We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”
Review of Lazonby Hall

Lazonby Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lazonby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazonby Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Lazonby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is the first review I have ever done - so the place is either awful or fantastic.
We have been to the Eden Valley many times over the last 30 years, but this addition to the
B&Bs is Gorgeous!!! Magnificent 19th Century house.
Rooms are huge, bathroom is larger than most hotel rooms!! Very comfortable bed. Stunning view down the valley between the trees in the well kept garden.
Breakfast was excellent.


Oh, one complaint......NO brown sauce!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Lazonby Hall surpassed our expectations - better than a small country house hotel, the attention to detail and warm welcome was a real credit to the owners, Mr & Mrs Quine. We are in two minds about telling our friends, because it was so good, we don't want to find that there is no availablity there when we want to go back!

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more to have the 'Blue room' which is in its own private corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed there in late May and had a fantasticly relaxing time there. The building was very impressive and the bedroom and the bathroom were massive. I enjoyed everything about my stay. The hosts were very attentive and the evening meal which was available by arrangement was very tasty and excellent value. The hall is only a good walk from the village of Lazonby where there is a station on the famous and picturesque Carlisle to Settle line. It would make a lovely setting for a romantic weekend (unfortunately I was travelling alone but I hope to go back again with my wife at some time!!!) I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A really nice small traditional B&B in a beautiful and historic setting. Great food, clean, comfortable, friendly and excellent advice on local attractions. Great location for hill walking and lots of very pretty local villages. I thoroughly recommend staying at Lazonby Hall...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a remarkable place,outstanding rooms and bathroom is gorgeous for the half,absolute beautiful gardens to relax and we did a lot,scenery fantastic service really nice a credit to lazonby hall,can't wait to go again wake up to the tranquil morning sounds and view.thankyou to Adrian and family for a great short holiday break

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were going to head for the lakes but decided to explore the Eden Valley instead after finding Lazonby Hall. What a find! With its amazing views, lovely big rooms with wooden panelling, high ceilings and log fires. Our hosts were very accommodating and friendly. We will definitely be coming back! - Thanks again for a lovely peaceful & relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very good. High ceilings and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare_LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lazonby Hall over the Easter long weekend and could not recommend it more highly! Our hosts were incredibly accommodating and certainly went above and beyond to ensure that we had an enjoyable weekend.

We originally intended to stay within the Lake District and spend the weekend doing some walks around Windermere, that is, until we stumbled across this little gem. The hall is about a 20 minute drive from Windermere which meant that we could still go for long ambles around the lake district. However, we were very grateful that we didn’t stay near Windermere as it was very busy and touristy which was a vast contrast to the peaceful and cosy surroundings of Lazonby Hall. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A0leary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lazonby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazonby Hall

Address: Lazonby CA10 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Lazonby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lazonby
Price Range: £38 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazonby Hall sits in an imposing position with stunning views across the beautiful and unspoilt Eden Valley close to the Lake District and Hadrian's wall. With breathtaking views down the valley and along the river Eden to the Pennines beyond, Lazonby has one of the most unrivaled positions in this unspoilt and little known hidden jewel, yet very accessible part of Cumbria. The house was built in 1848 by Lt. Colonel Alexander MacLean the 30th Liard of Ardgour in Invernessshire. Built of ornate local sandstone the property has the distinct style of a French Chateau. The principle portion of this splendid early Victorian house offers fine accommodation in one of the prettiest parts of Northern England near the Scottish border. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazonby Hall Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing