We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location - and what a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Street Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a location - and what a find”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A little known area of the Dales; but one not to be missed. Visited recently for refreshment stop whilst driving the Tour Stage 1. Lovely food and great service; actually would like to stop overnight. Don't drive past without calling in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    23
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level Contributor
430 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in this typical Yorkshire Dales traditional coaching inn. Rooms over look the dales with stunning views. There is a bit of noise being over the pub but nothing major. Rooms are slightly dated but very clean, spacious and comfortable so no complaints. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great to have free wi-fi as the phone signal is not great in the local area. Food is the mainstay of the pub and both evenings it was very busy with both locals and tourists. Great range of food but particularly with the specials. Steaks were amazing and the home made curry is worthy of a mention. I would recommend this place for the breath taking views, amazing food and fantastic service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Visited with my partner whilst on a camping trip with family. Open throughout the bank holiday, bonus! Went on the Monday as a treat away from the BBQ. The staff were all warm and welcoming and the service was fantastic. Our first pints weren't the best, but the pub had just opened for evening service and so I think we'd got the first pints pulled for 3 hours, however not the worst I've had. We ordered food and it arrived quicker than anticipated but fresh and immaculately presented. For what we had ordered it seemed pricey for "pub food", however what arrived at the table was far from pub-grub. The quality was great. We both had the stuffed lamb with sweet potato mash and a red-wine and mint ju. My partner had the chips and veg and myself the potatoes and veg and both were a taste sensation. The chips are excellently crafted, definitely no microwave-madness occurring in this establishment. I honestly don't think I've ever tasted, or could ever taste better chips. The potatoes had a unique flavour also, not bland like most but soft and earthy with almost a chestnut-esque after-taste. The free WiFi was an added bonus, to help me catch up with a few bits and pieces whilst on the road, as was a glass of wine in front of the open fire, and then retreating to the pool room to watch a little television. Such a cosy place, it was almost like being at home. I would highly recommend this as a treat for anyone at the end of a long weekend camping!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faythe-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch on the recommendations of the oweners of the cottage we were staying in in West Burton. We were welcomed by friendly staff, the Inn had a lovely roaring fire blazing away which added to the ambience on a cold February day. The inn was very busy which is always a good sign and we were not disappointed our lunch was fantastic, the best Sunday lunch we had had, would recommend and will be returning in the future.














Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank maryrose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Visited in an extremly busy december food was outstanding staff were brilliant .the landlord is very lucky to have such a great chef .would definatly visit again we had food at other locoll pubs but this was the very best out of all in the area

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borough20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited for sunday carvery, warm cosy pub with very friendly helpful landlord. Lovely log burning fire, good atmosphere. The carvery had everything you could want and all of it in abundance,. Asked for turkey and beef and got 3 massive slices of each, lovely home made yorkshire puddings and a choice of 3 different types of potatoes and 4/5 other veg. All of it was lovely and you can go back as many times as you like, dont think anyone would be able to do that though. Extra jug of gravy brought to your table which was a nice idea. Could not manage a sweet but both sweets and starters looked absolutely lovely. Beer was good as well ,locally produced . Would definitely go again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaYORK246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Called in whilst a day out in the Dales covering the forthcoming Tour De Yorkshire route. The staff are really friendly and welcoming in this REAL old world pub - fantastic atmosphere not to mention the excellent food. We had the Sunday roast lunch which was excellent. Well done - we will be back

Room Tip: Get here early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
7.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
8.5 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The White Lion Inn
2.3 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
1.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Street Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Street Head Inn

Property: The Street Head Inn
Address: Street Head, Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Street Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Street Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing