We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the bog.......”

Corlea Trackway Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Keenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A day at the bog.......”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From Longford and have only managed to visit this attraction now. I was surprised to see a small group of other people there and a bus of kids arrive on our way out. This is located in a bog and therefore not the easiest to find even though it is signposted. It is in the sticks but the easiest way to go is to go to Kenagh and travel to Ballymahon or vice versa. The turning is off along it.

There is a beautiful informative display area explaining various aspects of the bog, Iron age and the trackway itself. Very interesting to see the time and effort that went into preserving that section they have displayed. It is also nice to hear that the rest of it is left in-situ to continue ageing as nature had intended. It is definitely an attraction to spark the imagination and create questions in the mind of the purpose of it as nothing has been found on the digs to exactly say what it was used for.

The guides are very informative and the lady we had was very enthusiastic. Enjoyed my visit here.

A suggestion for them is the guide was walking around with a folder of pictures of various bog men that have been found in bogs around Ireland. Would be better to put them on large posters with the info and possibly hang them in the area where the trackway is. That way we get to see them properly. Also I see facilites for a tea shop there but am not aware if it is open or not. Would suggest the guides at the end of the tour inform people to take an opportunity to have tea and sandwiches in the bog setting as they have nice picnic facilities there to do it. However money does not seem to be the motivation for this attraction as entry is free.

Thanks for a great visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten trackway...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On our way back from Roscommon, looking at other archaeological gems like the Carrowkeel Megalithic Cemetery and the Rathcroghan Royal Site, we decided to stop in Corlea as it sounded like a real oddball attraction.
It's a wee bit hard to find and it, given the nature of site, is located in a peat bog. The visitor's centre, though getting on for 30 years old is as fresh and shiny as someplace new and a really pleasant place. A gallery of information boards, models and diagrams provides some background to the site. Given that we arrived on a weekday afternoon, we were the only people there and we watched a short film giving some more background to the Corlea Trackway, its excavation and some conjecture as to its origins and original purpose. After the film, it was time to see the excavated Trackway itself.
Our guide, Breda, showed us into the climate controlled room where the timbers of this Iron Age road are kept, in the original position they were found (the remainder of the road is still preserved underneath the bog). Breda, going a mile a minute, told us all about the place, all the multitudinous theories as to the purpose of the construction, about bog bodies about the bog itself, the flora and fauna, making all kinds of links between Corlea and other archaeological sites around Ireland. She gave us so much wonderful, really outstanding information and so much to think about. I've rarely met anyone as fascinating.
Though off the beaten track (har har), the Corlea Trackway is worth a visit for anyone interested in Irish history or the Iron Age in general. Entry was free and the information and stories gleaned there were voluminous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a must see for all”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we arrived just as a tour was about to begin the film presentation was excellent and insightfully into the discovery and preservation of the site but it was our guide did get her name that made the visit for me she was so informative about the site and bog archaeology in general defiantly worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A bit different”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

It's a bit hard to find but we'll worth the search. The staff could not have been more helpful or knowledgeable. The road is amazing, the methods used for preservation is like the Mary Rose, and supporting displays good. It was good to see the peat bog outside and the local plants

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Be determined to get there because it is not easy to find”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have now been to the trackway twice - which is twice more than any other person I know and twice more than any of my Irish relatives. Built in the Iron age (first century BC) it appears to start nowhere in particular and go nowhere in particular - except that they have only excavated a short section of it so the thinking is that it may have headed to the royal palace at Tulsk and indeed been built as a royal causeway. Part of the charm of this attraction is the maze of roads you have to travel through the bog to get there (make sure you have a good map or a sat nav which knows where you are going), the fact that it is usually almost empty so you have the dedicated attention of the guide (who is exceptionally knowledgeable on this and other Irish bog finds), the beauty of the building which houses the exhibit, the views over the bog as you investigate the reconstructed trackway outside and the bog plants which grow unheeded whether there is anyone to appreciate them or not. Scenic, historical and atmospheric.
A must see for anyone interested in history or archaeology - or bogs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corlea Trackway Visitor Centre also viewed

Longford, County Longford
County Longford, Province of Leinster
 
Longford, County Longford
Clondra, County Longford
 

Been to Corlea Trackway Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing