We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside villa restfulness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stevenson's at Manase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed for six days (mid September 2010) in comfortable beachside villa and excellent swimming. Meals as part of package basic but quite OK. Villa had air conditioning, fridge, en suite and cleaned daily, (Avoid garden villas). Evening entertainments tended to have sameness. Disappointing lack of walks locally. Three small shops nearby, best being associated with petrol station complex, where bicycles can also be hired. To get from international airport to Stevensons be prepared for one hour ferry ride to Savaii (our ferry there was inexplicably cancelled) and one hour taxi-van ride to Manase.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

My friends and I have just come back from spending a week at Stevensons and had booked at Flight Centre and got a really good deal considering we would be flying to Samoa 2 days later. After booking, we then got on trip advisor and were a bit terrified by the reviews we found and wondered what we had booked! However we arrived at Stevensons 2 days later and were quite surprised by what we found! We were greeted and taken to the bar where we were given a fresh coconut drink by Tulu who really put our minds at ease with her lovely manner. From there we were taken to our ensuite fales which were beautiful! So much more than we expected! Judging by some of the reviews, we were so elated when we got to our rooms! They were awesome! The bathrooms are lovely. The fales we stayed in were 5 star compared to the others we saw around Samoa! At Stevensons, breakfast, lunch and dinner is provided, and the food again exceeded our expectations by a long shot. Anyone that says the food is gross must remember that you are in a different country and there fore the food is always going to be diffrerent! You can't go to Thailand and order a boil up can you???? The food is lovely and they put a lot of effort into it. The seafood is always fresh and the chicken is lovely and cooked properly. The meals are a good size and fill you up. (However if you are still hungry, order a manase burger! They are awesome!!! Tried and true!) We ate at a few different places whilst we were in Samoa and Stevensons had the best food by far! The service you get at Stevensons from the crew in the bar and restaurant is outstanding. Mao, Darcy, Niko, Pati will give you the most amazing service and really look after you. Half the time you'll just want to go and sit in the bar and drink because they are just lovely and will make your stay!! There are cats there at Stevensons and they are a lot smaller than cats here in NZ but go anywhere in Samoa, including Aggies Beach Resort and Spa and there are cats there too! It's just a common thing over there! They are everywhere! They won't sit on your lap and if you don't like them just move your jandal quickly, they soon move! The garden surrounding the place is lovely aswell. The staff service your fale everyday so it is always clean! The entertainment is just fantastic at night and Pacifika and his band will have you bopping along in no time, they are really enertaining and so good at what they do! They are brilliant! There is 1 internet place down the road but don't go to Samoa and expect to be able to access the internet. It is very slow and aren't you on holiday? If you desperately need the internet all the time, perhaps you should go to a resort and pay big money. Savaii is an island! The internet sign is super funny at the internet cafe "our internet is on island time too." Long and the short of it, is that we had an amazing stay there, the 5 mentioned staff members above will make your stay and you are going to another country! Go with an open mind not a closed one! You will have a great stay there. It is the most stunning place. You'll know what I mean when you are sitting on the deck of your fale, cold Vailima in hand, watching the sun go down!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marloz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Recently returned from a 10 day stay here and felt the need to share my experience.
Before leaving New Zealand for Samoa I had read reviews on Stevenson's at Manase and to be honest, was a little weary about the place with the reviews I read. How ever, I think it is only fair to do this wonderful spot justice.
From the moment we arrived we found the staff friendly and hospitable. A little nervous about what our rooms would be like, again, were very pleasantly surprised at our beach front en-suite Fale's.
Food was outstanding, perhaps due to the new chef that had been hired, and did not see any stray cats on tables in the restaurant, as we had read about.
In Summing up.
Staff, 5 star plus, a true tribute to the establishment!!!
Food, great tasting!!
Accommodation, Exceeded all expectations, can't wait to return!!!
The only reason I did not want to write a review on Stevenson's at Manase, is I don't want the place to be booked out when I return again on my next holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaneit2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Our lovely large villa right on the beach was the best we found in Samoa. The beach here was also the best we found in Samoa- lovely and white, clean and sheltered. The coral is only 20m offshore- mainly stag coral with a reasonably good abundance of fish. The rooms were large, comfortable and cleaned daily. The food here was only OK, but the pricepoint was the room itself and 3 meals included. The bonus about Manase is you can always go and eat elsewhere. The staff here are very good as well. We'd like to come back here without the children and spent some more quality island time!! Happy hour cocktails at Racis is a must!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Our travel agent booked us at Stevenson's and after reading the reviews on this site, I was very nervous and considered getting the booking changed. But, I was pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic. We were in a Beach Villa, which are all just a few steps from the beach (the restaurant and some other accomodation options are across the road). The villas are large and clean and were serviced daily. The whole facility looks well maintained and there were plenty of friendly staff.

We took the full board option. Breakfast was fruit with toast or pancakes. Dinner had a choice of three options, usually beef, chicken and a fish dish. A guest staying at the same time as us was vegetarian and they adapted meals for her, so I think there is some flexibility. The food is OK rather than fantastic, but we didn't expect gourmet and we were very happy with what was served. A nice surprise was the four-piece band who played during happy hour and dinner and were followed by a floor show at 8pm.

The setting in Manase is fantastic and a nice thing about the village is that there are no stray dogs, apparently a village chief banned dogs successfully a few years back. There were a few stray cats, but not enough to cause problems, and otherwise we just saw geckos. From the beach you can swim right out over the reef (hire gear from Raci's just down the road) and there is a huge number of fish. Overall I would certainly recommend Stevenson's and just wish that we had spent a few more days on Savaii.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had a great week with friends. We stayed in the beachfront villas. Lovely. Beds comfy and cleaned everyday. Outside shower ok; at least hotwater. The restaaurant offered 3 meals a day in the package and choices for dinner were like a suprise package each afternoon. New chef from Suva and very talented with what local produce he could get his hands on. We were nicely suprised. Entertaqinment each night by local musicians was also a bonus. The beach, snorkelling lovely. Very quiet and relaxing. Great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I don't think Stevenson's deserves the terrible reviews regarding their food that they are getting here. We just spent 5 nights there and the food, more often than not, was perfectly ok and quite good when they do BBQ or Samoan buffet style. There were some not so great meals (avoid lunch if you can and get pizza from Seki down by Jane's). They have a large stage in the dining room and put shows on every night we were there, which was fantastic. The location is great, right on the beach and the staff was mostly very helpful. They do have some problems however with communication. I had a difficult time making my reservations via email with the staff there not reading my questions, making mistakes in taking my reservation and just not getting back to me. I booked for a large group of 8 and one of the couples actually had their reservation completely stuffed up and was handed a letter upon check in saying that they would be charged for a more expensive room than what they were getting because what they had originally asked for (back in March when I made their reservations) had never been cancelled after they changed their minds and booked a different room! They realised it was management's mistake the next day and upgraded our friends, but it wasn't very professional of them at all. So if you're planning on staying here, I would doublecheck your reservations, reconfirm them and be sure to bring something in writing when you arrive. What people say about the Garden units is true. They should be knocked down! The Beach Villas are perfectly adequate, nothing fancy, with a location that cannot be beat! The new deluxe suits are very modern and a little more expensive. The fales look better than some of the other ones I saw in the area.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank NewZealandYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manase
19.8 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
22.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range: £71 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites have modern samoan decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing