We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Street Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Good beer and cheerful staff. Superb gammon and steak meals, excellent and large salad, excellent chips, reasonable pork medallion and salmon meals. Definitely recommended, usual Yorkshire portions - one lady was having to wrestle with her enormous pie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Palaeolithic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Street Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We visited this pub 3 nights in a row while camping next door. My daughter is a fussy eater and only wanted chips, which wasn't a problem, after we left the pub we realised we had been charged twice! my husband paid for a portion of chips when he ordered our drinks and then i paid again before we left, our fault as neither thought the other had paid but we didn't mention it on our next visit - our fault.

The third night we had booked a table for 7 including 3 children, after sitting at the wrong table we were politely asked to move to the back room, which wasn't really a problem.

The waiter eventually took our order and our food arrived, it looked and tasted lovely. I was expecting a Sunday roast but as the menu said lamb and Yorkshire pudding, which is exactly what i received...noting else on the plate. Three of the four adults ordered vegetables and one ordered salad, two ordered potatoes and 5 ordered chips. We received one bowl of veg, which i assumed was between my partner and myself, as i had seen the night before the same size portion being served to one person....no second portion arrived, plenty of chips though! The potatoes i ordered arrived - i was expecting mash - to go with my Sunday dinner but we got potato lyonnaise- which were beautiful, but not what i was expecting, no roasties and no other veg apart from carrots broccoli and cauliflower. It was filling (well it was for me as I ate the veg which i assumed was meant for myself and my partner) hoping, while eating, that another portion would arrive for the other 2 people but the waiter did not say this is yours or this is yours, he just plonked it down ...and not once did he ask if we were enjoying our meal...we never seen him again until he came to collect our plates. I don't think the reviews on this site are accurate -not if you are a stranger with kids, if you are a regular ...you are more likely to be treat better. The food was nice, but portion sizes? not as great as the reviews state, heaps of veg and potatoes? not for us Geordies. Nice pint of bitter though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A little bit off the beaten track but our luck was in when we found this little Gem. From the outside it feels like nothing particularly special but there is a good balance between the restaurant and the more traditional pub. Although we didn't stay, they have a number of rooms for holiday makers. The menu itself is again quite traditional choosing between the Sunday roast and items like Yorkshire Fish and Chips. We opted for the roast and were very impressed. As well as a beautifully tender cut of meat it is served with three types of potato, five vegetables and the a jug of fantastic gravy. The puddings were also extremely tasty. All in all well worth a stop for lunch or evening meal. Quite probably one of the nicest Sunday lunches I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebob170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of June 2013.

Lovely pub in beautiful location. Rooms spotlessly clean and spacious. Food cannot be faulted. The stilton mushroom starter followed by breast of lamb with sausage meat stuffing was one of the best meals I've had in some time. Friendly staff and landlord. Will almost certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful weekend break in the Yorkshire Dales. We have been staying at the Street Head Inn for 20 years and have always had complete satisfaction.
The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent. Nigel and his staff are always helpful and efficient. All rooms have lovely views over the Dale, and the Inn is well situated for all the main attractions. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 3 can be subject to noise from the bar on Saturday evenings
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUNCHLOVER48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We dined here whilst staying in nearby West Whitton, after a recommendation. We enjoyed the food - delicious fillet steak - so much that we returned again. Friendly service and a good atmosphere.

You would be advised to book as they seemed to be very busy. An early bird option is available up to 1900hrs. Beware - portions are not small!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank here2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Cosy village pub, locals make you feel welcome. Nigel and his staff are very accommodating, great food, beer, wine couldn't ask for anything more..........cannot ask for a better pub!!!
Would definitely recommend this public house!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
2.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 1 in Thoralby
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#3 of 9 in Aysgarth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Street Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Street Head Inn

Address: Street Head, Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Street Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Street Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing