We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation at the end of the road” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Cardones EcoLodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pochomil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pochomil
Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation at the end of the road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent place to stay off the grid! Great staff,Great food--they really aim to please in a very laid back atmosphere.We could only stay two nights but got to take a surf lesson and use the spa and yoga facilities-again all great. The surf instructor-also the bartender-was great at getting my kids up surfing for the first time-we had a blast. They raise turtles to keep them from being poached off the beach-we got to help let the little ones go at sunset. This is a special place with a beautiful beach that is untouched for miles! Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the beach front bungalows,although you can hear the waves crashing from everyone o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basinharborbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have been to the surf lodge a few times now and love it every time. Right on the beach on an out of the wAy location. If you like to surf, do yoga, fish or just chill in a hammock this is the place.

It is an Eco lodge so the bungalows are basic with mosquito nets and private showers. All have a great view and are extremely clean. Powered by candle light it is very nice place to relax. If you want a more luxury option they also have some private villas with air conditioning and hot water close to their lodge.

The food is the best in Nicaragua. I can't say more than that.

Gets a bit clouded on the weekend with locals coming from the city but you can still find a place to chill and guests of the resort have priority. I think one of the best times we had was during the slow rainy season whee we were close to the only ones there. Our pick of the hammocks.

Highly recommend this lodge

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocarocaR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved Los Cardones. The people were super.....surfers from California, Florida, France, and Canada.....there to serve and educate us. The food was as good as the people.....fresh fish from the local beach and sea, cooked with local veggies, bananas, all organic, all sugar-free. The rooms were super comfortable, especially the cabinas with private bathrooms. We loved the porch off of our room, facing the ocean and the sunset in summer. We were thrilled by the European plan, which includes room, three meals a day, and all the soda and beer you can drink. The other guests were interesting and from all over the world, some surfers, some yoga masters, some environmentalists, some just vacationers come to relax. The lodge was good for families and couples. One guy was there for a month by himself, just body boarding and reading between meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabina on stilts with its own bathroom. They are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Planned trip one day ahead of arriving. Owners Laure and Isaac are amazing, and truly put their heart and seoul into ensuring guests are delighted. Food is thoughtful and delicious. The beach has a beach break and is nearly empty - great place for beginners to learn to surf. I had an absolute blast. I need to detox and recharge, and Los Cardones was the perfect place to do just that.

Room Tip: No electricity at the hotel. Bring a flashlight and battery powered fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

After 3 trips to Nicaragua, and staying at Los Cardones all 3 times, the place is still wonderful. The food is the best I've had in Nicaragua and the staff is always fantastic. The lodge is a little rustic, if you need AC and electricity, stay in one of the rental properties nearby.

Room Tip: Request a raised cabin, the breezes and views are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had an amazing family vacation over 2011 USA Thanksgiving break with our children 5 & 8. Wanted to stay a week but they were booked, so the manager helped us get a "rancho" house next to their property for 3 days - beautiful with kitchen, etc, and then spent the most relaxing 4 days at their eco-lodge. Amazing breezes thru our cabana and views from our front 'yard,' horseback riding thru sugar cane fields and down beach, husband walked to Asuchillo surf spot with a paddle board (long walk w that board - taxied over next day), nature trail with stream, no mosiquitos, mile walk down beach to local 'chain' hotel to swim in their infinity pool, hours on boogie boards and surf boards directly in front of the lodge, pinata party at night, amazingly kind and friendly service, $15 hour long massages, tonas and sodas to our hearts content, kids helping return baby turtles to the ocean after hatching - truly a dream vacation!

Room Tip: Request a bungalow on the beachside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alixe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at Los Cardones with a surf and yoga retreat - run by Lydia Vasquez and Kari Couchman, and loved every second.
The staff are very nice and try to be as helpful as possible, even though English is hard for them and Spanish/French are not in my repertoire. Paul and Danielle, the managers, were welcoming, helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay a happy one.
The food is amazing, all fresh and home made. The meals are always filling and delicious. The staff do their best to cater to your needs if you have allergies or dislikes. Drinks are available all day with 2 fridges providing juice, beer, soft drinks and water. The coffee is great quality.
The cabin I stayed in was further away from the main area but close to a toilet block, which I liked (no long walks in the dark). We had 2 hammocks out the front of the cabin, and they are also placed all over the main area for chilling out. All beds have flyscreens to keep the mosquitos and other bugs out. The mattress on my bed was thin, but I like a solid bed so this was not a problem for me.
The location of the Lodge is to die for. Such beautiful scenery and located on the beach, with uninterrupted views. The surf in front of the hotel is perfect for learners, which I was, but more experienced surfers also seemed to like the waves.
Overall I fell in love with Los Cardones and the people. It was my paradise!! I love how Eco Friendly it is without giving up those little luxuries. There is only electricity in the main area, so they use solar lights along the path at night, candles are provided in the rooms. The toilets are compost drop toilets - but there was no funky smell, and the showers are cold - which is great in the heat.
One point to note; if you are booking the horse riding and tall like myself - let the owner know before he arrives, as it was not the most comfortable ride I have had. I feel this was partially my fault for not letting him know, and they are, on average, a shorter people.

Room Tip: If you don't want to go outside at night for the toilet ask for a bungalow, but they are more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indi_Sahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pochomil
11.8 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
27.2 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
10.6 mi away
Casa Del Titito
Casa Del Titito
#1 of 2 in Masachapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cardones EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cardones EcoLodge

Property: Los Cardones EcoLodge
Address: | Km 49 Carretera Montelimar, 15 Km Oeste, Pochomil, Nicaragua (Formerly Los Cardones Surf Lodge)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Pochomil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pochomil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cardones Surf Lodge is a Beach Resort on the most pristine surf spots of Nicaragua. Surf, get back and snap a cold beer, eat delicious meals, wake up and do it all over again... Empty waves roll in all year. The beaches are exposed to both SW and NW swells, making the surf very consistent. An epic left point break, a right reef break, excellent beach breaks await our guests, just one hour from the airport of Managua. Surf, laugh, meet people… allow your soul to play and fall in love with Nicaragua. Engage meaningfully with our local community... Volunteer with us at the local school. Become one with nature… Save endangered sea turtles. Find fulfillment in simplicity. Nurture your body with healthy food and activity… massages, yoga, surf lessons, horseback rides, bicycles, beach volley ball, ping pong, slackline, delicious, homemade, wholesome meals, mangroves and luxuriant forest, fresh air, warm ocean. This Nicaragua Surf Resort is an acclaimed Eco Resort verified by Rainforest Alliance with the highest compliance to sustainable tourism in Nicaragua. Our values: Friends and Family, Protecting our Planet, Sustainable Community Development, Healthy Living, Learning through Sharing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Cardones Surf Hotel Los Cardones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing