We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stevenson's at Manase
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets(Salelologa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$240
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Vasa Resort(Cape Fatuosofia)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amoa Resort(Savai'i)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Savaiian Hotel(Salelologa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jet Over Hotel(Salelologa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
90
102
51
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
102
51
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barfishbeach frontfiafia nighthot waterair conbeach faledown the roadspecial thanksgreat accommodationtour guideprivate bathroomrelaxing holidaypaddle boardspizzaopen airopen fale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Coming to Savai'i was like always, a well planned trip for a typical European family. We had booked one suite and two Eurofales at Stevenson. After a long drive, to see blowholes, we finally arrived in hotel. We were very welcomed and enjoyed the beauty and tranquility at beach bar. We asked if possible to switch rooms as we preferred suites or villas to fales, probably it is the lack of privacy that makes it not so appealing for us but our Australian friends loved it. The villas are very nice and the food is perfect. I would definitely come back!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Carmad3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had booked into a Euro fale but realised this wasn't suitable for 2 adults, one child and a baby because it was too small and the mosquitoes were terrible. The manager, Megan was very accommodating and arranged for us to change to a suite which was fantastic. Our new room was huge and had both air conditioning and fans. The breakfast buffet included fresh fruit, toast and crepes. The service can be a bit slow but is very friendly. We did a village tour with one of the hotel staff which was interesting and babysitting was no trouble. All rooms are located right on the water and both the beach and the reef here are beautiful. It's a great place for a laid back, family beach holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here as a family group, in three villas and one euro fale. Derek and Megan are working hard to improve things. Villa's now have fly screens. In our villa number 3, we had no issues, we made use of the fan and that was working satisfactorily. See from Megans replies that the hot water systems for the villas have arrived. The non vegetarian meal was quickly sorted out by Megan for one of our family. Super high sided solid cot for the 11mth old, she slept well.

Must admit that I had my doubts before arriving when it had been described to me as being rustic. First day meals very slow, but things did improve over the rest of our stay.

People have to remember that they are in Samoa and you are over there to experience Samoa and not have the same things that you get back home.

Nothing can beat the beach and swimming, to step out in the morning and go for a swim was just magic. I would recommend Stevensons and would go back there.

Keep up the good work Megan ,Derek and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Villas are good. We stayed in 3, others in our group had 2 and 4. Outside shower an experience, and will be great once they get the new hot water system in each villa.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiOZPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in a Euro Fale, what a wonderful experience. What better way to start the day, than with a snorkel right outside the door before breakfast. We read many mixed reviews before we went here, and are so pleased we went. The staff were wonderful, the food delightful, the rooms fantastic. We wanted a true beach holiday, that's what we got. Go in with an open mind, leave your worries behind and enjoy a really relaxing stay here. Thanks Megan and the team we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murtle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I arrived on our honeymoon. The room we booked was not given to us but we concede that this is only a request. We ended up with the Isabella room which is on the end. The view is beautiful but the room...well...the 'rock shower' is an experience I've never had before. Be prepared for a spout as your shower which actually worked but was a little different. We had to buy thongs to shower but they didn't help. The rocks are sharp and uneven! The picture depicts a bigger lounge suite than what we had. So...it appears that this place is currently being run by two caretakers and it seems that Megan especially is doing her best....but....if you have ordered a massage and it seems that the 'real' masseur hasn't or wouldn't come...please don't sent the receptionist who didn't really have an idea but did her best and giggled for the whole time (actually 15mins)....it was excruciating for us both! Our neighbours experienced the same and we at least had a laugh about it at the bar later in the evening...best part...it cost all of $15...so not a big deal about the money but I think we would prefer the real deal. The breakfast is pancakes but be quick...they are average. The other food we felt was ok although the Fia Fia night felt a little like the manager was trying again her best to improve the entertainment which was ok. I thought the food was ok but husband didn't enjoy. Then it come time to pay the bill....on the morning of check out we paid the bill...it didn't go through. We were told that it would later that day. It did....twice....four emails later, travel agent involved, them requesting our bank account to check the bill....and we have still payed a
little more than the original check out bill! Not sure what that is about but have we heard anything from their end to see if everything is ok??? ahhh...no....this hotel is located on the edge of paradise and has so much potential....but it appears management consistently changes and there is no stability. We would not recommend nor would we return. What a shame as it could be the best in Savaii...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariane V, Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi,

We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Stevensons. As you would have seen during your stay, Derek and I doing the best we can to uplift the property, and feedback from guests is taken on board and we do what we can to improve the place.

Breakfast is a breakfast buffet that our team stock up throughout the morning. As we can not predict what time guests will come for breakfast, we do our best to be prepared, but do not want to prepare hundreds of pancakes for the guests to eat cold, so on occassions, there may be a wait for some of the items to be restocked so that they are cooked fresh.

In regards to your bill, due to our location, our Westpac eftpos terminal is not the most reliable piece of technology. We do our best to charge the guest as they leave, but on occassions when the mobile reception will not allow us, we take a pre authorisation and charge it later. I believe the General Manager is still waiting for an email repsonse in regards to the double charge issue. When we settle our machines at the end of the day, it comes through as a whole figure which we match off with the inputted visa/mastercard sales of the day. On the day you checked out, the amount was not over, therefore we are having no luck finding your double payment. As i explained in my email, it may have been the 'pre authorisation' amount that you were seeing as a charge, although infact its not? Which is why we need to see the double charge from your end. If this is the case, we will certainly refund the double charge immediately.

As to the review of the bathrooms, I guess they are not everyone taste. The owner has designed these to create a jungle/cave feel. I apologise for you not enjoying or embracing them.

The massage. We do not advertise having a massage service at the hotel, however if someone does enquire about a massage, we try to arrange it. I am sorry that the girls did not explain to you that it was one of our team members doing the massage. My team of girls at the hotel are quite competent at doing a basic massage at a very cheap price in the comfort of the guests room, this also allows them a chance to earn a little more money. We have never received any negative feedback about the massages, but apologise again about the lack of professionalism by that team member on that day.

In closing, when chatting to you throughout your stay, you seemed rather happy with things. I am sorry upon leaving you have decided to publicly voice your unsatisfactions, I do hope you enjoyed your complimentary bottle of sparkling wine.

Kind regards,

Megan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews