We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Montalbano fans only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B La Casa di Montalbano
Ranked #2 of 8 Punta Secca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Montalbano fans will find a stay at his house a must although I can now understand why Livia spends so much time away from Montalbano. Quite honestly although the location in sleepy Punta Secca, yards from the beach is great, I agree with a previous reviewer in that it is a bit basic. Montalbano will obviously be representing Italy in the next Olympic swimming events as the tidal currents are very strong, and the strong offshore winds preclude long sojourns on the beach or terrace. Hosts Laura, Agate and Ivana are extremely helpful and will do what they can to help you enjoy your stay although I have to say the breakfast was also a bit basic

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mrbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

This b and b is heaven for fans of Commissario Salvatore Montalbano ( my wife included) and is a beautiful quiet beach-front retreat for the rest of us. If you can't stretch to Malibu this makes an affordable alternative. The owner Ivana was very friendly and helpful, and happy to talk about the building's association with Montalbano. The property stands in as Montalbano's house in the TV series, so it's very popular, particularly with women of a certain age, and gets booked up quickly. We were lucky to get the last available room for two nights but it was full throughout, even in April. The facilities are clean and comfortable without being the last word in luxury, but at 80 euros per night including those views, who could complain? If you want to feel like a Hollywood A-lister on La Croisette at Cannes, just step out on the balcony during daylight hours, and the tourists who flock here to pay homage to the fictional detective, will train their camera lenses on you without fail. It's also a great place to watch the setting sun sink into the ocean, especially over a chilled beer. There are more pictures and newspaper cuttings relating to Montalbano and the actual locations for the TV series, dotted around the lounge. I enjoyed our stay despite being badgered to stand-in for Montalbano in my wife's photos. I played ball just to make her happy, but i drew the line at donning a swim cap and re-enacting the swimming scene from the title sequences. It was April after all, and the Levante wind was stirring up the surf into angry walls of smoking white foam. So, I was excused. Punta Secca is a quiet jewel of a place, which, but for the TV series, might have remained so. It has been shoved into the spotlight as a result of the TV series, so go while it still retains it's Italian seaside charm. It also has a fantastic, affordable fish restaurant, San'D on the Lungomare Amerigo Vespucci, where the food is amazing and the owner Danilo cooks the food for the TV stars, and features in the next series. The Casa di Montalbano must be one of the easiest places to find as there are now brown tourist signs pointing the way for miles around. Highly recommended, especially for the exhibitionist in you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Booked this as a Montalbano fan - and it met all expectations! Slightly disappointed that we didn't spot any dead horses on the beach! but otherwise absolutely perfect. We had an upper storey room, which looked out over the sea. Before booking, I didn't really have high expectations of the accommodation but the room was comfortable, clean, lots of room, good shower and lovely crisp white sheets. The light through the shutters and curtains was stunning! Breakfast wasn't brilliant, but who cares - we were looked after with care and attention. The real bonus was the stunning sunsets. Have a beer at the Charlie Brown bar across the road, watch the sunset from the balcony then go treat yourself to the degustation at Sand and your life will be complete!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September 2012 - what fun it was to stay in Montalbano's House on the beach! Agatha looked after us well at breakfast.
Location on the beach is great. Ivana was very helpful with local recommendations too.
Accommodation and standard was basic for the price (attention to detail not there) - compared to other Sicilian B&B's we stayed in.
With a wee bit more effort the owners could create a truly special Montalbano experience??
Strange but fun to be staying in a place that attracted so much attention from the daily groups of Montalbano fans coming to take photos of the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenneth1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The ultimate experience for an Inspector Montalbano fan is to stay in his house at Marinella which in real life is Punta Secca. La Casa di Montalbano is definitely a dream come true. As soon as you see it, you just feel like you've been there dozens of times. In fact every tourist who drives by and stops to look longingly and take photos must feel the same. Some even sigh, "Ah, Montalbano." This B&B is not only world famous, it is fabulous, meeting all your expectations. The room we had was spacious, had a beautiful sea view from the balcony, and shared a very large relaxation and dining area also looking onto the restless Mediterranean. The staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast was delightful and plentiful. Punta Secca itself is a sleepy holiday town in May when we were there although it is sure to fire up in July and August. Walking along the beach was peaceful and the few restaurants that were open, especially Sand, offered culinary delights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fozwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

What can we say? the best experience ever, not just to step within the doors of Montalbano's house but to actually STAY there! particularly beautiful because most of the other guests from all corners of the world have a shared passion for the Montalbano films. The top stories of the house are rented by our hosts (the delightful Ivana and Barbara, who can also help with hotels and trips further afield) from the owner, who maintains the lowest floor. Local pizzarias are fantastic, tabbaci is enormously helpful, and trips to local sites used in the films are an easy drive.

Room Tip: the room on the ground floor could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TobyC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

During our trip in Sicily we spent two nights in this charming house. We have seen the Montalbano series already three times in Finnish TV and were surprised to see that there is a possibility to get B&B in the very same house where the Commissioner himself lives. The booking was easy enough (www.lacasadimontalbano.com). The staff is friendly and helpful. Thank you Ivana and Barbara for your kindness!

Punta Secca is a small and quiet village - especially in October - but Marina di Ragusa with its restaurants and shops is not far away. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the sun and the sound of the waves. With these memories we can survive over the dark winter and remain waiting for new episodes of commissario Montalbano!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SimoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Secca
0.3 mi away
Kaucana Inn
Kaucana Inn
#2 of 6 in Santa Croce Camerina
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar&Sol
Hotel Mar&Sol
#3 of 6 in Santa Croce Camerina
143 reviews
12.3 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Mare Indaco
B&B Mare Indaco
#4 of 8 in Punta Secca
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Araucaria case vacanza
L'Araucaria case vacanza
#14 of 25 in Santa Croce Camerina
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camping Rocca dei Tramonti
Camping Rocca dei Tramonti
#7 of 25 in Santa Croce Camerina
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa di Montalbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa di Montalbano

Address: Corso Aldo Moro 44, 97017 Punta Secca, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina > Punta Secca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Secca
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official "B&B La Casa di Montalbano" account. Please write a review only if you have spent your holiday in our B&B. Would you review the attraction "Montalbano House" please post your review on this page--> La Casa del Commissario Montalbano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B La Casa di Montalbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalbano Commissioner`s House (La Casa Di Montalbano) Hotel Punta Secca
B&B La Casa Di Montalbano Punta Secca, Sicily - Province Of Ragusa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing