We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub in the most beautiful area in the country if not the world!”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thoralby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in the most beautiful area in the country if not the world!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012


Welcoming pub to humans and dogs too! Have stayed here several times and eaten more meals here than we can count. Rooms brilliant with every comfort you can think of and many touches not found in 5* hotels. Food is great and plentiful. Be prepared to go home considerably heavier than when you came!! Charles and Becci great hosts in this little bit of Yorkshire. Janet and Eric

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeteric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
159
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A lovely small inn with every comfort catered for. Great food,amiable hosts,and a beautiful dale for walking.If you visit the dales stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

The pub is a classic single room snug with stone walls, dominated by an inglenook fireplace, the perfect setting for a Dales holiday.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, breakfast each morning was delicious and plentiful.
We also had dinner at the pub and were impressed with the choice available, I can recommend the pheasant pie!
Accomodation is in a converted annex next to the pub, it is clean, very modern and every convenience has been included, even down to a dvd player and a selection of dvd's.
The bathroom was modern and I wish my own home had a shower with this much pressure!
Our hosts were welcoming and it was good to see the pub being actively used by the local community, it was domino night when we were there.
The George may be a little off the beaten track but it is well worth seeking out.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wadestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have found The George to be a haven of peace and tranquility to which we have returned several times. The welcome from Charles is warm; the very comfortable accommodation has almost every need supplied; the food prepared by Becci is delicious and varied; the breakfast menu is really extensive; and the service thorough yet unobtrusive.

Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, with many varied walks nearby, The George is a wonderful place to stay to recharge your batteries.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IanandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Having stayed at The George on several occassions we feel it is time to share our thoughts of an excellant Dales Pub in a friendly village.
On offer is a varied menu, including homemade 'pub grub', and extremely well kept real ales.
Very good, high standard, clean, comfortable accommodation with everything you need and some lovely extra touches ( and a brilliant shower !! ).
The breakfast menu is extensive, and Sunday lunches are delightful.
The scenery is beautiful.
Charles and Becci are the perfect hosts and provide superb service.
What more could you wish for ?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here with our two dogs over the New Year. The room was great, a mixture of modern and traditional but with a new and very modern shower room. The lovely owners had provided bedding and a water bowl for the dogs which was a lovely touch. The pub itself is quite small but very cosy with roaring fires at both ends. The dogs were immediately welcomed by Charles and Becci with a biscuit although I'm not convinced resident lab Mr Darcy was quite so welcoming!! The food is all freshly cooked and everything we tried was lovely especially the pheasant pie!! New Years eve was a pretty raucous affair and we were welcomed by the locals into the festivities. Breakfasts are delicious with loads of choice. If you're looking for a welcoming pub in the dales with or without your dogs look no further you've found it!!

Room Tip: Room number 2 is bigger if you're travelling with dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JobellsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

If you are touring or visiting The Dales then this is the place to stop, it’s not on a main road, you can't see it on Google Maps but you would be a fool not to stay there.
The accommodation can be summed up in one word "stupendous”, the owners Charles and Becci are excellent hosts and Becci's food is excellent.
The menu for evening meals has an excellent choice and the Breakfast menu has everything anyone could want on it, even if you are the pickiest person in the country.
We are not walkers just a couple wanting a relaxing holiday in good surroundings, with good food, good accommodation, good beer and good host and excuse the pun but "by George" this is the place find it for either people like ourselves or those who enjoy walking/hiking.
Thank you Becci and George for an excellent four days

Room Tip: Room 2 is the larger of the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boristhebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thoralby
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
0.0 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Thoralby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thoralby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thoralby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Thoralby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing