We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stevenson's at Manase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stevenson's between the 12-17th of september. We stayed in a Beach villa. We are very happy with our stay. The beach is right in front of the villa. We enjoyed snorkeling and relaxed at the beach.

The staff is really helpful. We arrived 8.30 in the morning and were able to check in to our house immediately. They also helped us to rent a car and book taxi.

The taxi from the ferry to Stevenson's at Manase costed 80 Tala. You can also take the bus, however it is crowded, you don't know when it will leave and it is no room if you have a big suitcase.

A negative thing with the beach villa was that we had ants in our house. I guess it is hard to avoid because of the structure of the houses.

The food was good, especially the dinner, I can recommend that you try the Oka, it is delicious!

The only negative thing we have to say about our stay is that during the meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner) they played the same music over and over again. The music was loud and from the 90s (Dr. Bombay, Aqua etc).

I can recommend Stevenson's because it is quite and relaxing (exept during your meals). But if you expect a big luxury resort it's not the place for you!

Room Tip: The Beach villa is better than the Euro fales if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    89
    49
    29
    14
See reviews for
71
116
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was a truly relaxing holiday. Our villa was exactly what we wanted. The ladies who worked at Stevenson's were gracious and delightful. The food was exactly what we wanted especially the Fifia Night which I highly recommend - they show you how the food is prepared for the umu, and perform dance afterwards. Beautiful beach for swimming, kayaking and snorkelling.The half-day tour with Sam was excellent. It was a very sociable place - we chatted with other guests at breakfast and at dinner - so we could find out about each other and where they'd been on the island but had space and privacy during the day which is good for singles and couples who like to meet other people. No problems with insects.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are better value than the most expensive rooms. The villas have louvred windows fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stevensons is out & out the best place in Samoa. Perhaps some other reviewers come here with little prior knowledge of Samoa and its culture, but if you do have that knowledge, then you will recognise that resort standards in Samoa are a little different to elsewhere. However, Stevensons is just fantastic. We stayed in the Isabella suite, which has all glass doors looking out over the beach. The suite was great- clean & spacious. It even has air con, for which we felt very spoilt to have here in Samoa! (And yes, as a previous reviewer has written, the air con was dripping, but my mech eng partner was able to fix it!) The bathroom is made from porous black volcanic rocks, including the shower, which even has hot water (again, a rarity in Samoa). We were able to relax inside on our lounge chairs or outside at our little table, always with the beach & palms view.
We didn’t eat all our meals at the restaurant, as we explored some other options during our week there (do not miss the pizza at Leilina’s pizzeria in Fagamalo!! It’s the best in Samoa!), but when we did eat, it was very good. The baked fish in coconut cream is a highlight, as are the ulu (breadfruit) dumplings. The breakfasts were typical Samoan, with fruit & undercooked pancakes (this seems to be a Samoan phenomenon, although I haven’t figured out why).
The bar and restaurant layout is great, and there was always a congenial and social atmosphere amongst guests. There is a pool table, which is worth playing on for the ‘Samoan style’ of the table, presenting some challenging and fun shots with its holes, sand, and other ‘obstacles’. A large fale lounge/games area shows movies on the big screen and has a ping pong table. There is also the option to rent snorkelling gear or a canoe, so plenty to do in a very relaxed way. Wednesday night is fiafia night, where the staff hold a kava ceremony & umu demonstration, & later the fiafia show, which was all really well done (the emphasis in the fiafia was on the women dancing, which was a little faster than normal Samoan style, & so had a bit more oomph to it). The umu food was delicious, especially the palusami, the pork, & the fish. The cocktails are also great, & the staff make them with quite a kick!
The location is wonderful- being right on the beach with turquoise waters, views of the sunset, and, absolutely wonderfully, no dogs or roosters to keep you up at night.
Staff were great, always very helpful and accommodating. Megan the manager and Anna the owner were both wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had 7 nights at Stevenson's and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We stayed in a villa about ten metres from the sea and appreciated having a bit of space, a fridge, ceiling fans and a/c and the wonderful outdoor shower. We visited other places and decided Stevenson's was the best for our needs.The staff were friendly,helpful and very hard-working, especially Tutulu, Leala and Annastasia. We enjoyed meeting the other holidaymakers at Stevenson's and getting together in the evening to share stories of our day. Savaii is a magical place full of friendly people and we intend to return next year. One highlight for us was the tour we took with Sam. He is a sensational guide and we recommend his tours without any hesitation. Fiafia night on Wednesday was great - being shown the umu and the preparation of the food bundles etc was really interesting. The resulting feast was great too. We thought it was better than the one down the road. We think Megan is doing a great job of managing Stevenson's and we appreciated the fact that she actively sought our feedback.

Room Tip: We really liked our villa - any of them would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stevensons, simply the best. Stayed in a eurofale between 6 Sept and the 11th.. Awesome time, Great staff, and the BEST manager,Megan, nothing was to much trouble. Loved the restaurant the ambience and the fantastic food. Without doubt Stevensons is the BEST.

Room Tip: You will sleep soooooo soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Well we stayed at stevensons for 6nights.,the staff we really great could not be more helpful.. But that is where it stopped, we never ate there after the first night, ourselves and 6 others got a taxi every night and went to another resort up the road about 5 k for our evening meal far better. the menu needs to be changed its shocking. The air con, leaked water on to the floor the whole time it ran had to soak it up with towels or the place would have flooded, toled the office nothing done next toilet blocked up some where in there system, could not use room for the best part of a day took toilet out put it on the lawn till all was fixed. only half the lights worked the toilet roll holder on the floor an so it went on this room is supposed to one of there top rooms NO.and the part that really got to us is that we never even got any sort of apology nor any refund, would we stay there again NEVER, ( bill)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariane V, Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Bill,

We are very sorry about the condition of your room during your stay. I can assure you that we have fixed the air conditioner and toilet roll holder- I am so sorry that this was not completed before or during your stay. Please take this as my apology.

We are currently putting a lot of time and money into the hotel to get it up to a more then acceptable standard, and I think that if you did return, we would be a little more impressed. Please email me at Stevensonmanase@lesamoa.net to discuss anything else that may be upsetting and I do hope that one day you will return.

Apologies again.

Megan
Marketing Officer
Stevensons at Manase Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manase hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family and I enjoyed a magical long weekend at Stevensons Manase. After an unexpected downpour and flooding in Savaii we were forced to change our plans to travel around the island and instead stayed the whole time at Stevensons. It was a great decision. The manager Megan and staff were so accommodating at such short notice and we had 3 Euro beach fale's between our family. Our travel party ranged from 15 years old to 80 and it suited everyone’s needs. We highly recommend the Euro beach fales as you get the Samoan beach fale experience with the luxury of your own toilet, shower and fridge in the room. It is a truly amazing experience to sleep so close to the water. We hired a kayak for the day and were able to kayak with turtles in the bay and then paddle out and watch the sunset from the water. As we had quite a rainy weekend it was the perfect place to be as we were able to make the most of the pool table and couches in the covered dining area that many of the simpler establishments lack. The staff were so friendly and attentive making endless cups of tea for my grandmother and making me fresh lemon juice for my sore throat. We ate all meals at Stevensons and enjoyed everything, the fish for dinner was a highlight and pancakes with tropical fruit for breakfast are a must. Other establishments in Samoa have a lot to learn from Stevenson’s, a perfect mix of traditional Samoan accommodation with a touch of luxury. The perfect way to discover Samoa, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manase
18.7 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
19.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Property: Stevenson's at Manase
Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches just west of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites (our newest addition) have a surprisingly modern decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing