We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast in Yorkshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thoralby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
“Best Breakfast in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable with lots of nice touches such as the in complimentary chocolates, sherry and varieties of teas and coffees. All the food was tasty and in particular the breakfast choice was the best we have come across. Lovely quiet & picturesque location. Have recommended to family and friends & hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
157
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Accurate reviews: Fantastic Inn -- Awesome rooms (clean, roomy, well appointed, comfortable bed, great nights' sleep). Excellent showers: amazing water pressure, hot water, spotless bathrooms. Superb Pub - Well cared for ales -- we were there for 4 nights and never had a sour one (Charles knows how to care for his taps!). Delicious food and varied menu, both for dinner and breakfasts. Who ever dusts and cleans the pub and the rooms does an excellent job.

We ate there every night with no desire to eat anywhere else -- so many choices on the menu and such reasonable prices. I had the rabbit pie, steak & kidney pie, fobada (Mexican meat & bean dish), and the salmon & asparagus casserole type dish. All were quite tasty and I whole-heartedly would recommend any of them them. (it is no wonder the place is usually booked up).The Fobada was my favorite, with the rabbit pie coming in a close second. Clearly Becci knows her way around the kitchen. They make a good team.

As for dogs and cats - yes they have them but we only saw them in the evening after we ate. Although, it wouldn't have bothered us, if they were out during our meals. They were all very well mannered creatures - quiet, polite, and not at all rowdy (and their pets were nice too)!

Did I mention that The George is Cask Marqued? Well, Charles knows how to treat his ale and the Marque is accurate!

Room Tip: Reserve a room early - there are only two. I think our room - the outer room was a tiny bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The George inn is the perfect base in the dales. The rooms have everything you need including a welcome glass of sherry. The showers are superb. The bar is cosy with a good selection of pump beer and some choice wines. Meals are tasty and fairly priced. Rabbit pie is recommended. Breakfast is huge with many choices. Also this is a dog friendly inn. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: There are only two rooms so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had 2 nights stay at The George over the Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was comfortable and the shower is great. Ate both nights at the pub and was pleasantly surprised to see more than one veggie option on offer. Can't fault the food and wine they were lovely, well priced and the fantastic breakfast set us up for the day (coffee is fab btw). The pub is set in very pretty surroundings close to Aysgarth Falls and loads of other lovely walks for all abilities are within easy reach, you're spoiled for choice really. The weather was fantastic which meant we were able to get out and explore. Woody our boxer was made to feel very welcome with his own bedding and bowl on arrival and treats in the bar as soon as he set foot through the door :) Would like to go back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We went to this pub as it was recommended as serving good food, unfortunately when we got there, because they had bookings they were unable to accommodate us - this is a pub serving pub food at pub tables, not a restaurant. It was disappointing that they were not even prepared to do us a sandwich! We wouldn't go back

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed nearly two months ago now, and we were impressed by the landlord's willingness to fit us in for a single night at a weekend, despite his preference for a minimum of two nights stay. It was going to be a celebration or a commiseration for the result of my wife's job interview. Commiseration as it turned out, but this did not spoil our brief holiday, with some excellent walks nearby in an area we hadn't tried before.
The purpose of the stay was to find a base for walking in the Dales without having to drive home to the North York Moors (nice to have the choice, isn't it!), and we have certainly found it here at The George. Charles was a very good host, leaving us to ourselves but attentive when necessary, the food was excellent and the room spotlessly clean with a great power shower.
We will definitely return, although with its current rating The George will be a difficult place to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a lovely stay, Charles made us feel very welcome at his charming inn. We were looking for a cosy pub with great food and good wines and that is exactly what we found at the George Inn. We had a wonderful homecooked dinner and breakfast and enjoyed some fantastic wine. The room was great, with some nice touches like the fruit basket and a lovely large shower. I am more than happy for a country pub to have some resident pets, it all adds to the charm, even though I am sometimes apprehensive around dogs. Charles came and asked us if we were happy for the dogs to come in and we were delighted to get acquainted with the friendly dogs and cats. We would thoroughly recommend for anyone to stay & have dinner at the George Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thoralby
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Thoralby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thoralby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thoralby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Thoralby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing