We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Finer Touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thoralby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Finer Touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Recommended by friends and fully lived up to their praise. Two comfortable double rooms separated from the main body of the Inn with the finer touches as expressed by a decanter of sherry and fresh grapes. Excellent food, attentive hosting and altogether an ideal base for exploring the Dales through walking or by vehicle. We look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
158
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I booked the two rooms here as a present for her elderly parents. We have stayed in many pubs all over the dales and moors, none can compare with the accommodation at the George. The rooms are spotless and maintained to a high standard. With all the little extras like a sherry decanter, grapes and chocolates in the room. The landlord Charles was a great host and Becci' s cooking was first class. We were made to feel most welcome and chatting with the locals over a few pints at the end of the night we felt like regulars ourselves. Will definitely be returning here and recommending this to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable evening in this attractive pub. We ate the rabbit pie and steak. Each dish was well cooked, fresh, and hot. Good atmosphere. Not a fancy gastropub but a welcoming Dales country pub, mostly if not totally locals. The village is attractive in the lovely Bishopsdale valley running up fromWensleydale.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at the George Inn. Our room was spotless with the most amazing power shower. The attention to detail was also commendable with Charles being a great host. We enjoyed Becci's cooking although were disappointed not to have been introduced to her. This little place is tucked away but worth a visit. Very handy to use as a base for exploring the wonderful North Yorkshire countryside.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strictlyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

A truly great place to stay. Two delightfully appointed en suite rooms immediately adjacent to the traditional and characterful pub. The warmest of welcomes and breakfast and evening meals of the highest standard. And, on the doorstep, wonderful walks in the beautiful Dales. Outstanding.

David Cambridge
Hermann Hamburg

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The accommodation was spotless and high quality. The extra touches, including decanter of Sherry, chocolates and grapes just made us feel very welcome and special. The whole experience is very favourable from start to finish. The food too is worthy of special note, with a very good choice, plentiful and lovingly presented. The George Inn experience is one to remember and will definitely be repeated.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally welcoming and extremely comfortable, and the beds were really top quality. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

this was our first visit to Yorkshire Dales and after our two night stay at the George Inn we could not fault it. The accommodation was excellent and little extras like fluffy bath robes, slippers,sherry and chocolates were a lovely touch that made our stay more enjoyable. Food was excellent and the owners Charles and Becci were very welcoming. The added bonus of lovely weather on our first day allowed us to do lots of walking and the scenery is truly breathtaking! You won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thoralby
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Thoralby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thoralby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thoralby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Thoralby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing