We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The best retreat in Wales”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ty Cariad

Ty Cariad
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ty Cariad
Dramatic view from front windows to Bran's Rock (Bran means Crow) changes every day with the weather Comfortable living room with leather seating, Sky HD TV via Sony Bravia internet TV. Free wireless b
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
17 reviews
Ty Cariad
Dramatic view from front windows to Bran's Rock (Bran means Crow) changes every day with the weather
Comfortable living room with leather seating, Sky HD TV via Sony Bravia internet TV. Free wireless b
Cozy leather sofa, original artwork on all of the walls
A desk and shelving by the window for artists and writers. Fully stocked bookcase for rainy days and
Main bedroom; supremely comfortable king size four poster bed, vaulted oak ceiling and oak floor. St
Guest bedroom; comfortable new mattresses on vintage double and single beds
Kitchen looking through to dining room. Marble composite worktops, steam oven, dishwasher.
Kitchen facing back (stable) door; dishwasher, microwave and very well-equipped for cooking
Dining room; vintage accessories and large dining table
Dining room connects with kitchen; charming cast iron radiators throughout the cottage
Beautiful floors throughout - tile and oak downstairs, solid oak upstairs
Back stable door onto patio area
Lovely cottage garden with herbs for your table
Cottage garden; well-planted with seasonal variety
Garden seating provided; table and chairs and deck chairs for the lawn, small barbecue.
The garden in May
Winter view from front window
Winter view over lawn
Large Porch for bicycles and Parking space for at least 2 vehicles at the front
A view from the surrounding hilltops
Nearby Grogwynion Nature Reserve
The Hafod forest estate with it's beautiful trails and gardens is on the doorstep of the villag
Views from one of the Hafod trails
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pont-Rhyd-y-Groes, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin_Th...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Cottage, lovely area”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Comfortable and well equipped. Lots of decorative touches. Creaky bed and floorboards. Very spacious lounge for the style of house.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the view from the cottage
Liked least: clutter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
931JaneGr...
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Fab rental, classy style”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in March 2012

We are a family of four, with a 1 and 3 yr old at the time we stayed at Ty Cariad. Found purely by chance, what a warm and friendly home we walked into. Such a peaceful location but it was the character of the cottage that made our stay. Of the many places we've stayed over the years, we appreciated how beautifully decorated/stocked Ty Cariad was. From the luxorious bedding, to the stunning quirky kitchen, the whole feel of the house made our holiday there. Often, there isn't much atention to detail in holiday homes and the style really was lovely. Ideal location for walking or just relaxing as we did. Would recommend to anyone who appreciates a cozy retreat.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The 'chabby chic' feel
Liked least: That pets were allowed (we have no pets)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmadand...
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage and Locality”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were somewhat very apprehensive at the start of our Holiday as the Snow had been falling all day in the Midlands and by 3pm there was four to five inches of fresh drifting snow Anyway before we considered setting out I Telephoned the Miners Arms in the Village and got the Local weather report advising that the Roads were clear.
The journey through Shropshire and Ceredigion was fairly quite as the Roads were quite because of the blizzard conditions.
We arrived at Ty Cariad at around 6.30 pm on the 23rd March 2013. The lane that leads from the main village Roadway was tight but the caretaker Angela Ellis had salted the Hairpin bend at the midpoint of the Route.
The Left turn into the Cottage is fairly tight but if you stay as far over to the right as possible you can get the maximum turning circle into the Yard. Our Car is a Skoda Octavia and it fitted fairly comfortably into a parking space. Of course you have to perform a Ten-point reverse to get out! If you are careful you will be able to get into the yard. Only some of the largest Saloons or 4 x 4 s may have problems.
We eagerly alighted the car to enter into the house. There is a nice Oak vestibule and a key safe on the wall of the property. There are two light switches to enable you to light up the yard and the porch before you enter into the House.
Once the front door was opened the heat coming from the Lounge hit us. We carried out a cursory examination of the property. It is an exceptional Let. Every room has been decorated to a high standard and is presented exceptionally well with the Owners own Artwork and textiles.
The two bedrooms exceptionally tasteful and the beds large and comfortable. I am just over 6ft in height and I did catch the top of my head on the Master bedroom doorframe on the very last day whilst clearing out!
We normally rent three to four properties per year and to be honest this has to be the best one we have ever had.
It has very good local amenities. The Miners Arms pub is the main focal point for the Locals. Doing excellent food and Drink. We had a couple reasonably priced meals here whilst sitting in front of a blazing Log fire. The Pub is also the Local shop, which is very useful.
From the Cottage there are several local walks nearby. If you turn left from the gate and walk up the hill passing the Telephone Box be careful of the three Collies that live in a Farm House. I think that they are only woofers. But please just bare it in mind. Once you get to the top of the hill the road goes down on itself to the main road in the Village. You get really goods views and Photo opportunities.
If you turn right out of the gate and into the Village cross over the main road and you get to the Old Water Wheel. You can cross over a bridge above a ravine and into the Forestry commission land. This is the site of many many old mines. So if you stay on approved footpaths you will be Okay.
Within 3 miles of the Cottage is the Hafod Estate. Buy a map from the Miners Arms for £2. It is well worth a visit. Several walks all colour coded and of different distances and difficulty. The estate was landscaped in the 19th Century and has waterfalls, ravines, cliffs, Caves, and Dramatic viewpoints.
Anyway on the last evening of our Holiday I contacted Julie the owner to book a further week later in the year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The exceptional High Quality of the cottage and its locality
Liked least: Coming Home !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myfanwy M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in Ty Cariad for a week in November 2012 and I must advise you all that it was absolutely wonderful. My partner has stayed in a number of holiday cottages over the years but thought this was the best one. The cottage has been restored beautifully and decorated with style and care. Lovely pictures on the walls too! It has a lovely atmosphere and feeling to it. The beds were so comfortable and it's so peaceful there that I had some fantastic nights sleep. The cottage setting was idyllic and perfect for getting away from it all. If you are feeling inclined to go walking or sightseeing we enjoyed a number of walks on the Hafod estate with our dogs. We also took the dogs to the local Miners pub where the food looked huge and wholesome. In the nights we curled up in front of the woodburner with red wine and real ale playing scrabble. I would recommend this cottage to anyone who enjoys relaxing, beautiful scenery and general all round loveliness.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The fact it felt remote but was close enough to go out easily
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing