We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nes Gard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nes Gard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hoyheimsvik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VA Beach
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Charming and friendly don't even begin to describe this place. I guess you could say it's a bit out of way but isn't that where you are going when you a seeing the fjords? What a location and view of the fjord right from the property or walk down the hill to get a closer look. Quite the scene as the sun finally goes down. We had an individual cottage. There were rooms in several buildings and our cottage I think had 3 or 4 arranged so that most had a water view. Rooms spacious and had a kitchen facility and nice bath. Beds great with the usual individual comforters. Staff was great and the owner was ever present and attentive. We were the unusual folsk spending just one night. All those soending multiple days or weeks there were raving about their experiences as well. We ate there and it was excellent. i would call it semi-family style. You were seated with others unless you had your own large group (4 or more) but they tried to put English speakers etc. together. As in all of Norway English was no problem.e

Room Tip: Get a room with porch and water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived at the lovely and quaint Nes Gard after a many hours drive and found a charming farmstead, kind and attentive staff, and quiet surroundings to explore. Our family of four stayed for nearly a week, venturing off each morning with a picnic packed during breakfast, and a thermos of hot chocolate. We hiked all day every day in the rain, fog, mist and sun, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spotlessly clean, simple yet comfortable. If we returned, which we already are dreaming of, we'd have two rooms (#11 and #12) because a bit tight for a family of four in one room. Also make sure to have a room with a private bath!
The knowledge of the owner of the area and trails is thorough, extremely trustworthy, and detailed. Food is delicious! Do take advantage of the chance to jump off their dock into the bracing glacial water of the fjord!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the outbuildings as they afford a bit more privacy. Also a private bath is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phebe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Outstanding service, assistance with area plans. Asbjorn is quick to email and answer any questions. Very amiable and knowledgable. The dinners are reasonably priced and outstanding--far better than anything else in the area. Breakfast is a full Norwegian buffet.

This is a great location for many day trips in the most scenic fjord area. We so enjoyed looking at the waterfall directly across the fjord. We were there for 8 nights. Due to our late booking, we spent the first few nights at the Lusterfjordhytter nearby, very nice, and came to Nes Gard for breakfast and dinner. Then we moved into the main building.
My relatives live in the Valdres area nearby--Asbjorn knows my cousin Bjorn. This was a great home base and the most scenic choice off the Sognefjord . We enjoyed the variety of accommodations available, especially having our own sitting area and nice private bathrooms. They are busy building. We were two couples--cannot possibly recommend it any higher.

Room Tip: Email Asbjorn about the options and details. Look at the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsinnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed in one of the cottages at this Nes Gard hotel/bed and breakfast. The host and hostess are delightful and very helpful in arranging local hiking trips. They serve great breakfasts and dinners. You can pack a lunch too for your daily adventures. The view overlooking the fjord alone would make this hotel a good choice, but the host and hostess really make the hotel special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skirooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

a really wonderful place to stay with wonderful views, good food and incredibly helpful kind hosts, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
536 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Great host and hostess. Wonderful room overlooking the fjord. great view of the waterfall across the fjord. Could hear it. Room was spotless. Owners took great care in the maintenance of the facility. Breakfast was fantastic. Would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Spent 3 nights (2 full days) here & wished we'd had several more. The place itself is beautifully situated on a fjord with unusual green water, a view of a large waterfall, and tinkling bells from local sheep. If it hadn't been cool or rainy, we'd have loved to sit out on the lawn with comfortable outdoor furniture. There's a view of an old, illuminated church as well as the fjord.

The owner gave us patient & helpful guidance in choosing local hikes to our specs. (He seemed able to respond to diverse needs: We saw him outfitting one couple with hiking boots as well as dropping them off at their hiking destination. Other guests were experienced mountain climbers.) We chose 2 hikes of 3-4 hours roundtrip within 20 minutes of Nes Gard, and were awestruck by the beauty. One day was stunning sunshine, the second was a foggy day that produced unusual scenes of great beauty.

In terms of meals: 1/2 board with dinner at Nes Gard is an incredibly good deal in an otherwise outrageously expensive country, and the dinners are simply prepared but hearty & tasty. We also dined at a more upscale local restaurant recommended by our host, and were favorably impressed. Not just the hosts but the waitstaff at Nes Gard are gentle and attentive without being invasive.

About our rooms: we had 211, which was small but had fantastic views, as did our traveling companion in 210. Because we had to change the dates of our stay by one day, we were not able to get the room that we had intended, and ended up in a more affordable but small attic room with extremely low eaves. (btw, the shower was great!) we recommend a room downstairs (#10?) (our original choice), with french doors to a small deck. The main house, dating to 1850, is lovely, but could be noisy -- we were in a separate building, which was fabulously quiet. Also available were two living rooms with terrific views, a nice fireplace, and elegant picture books related to norway and the fjords.

All in all, a place that grew on us as we enjoyed good hospitality and beauty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoyheimsvik
7.1 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
20.7 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
10.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
17.2 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#3 of 5 in Luster Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nes Gard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nes Gard

Property: Nes Gard
Address: Luster | Luster, Hoyheimsvik 6875, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Hoyheimsvik
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hoyheimsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse Nes Gard has a beautiful location, with a nice view of the mountains and Feigumfossen waterfall. Feigumfossen has a vertical drop of 218 meters this waterfall is one of the highest in Scandinavia.In our guesthouse you will stay in a charming building from 1850 with traditional architecture and interior. You will find an atmosphere that combines history with modern facilities. Our central location in Lusterfjord give you possibilities for many tours through beautiful scenery, walks along marked tracks and to visit famous historic attractions. You have the option of either unaccompanied or guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nes Gard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Gard Norway/Hoyheimsvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing