We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Patmos”
Review of Skala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skala Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Came to Skala Hotel 25 years ago for our honeymoon so decided to return for our 25th anniversary. Was a bit worried I wouldn't like the changes but I needn't have. There are more roads, buildings and a new marina on Patmos but it's still as lovely as it was.
The hotel has been refurbished and is very comfortable and conveniently located near the harbour, restaurants and shops - though well set back behind the main road so not noisy. The staff, headed by Theo, are extremely friendly and helpful and answered our endless questions without seeming to tire of them! They had prepared our room with flowers, wine and pastries (as we had told them it was our anniversary) which was a lovely surprise! Breakfast had plenty to choose from - croissants, bread, cake, cookies, cheese, meat, yogurt, fruit, eggs etc - and there was covered seating outside which was perfect. The pool (with bar) was a great alternative to the sea and there was a shower and towels were provided for it. As part of an eco-friendly drive they have installed shutter doors which keep out an amazing amount of heat! And the air-conditioning (which was included) did not work unless the shutters and doors were closed. Also the electricity cut out when you left the room so that there is no wastage. The cleaning ladies did a great job every day leaving the room looking spotless.
Would recommend to couples, families and business people but not groups of friends as the atmosphere is one of peace and quiet. In fact the whole island is peaceful as (due to the presence of the monastery) there are no clubs. This only adds to its charm.
Skala Hotel is great value for money and is worth more than its 3 star rating!

Room Tip: Choose from overlooking the harbour or up towards Chora where the imposing monastery is located - ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just imagine ! On a Greek island, you walk though a cool and darkened tunnel of vegetation and emerge into a huge quiet courtyard, hung with bright bourganvillea, with a fountain playing in the middle, a swimming pool away to the left , and a shady area with tables and chairs to the right. You are welcomed by courteous and efficient staff, taken to a clean and spacious room, well furnished, and with a bathroom which includes a walk-in shower. Is this Greece ? Yes, because you only have to walk outside the hotel and you are in the very centre of a working Greek town and port. Tavernas, snack-bars, shops, and excursion boats are only minutes away.
We have stayed at the Hotel Skala in Patmos for the last two years. The hotel is surprisingly quiet, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, including the owner. It is a quality base for anyone who wants to experience this fascinating island, with the benefit of some comfort at the beginning and end to the day. The public rooms are spacious and often empty and there is ample places to sit outside if you prefer, of if your balcony gets too hot in the afternoon. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the ferries, but meeting and transport can be arranged. We have done geriatric backpacking, island hopping and have enjoyed some of the primitive aspects of visiting Greece, but we now value being able to have a Greek experience in some peace and comfort. For us, the Hotel Skala can't be faulted.

Reverend Monty

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be at the back of the hotel which is quiet, but does have sun in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hello - I visited Skala Hotel last year and again this year. The staff make the hotel a great place to visit - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are not boutique however they are kept very clean and they provide comfort, space to hang up your clothes and fabulous powerful showers. The swimming pool is a very welcome addition and this is also kept very clean with sufficient sunbeds for everyone with great views of the bougainvillea . Theo the owner is a lovely man - very hospitable, polite and easy going (in a good way). I would thoroughly recommend that you give this hotel a whirl.
Julia A

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia_Hebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spend here one week. Very nice and clean room room with excellent shower and bathroom. Fridge is minibar size but enough for big waterbottles and wine. Aircondition extra charge 4€ per day but I didn't need it. Good breakfast, bread, boiled eggs, cerial and all the basic elements. Soundproofing between the corridor and the room is what it is in these greek buildings. Water in the pool smelled funny but the water was salt water (because they have a serious water problem in the island) wich explains it. My room was facing to backside of the hotel wich was nice because it was very quiet and relaxing.
Two annoying things though, no shade for the sun on the balcony until 7.30 pm when the sun went behind the hill. Extremely hot balcony! And annoying little barking dog on the opposite house's terrace. Well, it's not hotels fault but anyways.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Maaria142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After 2 weeks in Greece, travelling with a group from place to place, this was a wonderful end to the trip. Quiet, covered in bougainvillaea, close to the front but not on it, with spacious rooms and a large pool with a bar happy to serve Earl Grey tea as well as cocktails. We were even given access to our rooms right up to leaving on the midnight ferry. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grethe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've been to Greece many times and traveled other places, but I've never had an owner put so much effort into my "unusual" requests. I was on Patmos for research interests and needed help not just with a rental car, but with things like a contact at a monastery and entrance into a locked church in a difficult location. Theologos (the owner and manager) spent hours making sure I got to the right people and places. The staff were all very friendly and helpful as well, from the desk to the maids to the barkeep. The location is excellent: a couple short blocks from the ferry; in the middle of the harbor area of Skala, but set back enough to be calm and quiet. The facilities are quite good: a nice pool, lots of bougainvillea. Rooms are clean and comfortable with recently remodeled bathrooms. And a plentiful breakfast buffet every morning. What more could you want? (They have double beds!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I visited Patmos for 5 days in 2014. It was a work/pleasure trip. We stayed at the Skala Hotel. It is just a short walk from the Ferry stop at the port. We had to come in on a night ferry, but there was someone there to greet us and give us a key when we arrived.

All of the people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. In the short time we were there we were recognized and we felt like we got to know the desk staff. They were quick to help us the first day to change to a room with a double bed. They answered any questions and helped with renting a car.

There is a pool and a pool bar at the hotel, but with so many beaches that are easy to get to we were not interested in the pool. The breakfast buffet was full of many choices and delicious. The hotel was clean.

The most impressive thing was that the proprietor of the hotel helped us with some special accomodations so that we could get some work done and see things that were extremely helpful. This took extra time and energy from Mr. Theologos and it was so exciting for us.

Room Tip: Our first room with two single beds was in the front of the hotel with a nice view of the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicefriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.8 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#5 of 20 in Patmos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Petra Hotel & Suites
Petra Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Grikos
268 reviews
2 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kambos
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Effie Hotel
Effie Hotel
#18 of 20 in Patmos
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skala Hotel

Address: Skala 855 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skala
Price Range: £50 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a 3 star category family hotel built in a traditional island style, quietly situated in its own beautiful gardens only 50 meters from the sea, in the village of Skala.All rooms were renovated in 2007, they have balconies with either sea or mountain view, private facilities with bath or shower with hair-dryer, telephone, satellite TV, mini-bar and air-condition.There is a spacious lounge, Bar with Satellite TV and a Breakfast room, all with terraces for those who prefer the open air. A swimming pool & pool-bar in the garden completes the beauty of the environment.Skala Hotel has a recently built conference room with a capacity of 400 seats in theater’s arrangement. Wi Fi internet access is provided in all hotel areas. Laundry service, Babysitting service, Massage treatments on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skala Hotel pátmos
Skala Hotel Patmos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing