We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome and a Perfect Stay”
Review of Nicolas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicolas Studios
Ranked #1 of 9 Skala B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome and a Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We are winding down 5 happy days at Nicolas Studios here on the edge of Skala, Patmos and we could not be more pleased with our choice. We have traveled throughout much of Greece for many years, in everything from big-name international hotel brands to very modest C-class hotels, and this is now one of our very favorite stays. It is quintessentially Greek.

Our top floor studio has simple traditional decor and all the modern amenities, including comfortable beds, a kitchenette, modern bathroom with plentiful hot water, good reading lights by the bed, not one but two electrical outlets available to recharge electronics (a small enough luxury, but often missing in Greece), and a delightful balcony with table and chairs overlooking the gardens, chickens and goats 75 yards away, and about 300 yards away the sapphire bay of Skala. A good taverna and the edge of town are a 10 minute walk away, and the heart of Skala is a 20-30 minute stroll. The studio is kept immaculately clean.

But better than the physical accommodations are Nicolas and his family, who personify Greek hospitality. Nicolas met us at the ferry at 5:30 am and his wife Theologia had homemade baked goods and coffee waiting for us. When there was no rental car available on the island (it being Easter weekend), Nicolas interrupted his own family holiday celebrations on Easter Eve to drive us to the wonderful midnight candlelight ceremony in Skala's town square, then picked us up afterward. Every morning he comes upstairs bearing a loaded Continental breakfast tray prepared by Theologia. We feel like ViPs but we gather from all the other glowing reviews that they welcome everyone this warmly.

Nicolas Studios is not fancy, but it is quiet, home-like, and the welcome you receive is from the heart. We give it our highest recommendation.

By the way, Holy Week on Patmos is wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabondage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Catalina, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Thank you to Nicolas and his family for a lovely stay on Patmos. Their hospitality is amazing. Nicolas met us at the port, helped us with car hire, and then we were met at the studios by his wife with a tray of coffee and treats. Our studio was just a delight - spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, great little kitchenette with dining table, and great views from our own private balcony. The bathroom was compact but so so clean, and with wonderful hot water that worked all the time (something that we often dont get in the islands). The studios have free wifi, which came in handy to keep in touch with home. Nicolas provided us with fresh eggs and fruit from his property, with even a parting gift of some pomegrenates. The studios are at one end of Skala, about 15 mins walk around the foreshore, but as we had a car this was fine. A beautifully peaceful property. We loved our short stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

From the Studios mascot, Luca, to the chickens, figs and hospitality, Nicholas Studios has got to be one of the best places we have stayed on our travels. My gratitude to the family stems deep within our hearts and I will never forget how much they put themselves out to ensure that we fulfilled out dreams in Patmos.

Glastonbury, my home town, is twinned with Patmos, so we took a gift to it's Mayor. Thomas sorted everything out. He drove, escorted us and helped us with formal introductions. He came with us to an evening of Greek dance and stopped by whenever he could just to 'share the love'. What a great guy, full of unconditional love without expectation!

'Mummy', as we named her, is a very thoughtful and kind lady. If she baked a cake, she would give us a piece (and boy, her lemon cake is gooood!), some beautiful home-made soup, coffee and even some fish casserole. Mummy, really was a mummy to us over the four days we spent in Patmos.

Even their daughter, Anastasia, was a joy to be with! She is the only one that Luca will allow to hold but, so kind is she, the long-eared rabbit is happy to roam free most of the time - just like the chickens (the fresh eggs are good, too!) who are allowed their freedom for an hour a day.

As we are cat lovers, we enjoyed the visits by a beautiful strippy one - not to mention our evening guest... a lizard who took pride of place in the archway of our apartment.

Nicholas has, more or less, built these studios by his own hands, created enclosures and planted the wonderful fig and almond trees within the complex. He is aiming to build a swimming pool in the future and has the vision to develop from his original humble beginnings. It is, perhaps, that someone who started with so little appreciates the creation process and, with the help of his family, does things 'in a certain way' - that of love and good intentions.

On a practical level, the studios were kept clean, with good air conditioning, a very handy fridge and ensuite shower and toilet. Thomas and Nicholas greets people off the ferry and can easily be identified with a 'Nicholas Studios' sign.
The accommodation is in walking distance to the centre of Skala, is about ten minutes to the beautiful beach in one direction (left, up the hill) and similar to the port in the other direction (right).

My advice to anyone who is visiting Nicholas Studios is to ask Nicholas and Thomas for the best places/prices for food, travel and amenities - in fact, just at the bottom of the road there is a most excellent fish and meat restaurant that is good value, clean and hospitable - they genuinely want to help!

Remember to take your driving licence as there is an opportunity to try out their mopeds (Patmos is very safe for driving these 'putt putt' vehicles), supplied by Stephanos who also owns a nice campsite with tents already up and running.

We really loved our stay with this beautiful family in Patmos and will never forget 'the love'. As Nicholas drove us back to the boat, I had a lump in my throat, Mummy had sent us off with two pieces of her lemon cake and Thomas followed on for a hug and goodbye. How can anyone not love this endearing family?

Room Tip: Try to book a room online - booking.com is good - as Nicholas Studios are popular and it isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazwellyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I travelled on my own for the first time island hopping (Rhodes to Lipsi to Patmos to Symi and back to Rhodes) therefore was slightly anxious and keen to stay somewhere friendly where I felt secure. Nicholas Studio’s was recommended to me by someone I made friends with in Lipsi and I was reassured that I would be very well looked after. I wasn’t disappointed and would highly recommend a long or short stay…………………….

I was met off the Catamaran on the quayside by the owner’s son who was among the usual crowd of hotel/lodging vendor representatives holding signs looking for potential customers. Once length of stay and price per day was established (at a very reasonable price) I was driven by car, by the owner to the accommodation where I was to stay.

The property itself offered a peaceful retreat away from the busy town and was also a short 2 minute walk away from Skala, gift boutiques, shops and restaurants, which meant having choice of the best of both worlds.

From the main drive leading up to the main building the accommodation was easy on the eye and neatly presented with white-washed exterior walls set within colourful and well-maintained garden.

On arrival I was asked whether I required car/scooter hire, good idea if you want the freedom to travel around the island and visit the Apokalypsis monastery and nearby beaches; Psili Ammos, Petra and Girkou to name a few. Scooter hire was arranged by the owner through a local provider, who was just as equally friendly and helpful. Details and agreements were exchanged at my convenience in the properties reception area. As with the accommodation, the price per day was competitively priced so there was no need to waste time and shop around.

The room I stayed in was pleasant, clean and modestly furnished with en-suite, fridge and a balcony that offered scenic views (if required the option of rooms with kitchenette was also available). The balcony also offered the opportunity of a cool evening breeze, particularly if sat outside or resting/sleeping in bed with the balcony doors wide open.

The husband and wife team are incredibly friendly and laidback and offer a high standard and professional service; rooms and beds are made-up, tidied and cleaned daily. Towels and bedding are also changed regularly. Breakfast was also provided and if for any reason I didn’t have time to indulge freshly made offerings (homemade flans and cakes) were left in my room which made for a welcome return, particularly since I hadn’t had time to snack-shop!!!

My stay was made all that more memorable by the owners who went the extra-mile and were both very approachable and happy to make time to chat. Transportation was also provided on my departure, without me asking, back to the quayside in-time for my Catamaran back to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Depending how long you plan to stay there is an option of rooms with/without a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolB125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Nicolas studios in July 2012. Everything was perfect: we were suggested about anything by the kind mr. "Nico": motorbike rent, restaurant, things to do, etc. We had rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday, plus some snack offered by "the house" (water melon, almond milk, vegetables cake).
Note: in the morning the rising sun is covered by a hill near the studios, so you have no direct sunlight warming up your room early and you can sleep longer ;)
Thank you !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriellino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This place is a perfect base for a stay in Patmos and great value. The family who own it collect you from the Ferry. It's a little outside the town centre, which means it is very quiet. I think the majority of rooms have balconies with views of the harbour. As soon as we arrived the owner offered to sort out rental of a scooter, which duly arrived 5 mins later, and was a complete bargain. One day the owners wife left in our room fresh boiled eggs (from the chickens in their garden), olives and a slices of her homemade traditional cake. When my girlfriend had a sore throat she brought her herbal tea with honey!
It's so refreshing to go somewhere where the owners genuinely care about the guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Intended to stay for 3 nights and stayed for eight. A short walk from Skala, turn right of the ferry when the shops stop walk a bit further to the "Netia Taverna". Have lunch and then walk up the lane behind to the Taverna to the appartments. Nicolas and Theologica and family will welcome you with a coffee or whatever, Rooms are spacious, with or without kitchen area. Wifi and satellite in all rooms as well as a lounge with TV and 2 computers. thick curtains, copious water, lovely gardens, goats and rabbits and to cap it all, a steep walk over the hill to Meloi beach with 2 small tavernas and no beds, water sports, just clear blue sea and a sheltered sandy cove. Again get a scooter for a day and look around the island. there are many beaches all different. there is even an owl that sits at the back of the house and blink at you.

The comment on another booking site about the distance to the minimarket is just valid... but its only 10 mins each way if that. If you want something heavy, water etc, Nicolas or his sons will expect to drive you, they also collect and deliver you from and to the ferry at no cost or any obligation.
This is a gem which is why they have many returners and that will include us. Go there, oh air con as well.

Room Tip: top floor with a kitchen for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.6 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodon Hotel
Rodon Hotel
#3 of 5 in Skala
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kambos
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
Petra Hotel & Suites
Petra Hotel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grikos
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolas Studios

Property: Nicolas Studios
Address: Patmos, Skala 855 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Skala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolas Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicolas Studios in Patmos can be found in Skala, 900 metres away from the port and just few minutes from the beach Meloi in a quiet and friendly environment which makes your stay cozy, pleasant and unforgettable!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nicolas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolas Studios Skala, Patmos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing