We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Norway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nes Gard

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nes Gard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hoyheimsvik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, California, Usa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Norway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nes Gard is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Right on the Luster Fjord, views to die for and the owner Ausbern is very charming. Breakfast and Dinner are very special. You are part of the family and you will learn a great deal about the wonderful Viking history that surrounds you. Don't miss this stop over........you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out on the Fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msbrandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edegem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a wonderfull place and location. We had a big room with a smal kitchen, a big terrace overlooking the sognefjord in front of the waterfall. Warm charming dinning room and sitting area's. A big garden with tables and chairs.
A pontoon on the water with pick-nick tables and 2 lounge chairs (spectacular).
Lovely tasty breakfast and diners. Very friendly owners and staff.
This was the best hotel(gard) of the whole trip price- quality wise. We payed 3840 NOK Full pension for 2 nights and 310 NOK for a bottle of wine.
From here we did the Sognefjord cruise starting from Fjaerland to Balestrand and back
than we drove the Gaularfjellet (another national tourist road) back to Nes Gard.
The first day of arrival we took the sognefjellet road and visited Urnes Stavkirke
Everything was just TOP!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed one night in Høyheimsvik but should have stayed many nights! Everything was first class. Rooms were nice, food was very good. The host were most welcoming, everybody working at Nes Gård was professional but the service was personal and perfect. We shall definitely return in the very near future.

Room Tip: You have to have a view of the water fall across the fjord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radvaeringen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
405 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I happen to like small inns with beautiful scenery, and that's what you have here. The view from Nes Gard of the Sognefjord is jaw-dropping. I don't know if there could be a more beautiful setting. And the property -- the room and dining room -- were charming. The room was done in a sort of nice country cottage decor, too decorated to be called rustic, but not lavish or luxurious. The luxury, of course, is in the view from the room over the Sognefjord, and from the small porch.

The living and dining rooms at Nes Gard are similarly attractive. The food was pretty good, though not on the level of the rest of the property. One thing to note is that Nes Gard has few options for outside dining. We visited at the end of May, and the nearest restaurant was in Sogndal, about a half hour's drive away.

Very helpful service, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here three times, and it has been fantastic every time. Excellent(!) location with a great view of the fjord, snow-capped mountains and the Feigumfossen waterfall. The service is superb - friendly and with great attention to detail. Rooms are comfortable with a nice mix of modern conveniences and history with a personal touch. A very good alternative to Walaker hotel and BesteBakken.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CL-1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed three nights at Nes Gard on a driving holiday through fjord Norway. We stayed in one of the apartments with two bedrooms, a bathroom and a wonderfully comfortable living/dining/kitchen. Perhaps our only regret is that there was so much to see in and around the guesthouse, we had very little time to relax in the apartment itself. Asbjorn is a wonderful host (even fitted us out with hiking boots from his shed!). We enjoyed excellent dinners in the dining room each night - the setting is unbelievable with views over a small church, across the fjord to the falls. Our entire stay was a highlight of our month travelling and we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Nes Gard has to be the best place to stay in Norway if you're into seeing the fjords, climb glaciers and be one with nature!! The hosts were amazing they had so much knowledge on where to go hiking, they even gave us keys to one of their cabins up in the mountains which was the size of a small house! it was a great experience!!

Nes Gard isn't really a B&B it's more of a hotel even though they tell when u when u arrive that they are not a hotel!! My advise is to book in for the bed breakfast and dinner as the food is seriously delicious!! You get a three course meal which any top class restaurant would be proud to serve up!! Our room was small but really quaint and to balance it off we had a fabulous bathroom. There is a lovely sitting room you can relax in after a days sightseeing, a garden overlooking the fiord where we had a drink every evening before the dinner. They serve wine and beer so you don't need to bring your own!! The dinning room is really lovely in design and seats around 25 people whom you get to join for dinner and share your stories!

My advise to anyone who reads this is stay at least 4 days to make the experience worth while! Fabulous fabulous fabulous is all I can say!!!

We'll be back!!


Claire and Charlie from Wicklow Ireland

Room Tip: you can get a room with a balcony and fantastic view of the fiord our room had a side view but no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoyheimsvik
7.1 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.5 mi away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#8 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
17.2 mi away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#3 of 5 in Luster Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.3 mi away
Eikum Hotel
Eikum Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hafslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nes Gard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nes Gard

Property: Nes Gard
Address: Luster | Luster, Hoyheimsvik 6875, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality > Hoyheimsvik
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hoyheimsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse Nes Gard has a beautiful location, with a nice view of the mountains and Feigumfossen waterfall. Feigumfossen has a vertical drop of 218 meters this waterfall is one of the highest in Scandinavia.In our guesthouse you will stay in a charming building from 1850 with traditional architecture and interior. You will find an atmosphere that combines history with modern facilities. Our central location in Lusterfjord give you possibilities for many tours through beautiful scenery, walks along marked tracks and to visit famous historic attractions. You have the option of either unaccompanied or guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nes Gard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Gard Norway/Hoyheimsvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing