We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite place in Nicaragua”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pochomil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pochomil
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A favorite place in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

After 3 trips to Nicaragua, and staying at Los Cardones all 3 times, the place is still wonderful. The food is the best I've had in Nicaragua and the staff is always fantastic. The lodge is a little rustic, if you need AC and electricity, stay in one of the rental properties nearby.

Room Tip: Request a raised cabin, the breezes and views are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    12
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
26
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had an amazing family vacation over 2011 USA Thanksgiving break with our children 5 & 8. Wanted to stay a week but they were booked, so the manager helped us get a "rancho" house next to their property for 3 days - beautiful with kitchen, etc, and then spent the most relaxing 4 days at their eco-lodge. Amazing breezes thru our cabana and views from our front 'yard,' horseback riding thru sugar cane fields and down beach, husband walked to Asuchillo surf spot with a paddle board (long walk w that board - taxied over next day), nature trail with stream, no mosiquitos, mile walk down beach to local 'chain' hotel to swim in their infinity pool, hours on boogie boards and surf boards directly in front of the lodge, pinata party at night, amazingly kind and friendly service, $15 hour long massages, tonas and sodas to our hearts content, kids helping return baby turtles to the ocean after hatching - truly a dream vacation!

Room Tip: Request a bungalow on the beachside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alixe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at Los Cardones with a surf and yoga retreat - run by Lydia Vasquez and Kari Couchman, and loved every second.
The staff are very nice and try to be as helpful as possible, even though English is hard for them and Spanish/French are not in my repertoire. Paul and Danielle, the managers, were welcoming, helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay a happy one.
The food is amazing, all fresh and home made. The meals are always filling and delicious. The staff do their best to cater to your needs if you have allergies or dislikes. Drinks are available all day with 2 fridges providing juice, beer, soft drinks and water. The coffee is great quality.
The cabin I stayed in was further away from the main area but close to a toilet block, which I liked (no long walks in the dark). We had 2 hammocks out the front of the cabin, and they are also placed all over the main area for chilling out. All beds have flyscreens to keep the mosquitos and other bugs out. The mattress on my bed was thin, but I like a solid bed so this was not a problem for me.
The location of the Lodge is to die for. Such beautiful scenery and located on the beach, with uninterrupted views. The surf in front of the hotel is perfect for learners, which I was, but more experienced surfers also seemed to like the waves.
Overall I fell in love with Los Cardones and the people. It was my paradise!! I love how Eco Friendly it is without giving up those little luxuries. There is only electricity in the main area, so they use solar lights along the path at night, candles are provided in the rooms. The toilets are compost drop toilets - but there was no funky smell, and the showers are cold - which is great in the heat.
One point to note; if you are booking the horse riding and tall like myself - let the owner know before he arrives, as it was not the most comfortable ride I have had. I feel this was partially my fault for not letting him know, and they are, on average, a shorter people.

Room Tip: If you don't want to go outside at night for the toilet ask for a bungalow, but they are more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indi_Sahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you want an experience that is off the beaten path but you still want to be treated with top quality service then Los Cardones is the place to go. Every hand prepared, made from scratch, meal was delicious. Breakfast always included warm baked bread, fresh cut fruit and hand squeezed juices. Lunch and supper offered a thorough menu with always changing, always exciting dinner features. Paul, Danielle and all the management team were able to provide local insight to help plan day trips, guards were friendly and helpful, and all the always cheerful staff worked to make sure that every guest's experience was the best that it could be. Keeping in mind that it is an eco-lodge, you will appreciate how clean everything is kept.

Every single day was a new adventure that I'll never forget. We were able to go help out at the local school, take surfing lessons & yoga classes, have massages, take an ocean fishing trip (w/ Dan booked through the lodge), had a day trip to Masaya and the volcano, and help baby sea turtles into the ocean

I didn't meet a single employee or guest that wasn't excited to be there. Everyone together made it one of the best experiences of my life. Los Cardones will not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was my second trip to Nicaragua, and my second trip to Los Cardones.
It is such an enchanted spot. The accommodations are simple but thoughtful.
The food/drink are delicious. Hammocks are abundant. The people/service are amazing.
Yoga and surf are fantastic. Perfect spot ... I will return again and quite possibly spend the entire time at Los Cardones.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the beach bungalows as it's warm and the breeze is essential for a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallierhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Just returned from a father and son surf trip to Los Cardones and am already missing such a magical place. We have traveled extensively through Central America and knew what to expect when it came to the great waves, beaches, marine life, sunsets etc. What I didn’t expect was to find a place like Los Cardones that couldn’t be more perfect.

Paul and Daniel, the managers, are the most genuine, caring, and efficient hosts you could ever expect to encounter. The owners of the lodge were away during the week of our stay and the lodge continued to operate flawlessly. In fact, the end of the week was very busy with day-trippers from Managua (for Santa Semana) however Paul and Daniel never lost sight of their guests. A true testament to their proficiency! And it would be a crime for me not to say thank you to all the other wonderful employees- the cooks, Elvis (transportation), housekeeping, security, bartenders etc. We had a blast in the rancho! After a day or two everyone felt like family.

Our stilted bungalow (#7) overlooked the ocean- couldn’t ask for a more perfect place to get lulled asleep by the roar of the ocean, or to do a surf check by just lifting your head in bed. Our days consisted of surfing, eating, surfing, eating, lounging in hammocks, cold Tonas, exploring beaches, cold Tonas, dinner….you get the idea. The food is amazing and portions more than enough! On the afternoon we arrived, we were asked if we wanted a brick oven pizza to tie us over until dinner! We brought tons of trail mix and power bars expecting to be hungry throughout the day- we ended up giving them to the staff. We also met some great new people at the lodge.- many email addresses were exchanged and I’m confident that we will all reconnect in the future!

Thanks again “Positive Paul”, Daniel, and all the wonderful staff that made our stay so magical. Anytime you are ever in my neck of the woods, you have a home to stay in- I could only hope to be as accommodating as you! Will send photos soon.

Mike, Myles, Jason, & Evan
St. Augustine, FL

Room Tip: Stilted bungalows for views and ocean breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6MikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Los Cardones, and we wish we were still there!

Paul and Danielle, the managers, are kind, genuine, welcoming hosts and made us feel right at home. The entire staff of cooks, bartenders, security guys, everyone, is just awesome and so hospitable. We met so many great people there and had a fantastic time. We released baby turtles, had a full moon bonfire on the beach, surfed three times a day (we're beginner surfers and the waves were perfect), lounged in hammocks, and drank about 15 Tonas a day (unlimited beer is included in the price!).

When we arrived in Managua, Elvis the driver met us right outside the baggage claim area and he drove us 1.5 hrs to Los Cardones. While on the way there, the managers called on Elvis' cell phone and took our lunch order. What service! We stayed in one of the stilted bungalows (#6), which had a full bathroom, double bed with bug net, and a large deck with two hammocks right on the beach. The food was so great, lots of fresh grilled fish and chicken, curry, lasagna, pizza, lots of fresh fruit, wonderful deserts and did I mention unlimited beer/water/soda/juice?

We are currently spending our last week at a place in San Juan del Sur that has electricity, AC, hot showers, mediocre food and expensive beer, and an unfriendly staff and we would honestly give anything to be back at Los Cardones. Next time we come to Nicaragua we will book our entire stay there for sure.

Room Tip: Stilted bungalow #6 was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pochomil
11.9 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
11.7 mi away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casa Del Titito
Casa Del Titito
#1 of 2 in Masachapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
8.7 mi away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
12.7 mi away
SOLID Surf & Adventure
SOLID Surf & Adventure
#2 of 4 in El Transito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cardones EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cardones EcoLodge

Property: Los Cardones EcoLodge
Address: | Km 49 Carretera Montelimar, 15 Km Oeste, Pochomil, Nicaragua (Formerly Los Cardones Surf Lodge)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Pochomil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pochomil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cardones EcoLodge is a Beach Eco Resort on the most pristine surf spots of Nicaragua. We work for sea turtle conservation with our nursery, habitat preservation and beach cleanups. Empty waves roll in all year. The beaches are exposed to both SW and NW swells, making the surf very consistent. An epic left point break, a right reef break, excellent beach breaks await our guests, just one hour from the airport of Managua. Meet people… allow your soul to play and fall in love with Nicaragua. Engage meaningfully with our local community... Volunteer with us at the local school. Become one with nature… Save endangered sea turtles. Find fulfillment in simplicity. Nurture your body with healthy food and activity… massages, yoga, surf lessons, horseback rides, fat tire bicycles, beach volley ball, ping pong, slackline, delicious, homemade, wholesome meals, mangroves and luxuriant forest, fresh air, warm ocean. This Nicaragua Surf Resort is an acclaimed Eco Resort verified by Rainforest Alliance with the highest compliance to sustainable tourism in Nicaragua. Our values: Friends and Family, Protecting our Planet, Sustainable Community Development, Healthy Living, Learning through Sharing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Cardones Surf Hotel Los Cardones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing