here. Our 1st time to the cotswolds and pleased we picked here to stay for that. Room was lovely and comfortable and the restaurant served great food, we had a great evening. Will definately be returning but it seems very popular and hard to get a date fixed up. The Crown Of Crucias comes highly recommended....a must to stay at

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petexxlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear petexxlin

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We are so glad you would be happy to recommend us to friends and family and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we happened accross the crown out of necessity to stay local to cirencester and got a very good late deal via a certain well known website. Upon arrival the receptionist was the first i had encountered who actualy understood that it was important that we had enough towels before we actually got to the room (most hotels let you find out the room is set for one and expect you to ring down for more - WHY). We ate at the restaurant and the food was first rate. The room was very clean and well proportioned, and the facilities generally above average. We did experience several awakenings in the night due to inconsiderate guests arriving back at all hours and being noisy in the courtyard (i do not blame the hotel for this - but it was noted that nothing was done about it - it went on for a good 20 minutes on at least three ocassions). In the morning the receptionist again was very helpful and we left with a feeling of superior customer service (not something which comes as a given anymore)

Room Tip: chose one away from the courtyard - and hope that the other guests are a bit more considerate than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodraught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear prodraught,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do apologise for the noise we do ask all guests to be considerate of all other guests.

I have passed on your comments to my team and I am so glad you found all staff helpful and efficient.

We do hope will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for one night 1st August. The girl on reception that night was extremely friendly and helpful. It's always nice to have a warm welcome, especially after heavy traffic on our travels. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Blackout curtains aided one of the best nights sleep for a while. The bathroom was well maintained with a lovely range of soap and cream provided. The only negative on the room was the thick winter like duvets on the beds. Also the code provided for WiFi did not work.

When we arrived we want to the bar for a drink and found the gentleman serving to be very friendly and the area to be welcoming and well presented. It was a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was extremely filling with a good number of choices available. All in all we have definitely added this hotel to our list of places we will stay again as it had the right combination of staff friendliness, relaxing atmosphere, picturesque setting and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear GemJ,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are sorry you could not connect to the internet, if you had popped to reception they would have sorted this for you.

I have passed on your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend escape from the city! Hotel is on a main road; believe it or not despite being on a main road, it is pretty easy to drive past! The hotel is in the middle of nowhere – so you have to drive to get into Cirencester – so if you are planning to use this hotel as a base to get around, be prepared to drive. If you don’t fancy dinner at the hotel, you will have to get a cab into town if you want to have a drink! Another weird thing is that that the pub part of the hotel didn't have a television. Ordinarily this wouldn't have mattered, but the international rugby was on, and in order to watch it on the big screen, we had to go in hunt for a pub that was showing it! This is definitely going to cause people to go away from the venue. To be perfectly honest, I would have happily of stayed at the hotel for drinks and dinner, but not having a TV meant that I had to go further afield!

As I said, the hotel was on a main road, but the room that I was in was at the back of the property so no noise at all. The rooms are in a courtyard area –a bit like a motel in America – on two floors. The room that I stayed in was on the top floor, and there was a brook/stream running behind the property. I stayed there for 2 night, and on the second morning, we went for a walk in the field behind! It is a lovely setting; very tranquil and relaxing!

All in all, a good stay, breakfast was fresh and tasty, and I would recommend it (by the way – there is poor mobile phone reception)!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the property with the brook/stream under your window - tranquility eat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naths81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Naths81,

Thank you for your review. Whilst I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay I would like to clarify points for other users. We are 2.5 miles outside cirencester in a small village of Ampney Crucis we are easy to find and have excellent signage at the property so you would not drive past.

We do have a television on the pub part but it is behind a mirror in the Lower Bar meaning it is not an eye sore for guest but when we want or if guests ask for the TV to put on the mirror turns into a TV screen.

We are glad you enjoyed the setting of the hotel and the open fields on the back of the property.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
The Crown Of Crucis Country Inn And Hotel Ampney Crucis, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing