We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stevenson's at Manase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family and I enjoyed a magical long weekend at Stevensons Manase. After an unexpected downpour and flooding in Savaii we were forced to change our plans to travel around the island and instead stayed the whole time at Stevensons. It was a great decision. The manager Megan and staff were so accommodating at such short notice and we had 3 Euro beach fale's between our family. Our travel party ranged from 15 years old to 80 and it suited everyone’s needs. We highly recommend the Euro beach fales as you get the Samoan beach fale experience with the luxury of your own toilet, shower and fridge in the room. It is a truly amazing experience to sleep so close to the water. We hired a kayak for the day and were able to kayak with turtles in the bay and then paddle out and watch the sunset from the water. As we had quite a rainy weekend it was the perfect place to be as we were able to make the most of the pool table and couches in the covered dining area that many of the simpler establishments lack. The staff were so friendly and attentive making endless cups of tea for my grandmother and making me fresh lemon juice for my sore throat. We ate all meals at Stevensons and enjoyed everything, the fish for dinner was a highlight and pancakes with tropical fruit for breakfast are a must. Other establishments in Samoa have a lot to learn from Stevenson’s, a perfect mix of traditional Samoan accommodation with a touch of luxury. The perfect way to discover Samoa, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    95
    48
    29
    14
See reviews for
76
123
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from 11 nights in Manase at Stevensons.
We were staying in a Villa that had no hot water,so we were upgraded to a suit. which was very nice but so so dirty. The fridge was disgusting and every time we opened the door the odour made you reach.Megan was fantastic and offered to change fridge we opted to clean it ourselves and took of the door and scrubbed the seal made for a better smell but slowley the smell returned.
The cleanliness of the place leaves a lot to be desired marks on floors stayed there for the duration and on leaving we dropped something under the bed don't think it has ever been cleaned under there.
The shower is all made of rocks how do you clean these????
The food was a lot better than previous visits to Stevensons but now they are charging New Zealand up Market prices for average food. A disgusting toasted sandwhich which was advertised as ham and cheese was in fact spam and cheese at a cost of $15.00 Tala approx $8.40 NZ dollars.
They now have some Kayaks for guests to use at $30.00 Tala for the day who wants a Kayak for a whole day when we asked to hire for a couple of hours we were told it was still going to cost $30.00 Tala.
This is our 3rd time at Stevensons and it is improving each time.
We had checked out website before we left, and the website is not true reflection of Stevensons in Manase.
There is no beach bar,, just a sign on a tree,
Having said this we still enjoyed our time and we would go back and Megan you are doing a fantastic job and hope you can implement all that you are trying to do.

Room Tip: Euro Fales were good value from what we saw. The suits were very overpriced and so are the Villas as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Hi have stayed here multiple times, the most recent was over a long weekend held in Samoa (Father's Day) we stayed in the euro fales however I have also stayed in the suites.
Great price point, great good and great service.
Our stay there is made even better by the service from their manager Megan who is always tentative to our needs, ensuring that the stay there is enjoyable. I love the fact that she will recommend where to go, what to see and goes well above and beyond every time.
If you are looking to have a fale experience this is the best place to do it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshNoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 6 nights. Our luggage went missing upon arrival at the airport and by the time we arrived at Stevensons, Megan, the aussie chick in charge, had made multiple phone calls on our behalf and she had located it back in Auckland. Megan was incredibly helpful in our attempts to retrieve or luggage, making phone calls, getting up early to contact shift workers at the airport. She even drove us 3 hours to buy new clothes. Megan delighted us with her happy-go-lucky, care free yet compassionate nature and really made our string of bad luck pale away.
The resort is an ideal location to really unwind and get away from the frantic day to day hassles of life. The local staff at Stevensons are very gentle and welcoming. One of the gorgeous girls spent the day as our tour guide and shared with us a bit of her local village and family life.
We have been home from Savaii for nearly 2 months but we talk about our Samoan and Stevenson's experience daily.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed four nights in the beach fales and wasn't impressed. They accommodation is basic and only a few notches above staying in a caravan park! The workmanship of the fales, the ensuite and furniture are poor. (I could get accommodation at a cheaper price in better accommodation with similar views in S.E Asia) It is cramped and suits two people, three is pushing it! The mattress was lumpy and didn't smell if it got aired regularly! The reception and service was substandard. Majority of the staff are experts at just mucking about behind the scenes! Meals are very slow to come out. Continental courtesy breakfast is a joke, bread with butter and sliced mango and coconut. Dinner was okay but there aren't many options if you've dined in for 3 nights with a group of 5 and had all options (which weren't many) the 1st two nights!
The fales are metres above the high tide mark. Recommend bringing your own snorkelling the gear as the rental ones were hopeless. The outrigger canoe was free to use. It was broken and had never been repaired in a while. All it needed was relashing and repair of the supports on the float/pontoon. The kayaks were avail but you had to pay for them!
We left early because it was poor

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfpie_job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariane V, Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
I am sorry about your disappointing stay at Stevensons. As you may have realised throughout your time in Samoa, most accommodation is your basic traditional fale- similar, or even more basic to western caravan parks. Stevensons has added in their own private lockable bathroom with a Fridge and Safe to make the Euro fale a little more comfortable then a mattress on the floor with shared facilities. I can assure you that the mattress do get aired often.

I believe Samoa in incomparable to South East Asia. Both have water views, but the accommodation types, and general culture of the country is one of its own. Samoa- especially Savaii still has it raw traditions as you would have experienced. Due to the weather conditions on the island, we haven’t built the fales ‘in the water’ which is why we advertise as having beach side accommodation, and you are right, the fales are just metres above the high tide mark.

The outrigger is currently being repaired and I have approached my friendly team at Stevensons to help source an extra one from the local villages for the guests enjoyment. I am sorry your snorkelling gear wasn’t suffice- we have different sized masks to suit different people- maybe you had the wrong size?

Our continental breakfast comes with the available fruit that we can source on the island, along with your choice of pancakes or toast with bread, butter and jam (im unsure why you weren’t given jam- I will look into this).

I also must apologise by my teams ‘mucking around’, happy attitude at work, and will talk to them about being more serious.

I hope I have explained some of your worries, and again apologise for your disappointing stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I would like to commend Megan, an Australian personnel who is the manager at Stevenson's hotel for accommodating our needs as weary travelers' when we arrived on the 23/7/13.
Megan interacted with us in a professional and respectful manner and nothing was too much for her. I would also credit Megan with the way she works with the locals. When one of the guests was unwell she cheerfully drove us to Safotu early in the morning.
I shall visit this hotel again.
The ambience and location together with the beautiful gardens is a draw card for me.

Room Tip: Choose a villa if you want some of your home comforts like hot shower, air conditioning and closenes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed for two nights in a Euro Fale at Stevenson's and it was a fantastic experience that I would recommend to others, As others have said the fale's are basic, they have electricity, a fridge, a safe and a lockable bathroom which is great for storing gear when at the beach etc. The cold shower was a bit of a surprise in the morning, but great after a day on the beach. The fales are well positioned, a stones throw from the beach and were perfect for relaxing in after snorkelling or swimming. We had dinner the restaurant one night which was ok, dinner the next night at Tanu which was so big none of the group I was with was able to finish it - it was a good way to experience local cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manase
18.7 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
19.8 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Property: Stevenson's at Manase
Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites have modern samoan decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing